Old 05-03-2004, 08:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Baby Rasta

Credits: 25
Why is it that out of all the Islands Jamacian women get the Worst Rap?

People, People, People, please help me with this. As a woman of Jamacian decent i find that Jamacians get critisized often not only by Americans but by our fellow Caribbean people especially the woman. They call us crazy, wild, rough, fiesty and facety, rude and much more. Why is it that no one see the beauty in them? I myself is none of the above but when you talk to someone (males in particular) and they ask you where you from as soon as you say Jam down dem wan ack like you ah go kill dem when just a second ago they were all into you. what's really up with that? i love my caribbean men but i don't want to only feel like i have to date Jamacians because de oda man dem 'fraid me. so give me your
Old 05-04-2004, 06:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wastin Time

Credits: 3,334
watch cin weekends...they had one pregnant jamican ooman skin out she kat...now thats just plain disgusting during some show...and that video with beenie man and that girl...."dude" shows this crazy women on a bus looking like ah man dancing with a six pack and all....images give us these notions
Old 05-04-2004, 06:58 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 698
Originally posted by Dutty
watch cin weekends...they had one pregnant jamican ooman skin out she kat...now thats just plain disgusting during some show...and that video with beenie man and that girl...."dude" shows this crazy women on a bus looking like ah man dancing with a six pack and all....images give us these notions
I ent even go comment....

Nianada...all I could say is that there are some women who justify the stereotypes and others who don't.
Old 05-04-2004, 07:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hot, sweet and spicy.

Credits: 3,031
And because of that, you look at all of them the same way?

Old 05-04-2004, 08:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wastin Time

.....i said us not me as in the general public..you can imagine white people turning on cin for the first time and watching cin....you could imagine what they thinking........images on tv play out in our minds..and develop a lot of our pre-notions....besides stereotypes hold true but only for a small portion group of an entire race, peoples, culture...i only look at trini ooman anyhow so i worry about how they are presented
Old 05-04-2004, 10:52 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 140,795
There is nothing wrong with Jamaican women. Some are rough around the edges, just like how you will find other rough around the edges women from all countries in the Caribbean.
Old 05-05-2004, 12:56 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 1,345
.....i said us not me as in the general public..you can imagine white people turning on cin for the first time and watching cin....you could imagine what they thinking........images on tv play out in our minds..and develop a lot of our pre-notions....besides stereotypes hold true but only for a small portion group of an entire race, peoples, culture...i only look at trini ooman anyhow so i worry about how they are presented
Dutty can u imagine white people looking at video from T n T fetes and see Trini oman skin'n out,what would they think?...or are you under the impresion that trini oman doh skin out.............your comment is your comment........LAME but its yours

nianada doh study it babes,every island has there share of people tht fit the form you mentioned.
Old 05-05-2004, 08:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
oh yehhhh!

Credits: 161
Originally posted by pennywhine

nianada doh study it babes,every island has there share of people tht fit the form you mentioned.
Some in greater proportions than others apparently.

But still, I believe people should be judged as the individuals they are, so those fellas wrong. I know some crazy Jamaicans, but I know some cool ones too.
Old 05-06-2004, 11:41 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 24,368
besides the obvious stereotypes and the fueling of the steoretypes.. j/cans on a whole tend to play on that steorotype or associate with actuall steorotypical j/cans; to hype themselves, to seem either more dangerous, or powerful, in order to protect themselves,

j/cans have the shear numbers in the NY tri-state area.. so people tend so j/cans as all the same and link different occurances to be normal for j/cans.. like a few women enjoying demselves at a fete.. people may say de women are fiesty.. same way dey would say trini woman have waist or something rahter negative
Old 05-07-2004, 02:14 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 698
Originally posted by Oneshot
besides the obvious stereotypes and the fueling of the steoretypes.. j/cans on a whole tend to play on that steorotype or associate with actuall steorotypical j/cans; to hype themselves, to seem either more dangerous, or powerful, in order to protect themselves...
true...
Old 05-11-2004, 12:42 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 460
I was in JA 2 yrs back, and I love yardies seen! I had such a wonderful experience. I will say again, we are all Africans in the Caribbean, not Jamaicans, Cubans, etc...... No divisions here.

