Credits: 1,046
Why are Trinis in America much smaller than Jamaicans???
I can't really understand why Trinis are a very small caribbean group in America, but according to this website New York- Northern NJ Ethnic Statistics, Jamaicans aren't just the largest Caribbean group in the NYC, but the largest in America, followed by Haitians. I know that Jamaica is a larger contry with a larger population, but Trinidad has half their population, but our representation is pitifully small. Can anybody explain this phenomenon??? Also, what are the population statistics for Trinis in Canada (specifically in Toronto, Montreal, Vancouver, etc.)??? The stats in America are pretty disheartening!!!
Salsero de pura cepa
Credits: 714
The question would be what the populations were before mass migration. And how many are Jamaican Americans and Trini Americans. Could be that conditions on the respective islands led to a larger percentage of the population migrating. Or that populations migrated in different percentages to different regions of the world.
Alpha Male
Credits: 10,044
More than Haitian????
I wonder.........
Credits: 153,640
so yuh want more people to live the island? you think that's a good thing?
Credits: 153,640
736,513 JA's show the situation the country is in.
Credits: 9,992
maybe we are more spread out to other countries?
maybe the country situation is better so we don't leave? maybe trini's claim 'african american's' if they aren't born there, and thus the stats are wrong? maybe they took the poll in january-february, when most trini's are in trinidad? |
Credits: 1,980
Credits: 29,966
Credits: 160,124
-People that migrated back in the day and got their papers straight? -Would their ^^^^offspring be considered? -Trinis by citizenship born in TnT then sent for by "naturalized" family? -Trinis that came for tertiary education and subsequently obtained extended work visas? -Trinis that jus run away and illegal and "undocumented"?
**Life is short. Too young; too soon. Love everyone!** be careful of who you pretend to be, you are who you pretend to be - kurt vonnegut "Mommy, stop waking me up for Kindergarten. You don't see me waking you up for work. You do that because you want to." Ahhh, the joys of parenting :-) - RNH (too funny) :
Cover Girl
Credits: 3,210
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered. |
Wastin Time
Credits: 3,339
study probably included
those one million haitians on church ave posing as jamaicans with their gold teeth, tight pants and rasta hat talking bout zouk le rastafari |
UPaNddownLiKeAbAlL
Credits: 250
i ain't post in a minute but that last post was to funny for me not to give it a bligh.
Royal
Credits: 24,267
*smh*
Credits: 9,992
a lot of jamaicans in jamaica are haitians who go to jamaica illegally, given the terrible economic situation in haiti in the past