Old 08-30-2005, 03:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Just BEING Me

Credits: 166
What are your memories?

I was just listening to talk radio. On the program they were talking about Katrina and the effects on Louisiana. As they were talking I was taken back to my time in Barbados and the hurricanes I experienced.

Hopefully it's not just me but I remember hurricanes as not being that big of a deal because my family and I were as prepared as could be.

I remember leaving my mother's house during a hurricane to go help my aunt tie her roof down. We tied on to the rafters and then to the piers under the floor. I then went back home through the hurricane.

When people here in the midwest ask or talk about hurricanes, they do not conjure up the fear and dread that others have experienced.

What are some of your experiences with hurricanes?
Old 08-30-2005, 04:17 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 14,234
well fuh me, i rememeber mih fadda puttin up board in de windows and dem, but de hurricane died down by de time it came down by us. dis must have been 94, cuz i was a likkle likkle yute

since den, we never really had any problem wit hurricane, no flooding, no landslide, none ah dat. (in my area) we were lucky.
Old 08-30-2005, 04:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
L O S T

Credits: 43,485
Originally Posted by bajanref
I was just listening to talk radio. On the program they were talking about Katrina and the effects on Louisiana. As they were talking I was taken back to my time in Barbados and the hurricanes I experienced.

Hopefully it's not just me but I remember hurricanes as not being that big of a deal because my family and I were as prepared as could be.

I remember leaving my mother's house during a hurricane to go help my aunt tie her roof down. We tied on to the rafters and then to the piers under the floor. I then went back home through the hurricane.

When people here in the midwest ask or talk about hurricanes, they do not conjure up the fear and dread that others have experienced.

What are some of your experiences with hurricanes?
You were paying too much attention to the woman who called in from MIami :)
Old 08-30-2005, 04:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Just BEING Me

Originally Posted by DreadJockey
You were paying too much attention to the woman who called in from MIami :)
Which woman? It was Rush Limbaugh I was forced to listen to.
Old 08-30-2005, 05:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Tek yie fram mi curry...

Credits: 144
We lived on a hill so we were safe from the flooding for the most part. However, Jamaica always seems to be to di right of di storm *kicks small rock*, so wind was always a hassle. Fortunately, we had a huge brick and cement house, so the only thing we had to do was board up di windows and tie di goat to di tree...
Old 08-30-2005, 07:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Just BEING Me

Originally Posted by jamaica
We lived on a hill so we were safe from the flooding for the most part. However, Jamaica always seems to be to di right of di storm *kicks small rock*, so wind was always a hassle. Fortunately, we had a huge brick and cement house, so the only thing we had to do was board up di windows and tie di goat to di tree...
Grenada seems to be the first instance I'm aware where bungalows didn't stand much of a chance. US always mess up with billions in insurance claims. Seems interesting.