Old 04-30-2003, 04:29 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,724
y tax the rich???!!

y is it each time a financial or economical crisis occurs, the quickest solution is to tax the rich? every solution is tax the rich or make the rich pay 4 it. i should be posting this in the vex section really, but ppl need better solutions to fixing money problems or when facing economic turmoil.

salt
Old 04-30-2003, 05:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
dbadlad

tax the ricH???

Salt,
Do you have factual data to support your statements? I happen to disagree with your stance. Historically, tax incentives are presented by politicians stacked with loop holes designed to relieve the rich. Remember, politicians and big business have in sleeping in the same bed. Therefore, every election year they offer a bone to the real tax payers...the middle class...in order to cover their tracks. Your thoughts!
D Bad Lad
Old 04-30-2003, 06:37 PM   #3 (permalink)

ah had ah response 4 yuh when de site went down and i lose it. headed out the door but i'll reply 2morrow. n e how welcome new member and njoy the mix.

salt
Old 05-01-2003, 10:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
....jus chillin....

Credits: 41
....ok salt then let them tax yuh poor a** then.....
Old 05-01-2003, 10:23 AM   #5 (permalink)

Re: tax the ricH???

Originally posted by dbadlad
Salt,
Do you have factual data to support your statements? I happen to disagree with your stance. Historically, tax incentives are presented by politicians stacked with loop holes designed to relieve the rich. Remember, politicians and big business have in sleeping in the same bed. Therefore, every election year they offer a bone to the real tax payers...the middle class...in order to cover their tracks. Your thoughts!
D Bad Lad
like i said in my 1st post it really was posted out of vexation, but let me try and make clear of what i meant. it seems almost every convo i have 2day with folks is that the rich should be taxed more 4 everything when budgets, funding, etc. and so on is required. need more money 4 school funds? tax the rich. balance towns, state debts blah blah, tax the rich. it's almost as if everyday ppl no longer have creative thinking and the simple solutions 2 help everything is tax more those persons who r wealthy.

here is 1 source i'm linking as data 2 support what u may/may not be lookin 4 although i think u were reading my post from a different perspective since i wasn't clear on it.

http://abcnews.go.com/sections/busin...ch_020415.html

not an official data source from the gov't, but article posted on the abc moneyscope section.

let's keep in perspective here my stance wasn't that the rich should not be taxed or should pay the same taxes as those in lower income brackets. it makes sense the more the rich make, they should pay taxes accordingly, because it would be unfair to pay the same amount as the middle/lower classes. it's just tiring of hearing ppl complain take from the rich and give 2 the poor.

i do agree with u in the sense that there r several loopholes. i run 3 businesses and on my tax return this yr. i got back much more than i had in expenses (being truthful on what i've done). yes other business owners/corporations can get ridiculous..........but what ppl don't realize is that the tax laws of this country really caters to business owners instead of just 9-5 employee's. the write-off's are just great.

salt
Old 05-01-2003, 10:35 AM   #6 (permalink)

Originally posted by Trini4life
....ok salt then let them tax yuh poor a** then.....
where'd u get the idea i was poor? i'm doing great and in the next 2 years in financial bliss.

salt
Old 05-01-2003, 04:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
....jus chillin....

...I'm almost sure the majority of the people on this forum don't have your type of financial freedom so we could do with the tax break....
Old 05-01-2003, 04:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
dbadlad

the tax issue

Ok Salt,
I understand your rationale. As a businessman you recognize the governmental loopholes that are in place benefitting businesses. Clearly necessary, in a capitalistic state! Unfortunately, the rich acquired their money through various circumstances... inheritances, self made, illegal and the like. As the tax system is designed to benefit the proletariat, it makes the middle class suffer by to limiting their ability to progress by denying, through taxation, similar opportunities. It is a catch- 22 as our society needs business in order to succeed. But as we succeed, we then move up the proverbial chain and another gap is left unfilled. That gap, left by the now rich, resides in the middle class who, at times, lack the financial support or know how to continue the process. I think I may have digressed!
Anyway, a lot of people that make such statements..."tax the rich more" fail to understand my above statements. In convo recently, a co-worker suggested standardized taxing. A sound thought. I don't think it would work as we have too many variances and issues to deal with like health care to make it work. Your thoughts.
D Bad Lad
I like the discussion. Keep it up!
Old 05-01-2003, 06:47 PM   #9 (permalink)

tlife - i'm very aware of my comments i make on imix. if i were 2 post my personal opinions/belief's regarding finance's i'd be hated very quickly probably so i choose 2 post topics 2 make ppl laugh and other general serious talk. i don't have my financial freedom yet and will soon, but i'm in no shape trying 2 offend those in lower/middle brackets. my parents, most family members and so on have grown up that way and myself. so i know what the fence is like and dealing with it's struggles. only problem is, i'm moving away from it cuz i'm not trying 2 live that route. apologies 2 u and n e 1 if they took my statements to heart or the wrong way. u should c the heated reactions i get in person from ppl at times, but it hurts mostly what i say cuz it's the truth. this tax talk is the least of heated debates i've come across.

