M.B.I male body inspector
Credits: 229
Re: Re: About Blacks (pacific heights)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Reply to: pers-112723194@craigslist.org Date: 2005-11-20, 11:58PM PST You call white people ignorant? But, why is it that Blacks are the only ones in this society who choose to hyphenate themselves by calling themselves African Americans. This is pure ignorance. By doing this, you are disgracing both Africans and Americans. If you are born in this country, or you are born elsewhere and naturalize, then you are an AMERICAN. Most Africans I have ever met have told me they have nothing in common with American blacks. Hell, a simple conversation with an African will tell you this because the African has manners, respect, and common courtesy. They don't walk around with the goal to sound as ignorant or thug-like as they can. And they resent it when American blacks try to identify with them because the values they (the Africans) have in their own culture are so much higher than the lack of values as displayed by many American blacks (with exception of those who are active in their religious convictions and/or a select group of American blacks who have chosen to live with dignity...which, by the way IS actually available in this country to all who would choose it). Blacks do more to propagate their own discrimination than whites have ever done to them within the past 30 years. (Gays do this as well, but that's another subject...and before you call me a homophobe, let me tell you, I'm gay, but I don't identify with mainstream gay society because it's so stupid. Who wants to be stereotyped? I share your concern there.) However, what unfortunately happens in this "Politically Correct" society is that just stating a fact makes you perceived as being a racist or a stereotyper. Frankly, making one group of people ride the back of the bus, or removing them from consideration for employment just based on skin-color...that's racist. But identifying areas that need addressing within any society or segment of a society...I don't think that's racist. How can you actively address any issue unless you first identify it? Calling someone a "N**er" is racist, but saying that black males are undereducated because of a high rate of truancy, that's not racist. That's FACT. There is a difference. I, as a white person, am NOT responsible in any way for the high rate of truancy within black neighborhoods. I am NOT responsible for the black on black shootings that we hear of in the news in areas such as Oakland, Richmond, or Hunter's Point. So, don't pin that shit on me. It's like, what do you think? That I go to an ALL-WHITE store and sitting on the checkout counter is a little coin jar that says, "Contribute your change here and help keep blacks living in abject poverty and ignorance."? Get real, you dumbass! Whites are not responsible for blacks CHOOSING to act this way, anymore than blacks are responsible for the trailer trash whites I recall living around in other areas of this state (I grew up in a rural area). Disgusting people come in all colors. But don't you dare try to tell me that I'm responsible for someone else's choices, whether they are black OR white! You (the poster) call whites ignorant (like that's not a stereotype???), but it's you (the poster) who is ignorant in this case. The entire "African American" movement is nothing more than blacks trying to continue distancing themselves from mainstream America, which only fuels resentment already felt toward you by the whites whom you call ignorant. It completely negates what Martin Luther King stood up for. Either you're an American or you're not. As far as black people who work in burger joints being at the bottom of the socio-economic ladder, well I think anyone who works is demonstrating that they have sense of self-esteem, whether it's at a burger joint or as a software engineer or whatever. Working is a noble thing, and you have to start somewhere. The question that was raised is that when you go into a place where there is a black person behind the counter, there is a lack of common courtesy if it's a black person. So the response is to label the black person "at the bottom of the socio-economic ladder". Well, first of all, this sounds like a training issue to me, because anyone who works with the public, whether white or black, should be taught the simple courtesies of representing their company to the public, such as "Thank you for coming, please visit us again" or whatever it is that you prefer your employees say. The issue I have is that I NEVER see a white person throw their trash on the ground ANYWHERE in the bay area. That is a lack of upbringing. I often have to wonder, if the person who just threw their trash out the window, or threw it down on the ground while walking, if this person were standing in their own living room, or in their yard, would they just throw their trash on the floor or on the ground? Is that the way their mothers raised them? I don't think so. As the saying goes, "If you want to be employed, be employable." Well, it can also be said, "If you want to be respected, be respectable." Respect is earned, not coerced or demanded. You can't have it both ways. It doesn't just apply to whites within white society. It applies to everyone in every society! I see (black) mothers with their children out in public when they tell them, "We don't throw the trash on the ground, there is a garbage can over there". That's just a good mother being a good mother and teaching her child(ren) how to live with respect. So, where is the disconnect? Likewise, I see Mexican business owners out sweeping up all the trash in front of their businesses, not to mention, the majority of them like to keep their yards clean and beautiful. So, when I see some person throwing their trash on the ground, whether they are Black or Mexican, I just wonder how this person expects to be respected by anyone (including other Blacks or Mexicans), when they act so disrespectful? Don't they know that in addition to angering Whitey, they are also pissing off other Blacks and/or Mexicans? this is in or around America no -- it's NOT ok to contact this poster with services or other commercial interests |
Crucian fuh eva!
Credits: 702
Interesting how dis post started out and den morphed into something else. Initially, I was not feeling dis man's post, but as I read on, I began to understand and agree with ONLY SOME of the things dat he wrote. For instance, I have a major problem with people that do not throw their trash in the proper receptacle...and I mean people no matter what race. I am curious as to what caused this reaction from the poster.
