Old 05-14-2003, 12:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

When are we gonna stop acting like we don't see what is going on Back in our Islands

People getting kidnapped

Domestic Violence

Cunnies wid guns

Govt not being held as accountable as they were in the past

Immigration facking wid students that wanna pursue higher educ.

Big men molesting young girls (welll if de grass is green.. jokes jokes... )

and i dare somebody to come in hea talking bout "NOOOO DIS TYPE AH TING DOAN HAPPEN IN WE ISLAND"

ah calypsonian named Rita win de crown in bim in 1988 had a song with a line

"when people suffering in my country ah cyan party, when criminals rule de society ah cyan party"

i am afraid that if i go home and sit in my veranda in blackrock i might be one of 2 things...

1. ignore it and go cross de street and reacquaint my self wid julia dat live across de road

or

2. tell myself dat de partying ain worth it when home ain headed in de right direction...

yuh hear me? be active... call your tourism board. write your govt... go back home and do some productive work.. cause honestly if i go home this summer without checkin fah my people.. and givin a little here and a little there. i just like everybody else.. i'd be Raping Barbados
Old 05-14-2003, 12:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
focused

Credits: 1,764
the violence in all them islands is out of control. Too much chopping, stabbing, shooting, raping etc. Dem "bandits" are out of control. This is a worldwide topic that we should all pray about. Life should be more precious and not taken for granted. My biggest beef is that I know nuff young people back home who want to make something out of their life. Education/employment wise. Sadly, the opportunities are so limited and that's why all that is on their mind is Canada, US and England. They can't see the beauty of where they living because they see it as a dead end. Governments need to step up and allow the young people to develop and enjoy their futures in dem beautiful countries. It's a blasted shame. that's why so many of them end up doing bad things. Because once they get dey subjects or pass form this or that. That's it which is so unfair. I know this is long but I had to vent.
Old 05-14-2003, 12:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

people.. if i did hollaring bout wukkin up and who i foopin and who de hottest dj . this thread will be hot.... this is the perfect example of what i just spoke about
Old 05-14-2003, 12:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

Originally posted by spicy_trini
the violence in all them islands is out of control. Too much chopping, stabbing, shooting, raping etc. Dem "bandits" are out of control. This is a worldwide topic that we should all pray about. Life should be more precious and not taken for granted. My biggest beef is that I know nuff young people back home who want to make something out of their life. Education/employment wise. Sadly, the opportunities are so limited and that's why all that is on their mind is Canada, US and England. They can't see the beauty of where they living because they see it as a dead end. Governments need to step up and allow the young people to develop and enjoy their futures in dem beautiful countries. It's a blasted shame. that's why so many of them end up doing bad things. Because once they get dey subjects or pass form this or that. That's it which is so unfair. I know this is long but I had to vent.
this wasnt long enough.. .. people are taking the land for granted.... ah swear when i move back home one of de first thing i gine do is put together a committee to evict all de cunnts.. that have beach houses and shite in bim.
Old 05-14-2003, 12:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
We Not I

Credits: 711
I definitely agree with you MBR , to much violence , crime & murder in the Caribbean . The politics in the country have a lot to do with ...
Old 05-14-2003, 12:47 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 3,016
Originally posted by MrBlackRock
people.. if i did hollaring bout wukkin up and who i foopin and who de hottest dj . this thread will be hot.... this is the perfect example of what i just spoke about
I'm just sitting here watching the number of views rise and thinking the same thing...

Right now I am so saddened by the state of the Caribbean that I am at a loss for words.

Aside from the crime, and the poverty, there seems to be such an overwhelming lack of ambition.

I agree that there are limited opportunites, but it does not have to be that way. There are countless brilliant people on our islands, and there is such a potential for development...but everybody waiting on somebody else to do it, and turning a blind eye. It is so disheartening.
Old 05-14-2003, 12:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

Originally posted by Ilandfntsy
I'm just sitting here watching the number of views rise and thinking the same thing...

Right now I am so saddened by the state of the Caribbean that I am at a loss for words.

Aside from the crime, and the poverty, there seems to be such an overwhelming lack of ambition.

I agree that there are limited opportunites, but it does not have to be that way. There are countless brilliant people on our islands, and there is such a potential for development...but everybody waiting on somebody else to do it, and turning a blind eye. It is so disheartening.
For example , i ain picking on any islands. In the US, haitians are very united. But its like , why not take the energy back home... Haiti is in a sad state. I asked a haitian friend of mine about going back home, she said "i don't have that problem cause my family has money" that had to be the dumbest shite i've heard in years..
Old 05-14-2003, 12:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
One Eye Monster Inc..

Credits: 1,775
Some ppl planning for Washington Carnival I planning to walk to help those aids patient who might not see the next day...I still feel promoters can throw ah Fund raiser fete to at least help so of the children in the Carribean.
Old 05-14-2003, 12:53 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 3,016
And another thing...

It have plenty people will argue that they are Americans now, and they don't care what going on back home...but they quick to wave a flag and "big up they country"...it's a damn disgrace...b/c bottom line, America doh give an @$$ about us, we not even a recognized demographic and 95% of us will always just live here from check to check as the working flicking poor.
Old 05-14-2003, 12:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

holiday bajans in boston...

