Five tips to adding color to your home:

Empressdududahlin

Dawtah of the Sun
http://ymib.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=143&Itemid=104
Five tips to adding color to your home
By Malene Barnett | Circle Sister
Wednesday, 07 June 2006

Five tips to adding color to your home: without the help of a design professional:

Whether you own or rent, adding color to a space is like getting an instant facelift. And I don’t mean painting the walls white or beige. I mean using bold colors such as orange, green or turquoise, colors that makes a statement about who you are. I bought my first place on a budget and I had to be resourceful when it was time to decorate. I had to revitalize my space as a reflection of my personality and lifestyle: painting was the practical solution.

Most people are stuck when it comes to choosing the right colors for their home. As a designer I get stuck from time to time; so don’t worry, you’re not alone. Plus if you are not visually oriented, this can seem to be a particularly overwhelming task. However, here are a few tips that can make selecting colors more enjoyable, and less stressful.

1. Art work

Look at paintings or photographs. Browse through magazines and books and mark the pictures you like. Once you have made your selection edit your images into two piles, one pile with images that you can live with and the other with images that you can live without. Select the colors from the pictures you can live with and basically the color palette is created based on those selections

2. Floor coverings

If you plan on buying a rug for your space choose a rug with colors that you like and build your color scheme around it. The more colors in the rug the more colors you can add to your space. Building a room from the ground up always works best because the floor is a central part of any room.

3. Textiles