Old 06-03-2003, 03:41 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,709
who would actually move?

in talking in the previous thread i wonder....

who here was born back in the caribbean, came to the u.s. to get 'overall betta life/education' and would move back to their homeland in a heartbeat? and why?

or if u were born here and plan to move to spend u'r life in u'r roots homeland? and why?

salt
Old 06-03-2003, 03:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

4 years BLACKROCK moving back to BlackRock St. Michael, Barbados, W.I. near Paradise Beach
Old 06-03-2003, 03:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

Credits: 575
Well as I said in the previous post, I am looking for a job back home and just got back from meeting with a company on career opportunities in Trini. I have spent most of my life in this country but I would really like to contribute to Trini's development. I see so much potential whenever I go home and I would like to be apart of that. However, there would still have to be good incentives for me to go back. The job must be worthwhile and in my field, as well as the benefits and perks.
Old 06-03-2003, 03:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
poca-old

well i am a real one. i was born in haiti spent my life there came to canada not for a bettre life but for social stability.... but if it was for me now i would go back tonight because i know my life will not be a miserable one....
Old 06-03-2003, 03:49 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 1,084
i goin back 2 years after i finish university!! fullstop!
Old 06-03-2003, 03:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
D'Only1

I too have ventured the thought of moving back home and even finish school there. However due to personal reasons I am still here. But it is a dream for me to back home to live. My mom who has been here for almost 18 years, is making moves to head back home. So I think for the most part it has to do with the love you have for you country or just wanting to be home. I for one came here like a slave - without being asked and without any concern as to if I wanted to stay here(yeah I'm a bit drastic) so I have always had the passion to return home and live. Everyone is like the ecnonomy is not good, no the economy is fine, my education will get me somewhere, I don't plan to go back home and hang out. Ihave a purpose in life to fulfill and no better place than home to do it. Besides my son loves to play comfortably outside all day till he pass out.

Classy girl meet meh by Independence Square for lunch
Old 06-03-2003, 03:52 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 4,478
well I was born in Brooklyn, NY, but because my mother instilled the Grenadian culture in me as my 1st Home in my heart, I know of the country as MINE.... I don't care what people have argued and told me, I AM Grenadian and I do plan on moving back home or any Caribbean island depending on where my husband is from, I will move back when I have myself established. Especially that I'm thinking of Nursing and my writing , I will move back to be near my family and help develop the culture and health field as much as possible!
Old 06-03-2003, 04:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
DE FRACKIN SOUTH KING

Credits: 243
As soon as sando done studies sando will be back in the southland helping out Trinias much as sando could, using the weapons learnt up in the states, sando know that sando will become an effective member in society back home.
Old 06-03-2003, 05:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
....jus chillin....

Credits: 41
....well I would definitely like to move back home eventually but the economic climate is not right for me right now, there are a some business ventures I would like to get into when I do go home but right now I am not financially ready. There are lots of things I would like to accomplish first, but If it is at all possibe I would try to establish some kind of family owned business so even if I am still living in the US, I would be able to go back and forth between here and Trini, so I can work and contribute to it's development at the same time......
Old 06-03-2003, 05:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Steuuuupssss!

Credits: 6,205
I am going back home,(at the moment kicking and screaming). I have some good things about to happen in the Windies for me. I will miss living in western countries though. I cant stand the potholes the most. Tobago definitely has no roads to drive a Porsche! Ah well! Just have to jump in a maxi taxi!
Old 06-05-2003, 02:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
cookies

2 years ago, my husband and i purchased some land in good old Santa Cruz. we plan on building a house next year, but we will not be moving back till we are at a point of financial stability where we have to depend on no one for anything. so that will take some time. but we are definitely going to move back to trini and do something. there are a lot of young folks in trini that are looking for a better life and some positive reinforcement and i believe we can help. we also have a lot of friends here in the states that are from trini and are professionals here and are planning to return home in a few years. i have to die where i was born. that's the bottom line and it's always been that way for me.
Old 06-05-2003, 09:18 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 5,606
I plan to be back in Tobago by a years time... i hope to help out culturally in the biggest extent that i can i.e through the arts... I am going to further my education but right now I dunno what i want to do so in the mean time I hope to help out in whatever way i can then move out again... but to still return...

And another plus is my mom is there... who i miss terribly and once i doh really have to be here I'll be wit her...
Old 06-11-2003, 01:17 AM   #13 (permalink)
Empress at large

Credits: 527
I can't imagine growing old in the United States.
Old 06-21-2003, 01:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
HOOD RIDAH

Credits: 129
Originally posted by Mrs_Scorpion
I can't imagine growing old in the United States.
aint dat di damn truth...