dbad - i lol when u said "I think you digressed." I know what u mean. being a self-made wealthy person r the ppl i give credit too 4 fulfilling their dreams. as far as inheritance, great 4 them, but if they r sitting on it and not doing n e thing with it by investing or developing capital 2wards something it's a waste. illegal and they mess it up 4 every1 else. u c the beef i have is with those who do not try and better themselves. they stay at the same dead end job spending time working for other people and only gripe and want things their way. it's sad that most people depend on 1 source of income and not 2 try 2 have a backup financial plan or business in the works should they be laid off or fired. nobody is indispensable. i feel bad our nation is suffering with high unemployement rate and folks r hardly surviving. i know all 2 many in that boat rite now. having 1 source of income (job) is a terrible system that has been instilled 4 generations yesterday and today. should i lose my 'high placed corporate' job 2day i have something 2 fall back on and build. at least most ppl should, but not most of the population see's it that way. probably 1 tiny reason the rich get richer and poor get poorer. who knows?

but a standardized tax plan is 1 way of thinking differently. it will have its pros/cons and more than likely more con's. u've got some valid points in u'r response. however, should i continue with this topic it can get ugly so i choose 2 back off as i probly upset some ppl already. i'll post a new topic 2morrow, but feel free to send me a private message if u wish to continue dialoging with me. ditto 4 all other imixer's. appreciate the views and concerns.

salt

Last edited by lordsalt; 05-01-2003 at 06:51 PM..
Old 05-01-2003, 10:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
dbadlad

U just U

Salt,
Everyone has a right to their opinion. Somewhere I read it's God given. Therefore, I welcome your thoughts as you welcome mine. No law say we have to agree. However debate and exchange of ideas is always good. Fear not! I will continue to seek debatable ideas from you. The problem with me is that I continually seek knowledge and to expand my mind. Their are others out there that would not share this opinion and they have that right. Keep in mind, I have taken all your statements and viewed them in a objective light and found no offence. We can continue of this or other subjects, in public or private. Stay positive.
D Bad Lad
Old 05-02-2003, 09:59 AM   #11 (permalink)

i agree w/ u totally dbadlad. if every1's opinion was the same there would be no change in ppl's thought processes. i guess i'm similar in that i try 2 absorb knowledge from everywhere, but very wary of what i put in my head. lots of bad info. and theories in this world i refuse 2 divulge in. look 4ward 2 further discussions in the future. on some topics i can go off in a tangent, but i'll communicate w/ u behind scenes if that'z the case. easy boss

salt
Old 05-02-2003, 01:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
....jus chillin....

...aight salt ah get where yuh comin from and I realize yuh wasn't tryin to make anybody feel ah how.....by de way yuh have any jobs available or wha.....
Old 05-06-2003, 09:58 AM   #13 (permalink)

Originally posted by Trini4life
...aight salt ah get where yuh comin from and I realize yuh wasn't tryin to make anybody feel ah how.....by de way yuh have any jobs available or wha.....
:) aye t4life. sorry i don't hire ppl lol. however, if curious feel free to pm me about some stuff i have going on.

salt
Old 05-06-2003, 01:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
look meh!

Credits: 1,132
My 2 Cents:

I think this issue is very serious, possibly now more then ever. The gap between rich and poor is growing at a staggering rate in this country, slowly eliminating the middle class. Some of the blame for this can be rested on taxation. All across the board, there are tax incentives for corporations (larger ones mostly) to set up businesses in certain markets. With these incentives, it allows for these companies to maximize their profits at a much higher rate, but as we all know, employees NEVER benefit from any such incentives, nor do they even get a taste of the added revenue generated from these incentives. As a matter of fact, if those same companies don't match profits from a previous year, the first thing they do is cut back on staff. Notice I said profits and not revenues.

In NY, residential property taxes went up 18% over night. At the same time, commercial, and industrial properties in higher brackets are given more cuts. What sense does it make to let the big earners get by, and all the lower end is left to make up the difference? This once again adds to the growing gap.

Ok, I might be going a little off topic, but taxation effects everything here as we can see. In my opinion, everybody should be taxed relative to your "TRUE" income within reason. Lower income people shouldn't have to give up 30% of their income to taxes, that income is necessary for their survival. On the other hand, the wealthy can very easily live good even if 50% of their income is taxed.

There's just too much to say on this topic, but to sum things up, a just tax system needs to be implemented. Infortunately, the ones that have the power to do that are the same ones who currently benefit from the way things are so I doubt anything will ever change.
Old 05-06-2003, 02:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Solidarity

Thumbs up Keep Building!

Allyuh making good points. Right now, the only thing i'll add is this: Socaboy, change is inevitable! It might be slow as molasses sometimes but it happens and is happening for sure. i think it's always important to acknowlegde and hold fast to this fact for without hope, what do we have?