ANYONE dat go boston carnival... will tell u.. dem never see sooooo many bajans

some people just buy de flag cause dem like de colors...

de funny thing is all the organizations and committees ain one shyte either cause they are all talk... i dont know about you people but i'll die before someone classify's me as an african american. no offense, thats just not what i am.
Old 05-14-2003, 12:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
SSS

Credits: 1,109
Well this problem have a lot to do with the deportees that return back home, majority of them end up doing the same shite their was deported for in their home country and the problem is the these countries aren't able to control them. Them they are the ingorant children and young adult that think it is cool to be a thugs and trying to grow up too fast.
Old 05-14-2003, 12:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
KingBea....

Credits: 1,760
Cimo2...

...**stands up and Applauds vigorously**

I agree wit you bredrin.The same thing can be said for me an mi country.I took an over due voyage home the other day
(las year).What I realize is there is a lot of money in the Caricum isle's still dread.There is wealth for everyone there.Just bad direction right now.There are as much(per capita) million dollar scandals all over the caribbean as de U.S..If we (the caricum isles) had the right guidance all we islands could be magnificent nations.And yes it starts with looking across the street and caring.there's a life too be had back home lets go get it.

Also on another point,the crime that seems to filter down there now a days.Well to address that I 'll take a scene from the movie shottas.**...bigs returns from foreign and the immigration officer say "likle Deportee boi come from foreign fei mash up de islan with your rashisness.All ya kiar jacking,killing an oddah fcukry......".That is what we are dealing with now.Also we all know the Canadians blame the Americans for there rise in crime stats thanks to the Free Trade act between the two countries.

Canadianssay -"we give goods and sevices ,and they(U.S.) give us crime.Hope it doh happen to my small island.
Old 05-14-2003, 01:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

Re: Cimo2...

Originally posted by Cimo 2
...**stands up and Applauds vigorously**

I agree wit you bredrin.The same thing can be said for me an mi country.I took an over due voyage home the other day
(las year).What I realize is there is a lot of money in the Caricum isle's still dread.There is wealth for everyone there.Just bad direction right now.There are as much(per capita) million dollar scandals all over the caribbean as de U.S..If we (the caricum isles) had the right guidance all we islands could be magnificent nations.And yes it starts with looking across the street and caring.there's a life too be had back home lets go get it.

Also on another point,the crime that seems to filter down there now a days.Well to address that I 'll take a scene from the movie shottas.**...bigs returns from foreign and the immigration officer say "likle Deportee boi come from foreign fei mash up de islan with your rashisness.All ya kiar jacking,killing an oddah fcukry......".That is what we are dealing with now.Also we all know the Canadians blame the Americans for there rise in crime stats thanks to the Free Trade act between the two countries.

Canadianssay -"we give goods and sevices ,and they(U.S.) give us crime.Hope it doh happen to my small island.
at this rate. the violence and ting is a cancer. it migrates to wherever the cells are. People know that they are not gonna die for a crime anymore . my grandfather used tell me tales about how criminals were punished. this is a true story

My moms sister was brutally murdered in 1971, the man who did it, was taken to jail where he was punished for 2 years.. 2 years of punishment sounds like he got off easy but the punishment was

a finger nail a day = gone
a finger a day= gone
an ear, an eye a toe nail. till he died from his own actions.

people feared the law with that sort of punishment. if you are bajan, ask your parents and i bet you 96 percent of this remember this because the violence was so rare back then

people don't fear the law anymore so violence spreads in the carribean. We need to hold our govt's accountable.. cause think about it like this. the US has plenty global respect. If the defected west indians banded together to put pressure on the govt i think we would see progress.

Last edited by MrBlackRock; 05-14-2003 at 01:11 PM..
Old 05-14-2003, 01:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
One Eye Monster Inc..

Credits: 1,775
Well in the Carribbean there are alot ppl that think once you come to america you have made it.Like america is the land of freedom which is untrue yes the american dollar has more value than the carribbean.But they often pick up the fashion and lifestyles from what they see on Cable down there. So you have youths standing on Corners others wearing diffrerent gang colors..Man I remember when yuh could walk the streets of Trinidad all time of night..Now Boi..We need to send a strong message to the ppl of the Carribbean don't be followers of the American Culture..But Instead let we be Leaders so they learn from us P.S If I was Prime Minister or President of one of those Carribbean Countries is to Ban de chupid shows like B.e.t M.t.v.
That just destroy the young ppls mind today....Image the Weather is 90 degrees and you have on a leather jacket..
Old 05-14-2003, 01:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

Originally posted by Desperado
Well in the Carribbean there are alot ppl that think once you come to america you have made it.Like america is the land of freedom which is untrue yes the american dollar has more value than the carribbean.But they often pick up the fashion and lifestyles from what they see on Cable down there. So you have youths standing on Corners others wearing diffrerent gang colors..Man I remember when yuh could walk the streets of Trinidad all time of night..Now Boi..We need to send a strong message to the ppl of the Carribbean don't be followers of the American Culture..But Instead let we be Leaders so they learn from us P.S If I was Prime Minister or President of one of those Carribbean Countries is to Ban de chupid shows like B.e.t M.t.v.
That just destroy the young ppls mind today....Image the Weather is 90 degrees and you have on a leather jacket..
or have on a skull cap ,, steups in bim..