Old 02-22-2006, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Credits: 677
You aren't Black you wouldn't understand

Specifically to those of you who were raised mostly in the islands and always use the excuse 'you have no clue cause you aren't Black.' Especially the ones that site all the abuses that Afro-Americans have had in history. But your experiences on the islands where you are the majority are hardly the same as Afro-Americans or other Afro-Diasporic people in countries where they are a minority. Sorry if I don't buy all the trauma claims by some of you that I'm supposed to have no clue about. What clue do you have? That you visit another country and experienced some discrimination? So I can't understand what it is to be discriminated against when I grew up as a minority and you guys grew up comfortable in the majority? My experiences may have been different, but i am fully aware what it feels to be discriminated against.
Old 02-22-2006, 03:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hot, sweet and spicy.

Credits: 2,871
Yeah, how so. Are you gay, the minority in your area. Do you know what it's like for people to judge you just because of the color of your skin? If not, please don't come and say that you know how it feels

Originally Posted by Otorongo
Specifically to those of you who were raised mostly in the islands and always use the excuse 'you have no clue cause you aren't Black.' Especially the ones that site all the abuses that Afro-Americans have had in history. But your experiences on the islands where you are the majority are hardly the same as Afro-Americans or other Afro-Diasporic people in countries where they are a minority. Sorry if I don't buy all the trauma claims by some of you that I'm supposed to have no clue about. What clue do you have? That you visit another country and experienced some discrimination? So I can't understand what it is to be discriminated against when I grew up as a minority and you guys grew up comfortable in the majority? My experiences may have been different, but i am fully aware what it feels to be discriminated against.
Old 02-22-2006, 04:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Originally Posted by bebespice
Yeah, how so. Are you gay, the minority in your area. Do you know what it's like for people to judge you just because of the color of your skin? If not, please don't come and say that you know how it feels
Yes I do. I grew up in the poor areas of Lima where looking white as i did meant I was other. I grew up always having to watch my back. I grew up always having to prove myself because of the innate distrust most people have of the European looking people.

I have been stabbed, mugged, jumped, etc. because of the way I looked. I grew up carrying weapons everywhere I went because of the way I looked. What about you?
Old 02-22-2006, 04:10 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 33,869
You do know there's a major differnece in the way Blacks discriminate against Whites versus the way Whites discriminates against Blacks right?
Old 02-22-2006, 04:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hot, sweet and spicy.

Credits: 2,871
I'm sorry you had to go through that. Growing up in Grenada, I had no idea what that was. It was only when I came to NY I hear people talking about this.

Yes I do. I grew up in the poor areas of Lima where looking white as i did meant I was other. I grew up always having to watch my back. I grew up always having to prove myself because of the innate distrust most people have of the European looking people.

I have been stabbed, mugged, jumped, etc. because of the way I looked. I grew up carrying weapons everywhere I went because of the way I looked. What about you?
Old 02-22-2006, 04:12 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 621
You so have no clue.

Maybe you should ask a sincere question rather than question whether we can relate to claims of discrimination at all. The nonsense you type above is so laden with ignorance and assumptions that I wouldn't even know where to begin.
Old 02-22-2006, 04:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Originally Posted by Jahpikne
You do know there's a major differnece in the way Blacks discriminate against Whites versus the way Whites discriminates against Blacks right?
Like I said, I didn't say my discrimination experiences were the same. But i do understand discrimination. But when someone has lived most of their lives where virtually all the people in the land looks like them? How much do they really understand? And it wasn't just by Blacks. But by the majority indigenous and mestizo population. Trust me an attack hurts just the same no matter what the logic behind it.
Old 02-22-2006, 04:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
You so have no clue.
Maybe you should ask a sincere question rather than question whether we can relate to claims of discrimination at all. The nonsense you type above is so laden with ignorance and assumptions that I wouldn't even know where to begin.
Yes, that is your claim. And the feeling is mutual. You calim I don't understand, welkl i think you assume too much about me as well.
Old 02-22-2006, 04:21 PM   #9 (permalink)

please you don't understand one damn thing or else you wouldn't have used the term 'the islands'
Old 02-22-2006, 04:27 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 129,590

