Old 02-13-2009, 10:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Black Madonna

Credits: 18,038
Who's Afraid of Women's Sexuality?

Throughout patriarchal history, women's sexuality and embodied spirituality has been feared, and therefore repressed. Now men can talk openly about penis-size insecurity (and women can joke about the over-big deal they make about it when it's just the girls,) but when will it be okay for guys to come out and say, "I'm afraid of women's sexuality. I'm intimidated by it. I'm afraid of the power it has over me"? Only then can men face their fears and discover that they are capable of honoring a woman's sexuality in a respectful way that brings life and joy, rather than betrayal and exploitation. This is the call of Christ, I believe.

Yet the closest an average Christian man or woman comes to acknowledging men's fear and the disservice it does to both women and men gone unaddressed, is to say, "Please don't wear provocative clothing; it causes your brothers to stumble." Or, "Please dress and act sexy for your husband, otherwise, some other woman might have sexual power over him and he may sleep her her instead." Well I'm here to say, I give men more credit, even if they don't give it to themselves...yet.

Just as women are capable and called not to repress their sexual selves, but to channel vital sensual energy in fabulous, healthy ways that honor our bodies, our souls, our God, our partners and our children who watch us and learn (well not literally I' convinced men are capable and called to honor the sacred sexuality, power and beauty of women in ways that respect the sexual, human dignity of men's true selves and women's true selves in Christ, while offering a joyous and faithful example for the children who watch and learn from their parents, who are living letters of Christ.

Lust is really the same as greed, stealing or coveting and in some cases addiction. Love acknowledges beauty without trying to steal it from someone else. Love respects the life force of Beauty without attempting to use it for one's own satisfaction. Love says, "wow, and amen," without needing to control, exploit or possess Beauty. Women's sexuality, proudly, and respectfully carried can elicit responses of worship, not for the woman, but for her Creator, whose womb birthed human beings, with all our blood and love, our feelings, sex and joy in being loved and honored simply for who we are. Yes, all of who we are.

We need a higher standard of control-free self-control -- that is, respect for our own and one another's bodies, spirits and relationships. We need to find our true freedom in Christ to honor one another's full selves out of love rather than controlling each other out of manipulation or insecurity. It's time for a sexual revolution of genuine respect.

"Mediocrity always attacks excellence..."

"When you go beyond yourself....people feel uncomfortable in your presence."
Old 02-14-2009, 12:38 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 4,640
and exactly what the point ?
Old 02-14-2009, 04:30 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 24,385
I rate the post up until the last part.. because respect for a woman's sexuality or sexuality in general is independent of religion, it is more a sense of deeper human morality and philosophy which can be found in other faiths around the world.

In regards, to fear, that is an interesting concept.. maybe you have to fear something before you can respect it.. if I can understand that the woman can be just as bad as I can.. that is fearful.. cause I and I man not an angel

But coco you opened a can of worms, cause check it should we respect someone's sexuality regardless if it does not conform to the norms set by the dominant religion or culture?
Old 02-14-2009, 10:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
L O S T

Credits: 43,485
Ananci should have a good post to contribute to this
Old 02-20-2009, 01:27 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 5,078
Originally Posted by . View Post
Ananci should have a good post to contribute to this
Lol, wha yuh callin mih name for; yuh eh find I have enough enemies on Imix?

I almost didn't see this thread oui; Real Talk has become almost completely dormant of late.

There are a lot of comments I can make on certain points in the article (like women being called not to repress their sexual selves, oh really? Why yuh think they're encouraged to channel it elsewhere?). But for now I will acknowledge that fear of women's sexuality is the foundation of much of our so-called moral values today (dais de short answer, it is of course a little more complex in some cases). Never mind it's masked by such ideas that these values are about "respecting" a woman's body and the usual stuff, it's really based on a very ancient patricentric fear of death which was also closely linked to a need to protect male economic interests (adultery, for instance, comes from an economic term that describes .

But the overarching themes are a fear of death set in an ideology where control is a valuated idea in its own right. There were/are also deep insecurity issues revolving around the lack of understanding of women's intuitiveness, her menstrual cycle and her ability to find and maximise food and resources but all this still lead back to a fear of dying. It didn't matter what religion or spiritual system or even region (cause it was/is present in Africa too, including ancient Egypt) the patriarchal ethic was always pretty the same.

But the biggest irony is that now women themselves are the ones who are the staunchest defenders of masculinist values and ideas of sex/sexual codes. Don't believe me? Witness all the women who talk about men who "sleep around"; even right here in Imix and the recent discussions of monogamy and non-monagamy/open sexual relationships, who were the loudest protesters? If that's not what in hostage-rescue is called Stockholm Syndrome that's in the making for the last 4000 years, I doh know what is.

*Ananci braces for the storm now, god!*