However do you think all those sick women on BET's Uncut represents all American women? Of course not.

Jamaica is the most popular islands of all, so of course the lies are told mostly about yardies. Dont worry ma dear. Keep your head up!

Seen
Old 05-11-2004, 06:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wastin Time

to pennywhine..to white people who look at carnival and fetes and see trini ooman skin out..i worry for the trini indian women and look at their behavior..and if they act out of hand....they will be looked down at my everyone...and will hear it from their peers...whether their parents, friends, relatives...etc...white people put us there so i dont care what they think..i just wait for the next lifetime to see where ill be placed next..as yaneii said ...its just a bunch of africans and indians and chinese...not guyanese, trinidadian and so forth...thats just a nationality......indian people from india look down on a majority of us for displaying "island behavior" (drinking, carrying on ,etc) but for those who make it here..we smarten up a little and move more efficiently..
Old 05-11-2004, 07:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,232
to pennywhine..to white people who look at carnival and fetes and see trini ooman skin out..i worry for the trini indian women and look at their behavior..and if they act out of hand....they will be looked down at my everyone...and will hear it from their peers...whether their parents, friends, relatives...etc...white people put us there so i dont care what they think..i just wait for the next lifetime to see where ill be placed next..as yaneii said ...its just a bunch of africans and indians and chinese...not guyanese, trinidadian and so forth...thats just a nationality......indian people from india look down on a majority of us for displaying "island behavior" (drinking, carrying on ,etc) but for those who make it here..we smarten up a little and move more efficiently..
To be honest, your comments seem to carry an air of ignorance and disrespect. With all the accomplishments that people in the Caribbean have made and continue to make, you stereotype people by saying 'island behavior' is only drinkin and carrying on. What happened to the creativity in the Carnival that is second to none, the instruments created our soil, the drive of so many to succeed at home and abroad? That is also part of our 'island behavior' too sweetie. If some people in India only focus on the negative aspects of our countries then it is they who are ignorant and foolish. Should we only focus on the religious strife and cultural animosity etc in India and then look down on them for displaying such behavior? NO. Should we only focus on the fact that drinking is a problem India too? NO. People all over need to SMARTEN UP and rather than always looking to criticize others, focus on improving their people...their culture.

And yes, Guyanese, Trinidadian, Jamaican are nationalities...but they are also CULTURES.

Last edited by dollbabi; 05-11-2004 at 07:48 PM..
Old 05-28-2004, 01:24 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 141
la la la...
Old 05-28-2004, 02:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wastin Time

currygyal.....read the enitre book collection of v.s. naipaul, kenneth rammchand, kwame ture, then you'll see what im talking about....i have a different mind frame, you seem like a blind optimist..and im a satirical realist ....holla back

Clarify these statements....................
the instruments created our soil?
NO. Should we only focus on the fact that drinking is a problem India too? NO.If some people in India only focus on the negative aspects of our countries then it is they who are ignorant and foolish.

who said anything about india viewing us?
and we was talking about when people look at carnival and fetes
besides the creativity of carnival lol what other so called great accomplishments...seriously..one accomplishment........from trinidad...that puts us on the forefront of 2nd or 3rd world countries?

And Further more, the drive to succeed in trinidad...is coming to a halt now, because some people find it easier to kidnap rich ones instead actually getting a job...so wheres the time to enjoy your wealth when you have to look over your back half the time?

whther pnm or unc....they put more effort into carnival than taking care of the homeless, sick, or those who are in need in some other ways.....funny while we party our behinds off...i was reading that over 800 US million dollars have poured into the extracting of natural gases in tnt....when nothing goes to the people of the island..which is also sinking in back to the ocean.....i guess no one cares because we are too busy celebrating how nice carnival is lol