Old 11-30-2005, 04:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
The JaM™

Why AIDS still so rampant in Africa...

I was watching a documentary last night on a lil village in Uganda and the problems that they face education wise... now there was this 16 yr old boy named Dixon and he was telling his fellow classmates how to avoid getting Aids...
"If you have sex with her rough then you will get the aids. So you have to put it in gently and you won't catch aids..."
And you should have seen how these little impressionable teenagers were lapping up every word that he said! No mention whatsoever of using condoms!

I used to think Aids was still rampant because people were just care-free and reckless... but it seems not... a lot of ignorance still exists about how the disease is spread. In a place like Africa, where Aids is a serious problem, I would have thought that awareness about the disease would be something they would start teaching in the class-room.
It's really not enough to just preach about abstinence because hormones often win over common sense!
Old 11-30-2005, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
L O S T

Credits: 43,470
because there isnt a cure being passed out
Old 11-30-2005, 04:37 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 4,511
People aren't practicing safer sex or comfortable with practicing safer sex. There's still very lil education about HIV/AIDS in homes, communities, and people.
Old 11-30-2005, 04:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Unregistered User

Credits: 634
Originally Posted by HoneyEmpress
People aren't practicing safer sex or comfortable with practicing safer sex. There's still very lil education about HIV/AIDS in homes, communities, and people.
true....plus the average person can't even afford a steady supply of condoms....it's a really sad situation
Old 11-30-2005, 04:46 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 34,881
Old 11-30-2005, 04:49 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 227
In some of these countries though, they really do not confront the problem directly even though it is an obvious big issue. People are ostracized for having the disease to begin with much less to openly talk about it and educate people, especially young people.
Old 11-30-2005, 04:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
She

Credits: 743
Originally Posted by sk gyal
true....plus the average person can't even afford a steady supply of condoms....it's a really sad situation
True

Honey Empress..Even truer

It is even sad to hear that there are health clinics in Africas distributing condoms and other forms of protection and the people are still spreading the virus like butter on bread. It is sad. I dont think the money that is being put into Africa's HIV/AIDS problem is going to into the right places!

Last edited by buss up shot; 11-30-2005 at 04:52 PM..
Old 11-30-2005, 04:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Alpha Male

Credits: 10,043
In what country ???? your talking about africa right?

Right???????

Last edited by ~Swagga~; 11-30-2005 at 04:53 PM..
Old 11-30-2005, 04:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Alpha Male

I heard in Russia (or somewhere in eastern Europe) i heard that most New Aids cases is caused by drug use. WHen people talk about Aids i think the only think about Heterosexaul sex.
Old 11-30-2005, 04:58 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 29,964
http://www.rastafarispeaks.com/commu...rder=0&thold=0
Old 11-30-2005, 04:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Unregistered User

Credits: 634
Originally Posted by Trinadian
In what country ???? your talking about africa right?

Right???????
*sighs*

yes I am...the title of the thread is "Why AIDS still so rampant in Africa" ya know..or do you...
Old 11-30-2005, 05:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
daweh

Credits: 211
Originally Posted by VincyJam82
I was watching a documentary last night on a lil village in Uganda and the problems that they face education wise... now there was this 16 yr old boy named Dixon and he was telling his fellow classmates how to avoid getting Aids...
"If you have sex with her rough then you will get the aids. So you have to put it in gently and you won't catch aids..."
And you should have seen how these little impressionable teenagers were lapping up every word that he said! No mention whatsoever of using condoms!

I used to think Aids was still rampant because people were just care-free and reckless... but it seems not... a lot of ignorance still exists about how the disease is spread. In a place like Africa, where Aids is a serious problem, I would have thought that awareness about the disease would be something they would start teaching in the class-room.
It's really not enough to just preach about abstinence because hormones often win over common sense!
lack of education about the disease . like u mentioned. i don't think it is ignorance but just lack of education about the disease .when the aids epidemic was gettin known they predicted that america an alot of europe would be where africa is today now . but with education about the disease and putting money into aids awareness an gettin the word thru in schools an other ways the virus did not hit as they said.

but in a place like africa where there are many old tribal rituals they still follow and lack of education about the disease the number they predicted it would be at it is close to it /maybe more.truthfully not to many powers are interested in puttin money into aids awareness like america and other countries did .
Old 11-30-2005, 05:02 PM   #13 (permalink)
Alpha Male

*sighs*

yes I am...the title of the thread is "Why AIDS still so rampant in Africa" ya know..or do you...
OHH i was about to say........just making sure.......You can continue now.
Old 11-30-2005, 07:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Sweeter Sauce

Credits: 914
People are far from as educated as they should be with regards to aids and various other diseases. For example I was reading an article and an individual had told others that if you sleep with a virgin then you will be cured of aids. This is a method very widely practiced all over Africa, but the article focused on South Africa where infants as young as 18 months were being subject to sexual abuse, where in most cases the infants/children did not survive the ordeal.

This is truly a sad and disturbing topic, but unless the governing bodies take control and begin educating individuals on the topic at hand, I really do not see the problem being resolved.

Yes many people can not afford condoms and even though they may be being given them, if they are not told the advantages of using and the consequences of not using them they might as well not be given them!

It is just a shame that we as human beings can not educate each other and it's an even bigger shame that the problem will not be resolved any time soon.
Old 11-30-2005, 07:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
L O S T

Credits: 43,470
I like when you post this