Freedom
Credits: 6,413
He has a couple of points here and there, but then there are some overgeneralizations in there. I agree with the whole African American foolishness though.
Royal
Credits: 24,265
Overall stupid post.
Since when are African-Americans the only group to hyphenate their ethnicity and nationality? Do some American history. In fact, just read or pay attention to the people in your country. White, Black....Black, White...too many of them are always at each others throats. White and Black Americans/African-Americans often get on my last nerves with their stereotypes of each other. Dais why I generally dont get involved in their little bickerings. Get a life... |
RasYardHindian
Credits: 358
Is it Black's who call themself African-American or "other" folk trying to be politcally correct? btw ...every ethncity in America is hyphenated except Caucasian and Hispanic. |
Royal
Credits: 24,265
Certain white groups do it too conveniently. We all know all of the so-called "Irish-Americans" come out on St. Patricks day. Italian-Americans also tend to hyphenate, so that person needs to shut up. Some people always find something to complain about... What they need to gripe about is why are American president is risking the lives of our American soldiers overseas... Why our gas prices are so high? etc. Last edited by dollbabi; 11-23-2005 at 12:31 PM.. |
She
Credits: 742
I was just coming to type this |
RasYardHindian
Credits: 358
Stolen from Africa
Credits: 251
His post has too many generalizations. I see nothing wrong with American blacks calling themselves African American. What's his problem. Is he upset that "White" America didn't do it first. Whites always like to own and control everything. Enough of that.
A lot of the problems in the Black community (where ever they live) has to do with the choices made by the individuals within the community. The gangsterism, thug, ghetto behaviour and mentality have to stop. Over the last generation, there has been subtle erosion of the gains made by the generation before and no one paid attention. We need to go back to basics. Family values. It doesn't matter how much money the government (all the various levels) pour into social programs to help the economic disadvantage, at the end of the day, the government can't force us to sit down as a family for family dinner each night. They can't drive Black parents to parent-teacher interviews. They can't come into our homes to turn off the TV so that little Johnny finishes his homework and read a book. We have to do it for ourselves. We need discourage the number of fatherless homes in our North American community. If we thought it was ok in the West Indies, it's not OK here, because a lot of the safety nets which existed there aren't here. Granny is no longer at home. Grannies up here have their 9-5 as well. Teen girls need to keep those legs shut for much longer. Teen boys have to stay in school. Who is going to hire some Ebonic speaking thug in corporate North America? Let's get our acts together. |
Credits: 30
Wow This Is An Excellent Post For Argument
i find that we as african people living away from our homeland have to ultimately take responsiblity for ourselves. that white guy cannot begin to understand the situation we go through daily in this white country. nor does he seem to address the root s of the "african-american" ignorance displayed by the youth of today. i hate when i white person criticises us. thinking that all had a fare start in this country, and black people just decide to be negative and bring themselves down. every major problem in the black society stems from institutionalized racism that has been in this country since the first slave stepped of the boat from africa. no matter how much money or degrees a black man has. the white majority in this country will most likley see him as a rich nigger or a smart nigger, but a nigger no less. i think most young people realize this and find no hope in trying to live outside of the ghetto mentality. i try my best not to perpetuate sterotypes that plague black men in my everyday living. but no matter if i walk around in a suit or street clothes the majority of non-blacks and even some black people look at me with a resentment in their i that i know so well. it is as if from birth they are bred to believe that black people are all the same and we can only do wrong. that is why i and most of my peers don't give a ################ about what any white person in this country thinks of us. black people really need to realize living to the standards of what white people think is respectable is a waist of time. WHY SHOULD WE TRY TO BE LIKE THEM WHEN BEING OUR ORIGINAL SELVES WE ARE SO MUCH BETTER THEN THEM. WE WERE BUILDING PYRAMIDS WHEN THEY WERE JUST DISCOVERING FIRE IN THE CAVES OF EUROPE. NEVER SURRENDER YOUR BLACKNESS FOR ANYBODY..................ANYBODY!!!!!!!
u were warned bout me
Credits: 121
meh
I dont really care to read to much of what that long ass essay has to say. IMO once u start to make negative generalizations about a race u write urself off. The person just sounds bitter to me
Credits: 21,826
trinigyul4:
Malcolm X once said---- ---"If a cat has kittens in an oven..........do you call them biscuits?" And as for littering---- ---who is the Greatest Polluter of North America TODAY? And about Blacks getting away from the "Mainstream"---- ---If you started out like THIS wouldn't you wanna GET AWAY from THAT Mainstream: http://gwpapers.virginia.edu/documen...l/mansion.html |
CALI GIRL
Credits: 23
I agree with some of the things mentioned by this person. But he needs to figure out exactly who the heck he is directing this at, because it cant possibly go for all people who call them selves African American. It sounds like this person just been in a bad situation on this subject and is just being sour, cause he dont know what the hell he wants to talk about.