And the OSCAR goes to OTO.
Old 02-22-2006, 04:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Originally Posted by vincy_socababy
please you don't understand one damn thing or else you wouldn't have used the term 'the islands'
I used more than just the Islands.
The people i was refering to are very specific.
Those that grew up on the islands
those that were part of the majority population.
those that claim I have no idea what discrimination is because I look White.
Those that constantly claim Afro-American slavery experiences although they came from from the islands.
If you don't fit all those parameters then this post is not addressed to you.
Old 02-22-2006, 04:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
elq
Cleophus aka pupah lashie

Credits: 872
so because u experienced some form of discrimination that makes it separate but equal?

dude u pass on a daily basis in this country.

now you are telling afro-caribbeans that they have no clue about discrimination that african-americans experience because we grew up in a "comfortable majority???" since when did slavery only exist in the United States of America?

seriously and i'm not trying to be funny here but mental health issues are best treated by mental health professionals. i'll be happy to refer you to a couple colleagues.
Old 02-22-2006, 04:30 PM   #13 (permalink)

I used more than just the Islands.
The people i was refering to are very specific.
Those that grew up on the islands
those that were part of the majority population.
those that claim I have no idea what discrimination is because I look White.
Those that constantly claim Afro-American slavery experiences although they came from from the islands.
If you don't fit all those parameters then this post is not addressed to you.

sure white boy damn did i just discriminate

carry on with yuh post. you understand very well,

Last edited by vincy_socababy; 02-22-2006 at 04:35 PM..
Old 02-22-2006, 04:36 PM   #14 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Originally Posted by elq
so because u experienced some form of discrimination that makes it separate but equal?
dude u pass on a daily basis in this country.
now you are telling afro-caribbeans that they have no clue about discrimination that african-americans experience because we grew up in a "comfortable majority???" since when did slavery only exist in the United States of America?
seriously and i'm not trying to be funny here but mental health issues are best treated by mental health professionals. i'll be happy to refer you to a couple colleagues.
I pass in groups I could care less about passing. I don't pass in the populations that I belong to. Slavery ended when? Tell me dates in each island. Tell me how many of you have been direct recipients of racism on the island. How many of you have been harrased there? Seriously? I respect those that have experienced racism of any sort and I have heard of many cases by Caribbeans living abroad. But how much racism do you experience on average in the islands except in the cases where there is another big non-black population, like Trinidad. Honest Question. And I'm not saying there isn't discrimination, but I am saying how is that discrimination so much worse than what i experienced in my life?
Old 02-22-2006, 04:37 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 621
Yes, that is your claim. And the feeling is mutual. You calim I don't understand, welkl i think you assume too much about me as well.
I don't have to claim anything...you have done a masterful job of putting your ignorance on display.

Prior to the Mandela administration...could blacks claim discrimination in South Africa? What about Indians in colonial India...I mean, both groups comprised the ethnic majority, no? How then could their claims of discrimination be legitimate...by your jackass reasoning?

I call it jackass reasoning because how else would one explain the idiocy that states
But your experiences on the islands where you are the majority are hardly the same as Afro-Americans or other Afro-Diasporic people in countries where they are a minority. Sorry if I don't buy all the trauma claims by some of you that I'm supposed to have no clue about. What clue do you have? That you visit another country and experienced some discrimination?
Racial discrimination, class discrimination...you name it...it's rife in the caribbean where post-colonial attitudes still persist. Where the nuances of color (which asininely claim to be instructing us on about from time to time...the facking nerve) still play a significant part of the social fabric.

-Where ethnic minorities constitute the economic majority.

When the the manufacturing industries and largest swaths in the overall business sector is owned and operated by ethnic minorities.

-When scholarships for study at foreign university...the only way out of a depressingly oppressive system...when recipients of those are overwhelmingly non-black...let's call it what it is and put aside the minority/majority bullshit.

-When certain entertainment spots can blatantly turn you away for not having the 'right look'.

-When you are considered "too dark" or "too tacky/picky head" to marry into certain families

-When money buys you entre into the highest social strata in society...but when you examine said membership...overwhelmingly non-black, indicating quite revealingly where the money and consequent power is consolidated.

When you look at these things and you suffer adversely as a result of them...you don't need a facking white man to call you 'nigger' to your face to understand the meaning of discrimination. So don't tell me no bullshit about me being from 'the islands' means I can't facking relate to the sting of discrimination. Get the fuck out of here with that presumptive ignorant bullshit.