Old 08-15-2005, 08:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Just BEING Me

Credits: 166
What would you do?

Just had a situation in the grocery store where this lady didn't have enough money to pay for her groceries. Seems like this should be simple right?

This lady is on a riding cart. She has two kids with her. She's on Welfare and only has $45 to spend. Still sounds simple right?

As a black person would you:
  1. Offer to help pay for the groceries?
  2. Say to hell with her, she should have been keeping better track of her expenses.
  3. Change lanes so that you wouldn't have to listen to the decision of which items are not to be purchased.
  4. Wonder why she doesn't hurry up and make her decision.
  5. Other

Now, what if you live in an area where there is KKK activity and the lady is white? Would this affect your earlier decision? What if the lady is blacK? What now?

Just thinking about how I handled the situation.

How have you handled situations like this in the past?
Old 08-15-2005, 08:36 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 16,213
Either way, knowing myself I would offer to help her pay. I have done it before. Once as a customer and once as a cashier working in the grocery store.
Old 08-15-2005, 08:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Just BEING Me

Testimoy to your upbringing and character.

I helped to pay for the groceries. She never said thanks or anything. It would have been nice but that's not why I helped.
Old 08-15-2005, 08:52 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 16,213
Originally Posted by bajanref
Testimoy to your upbringing and character.

I helped to pay for the groceries. She never said thanks or anything. It would have been nice but that's not why I helped.
She may have been shame. That's a very hard predicament to be in I imagine.
Old 08-15-2005, 09:07 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 14,232
it all depends on how much money i have!! she not de only one strugglin in dis world atall.
Old 08-15-2005, 09:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Guyanese blood in me

Credits: 141
how much was the groceries?
its nice to say i would pay for it, if i knew i had it i would, but honestly i cant decide until im there.
Old 08-15-2005, 09:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Guyanese blood in me

SHARKIE!!

that siggy is funny
Old 08-15-2005, 09:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Sweeter Sauce

Credits: 914
Ditto....I en no whether I'd help, I gotta be there and it depends on how broke I am at the time.
Old 08-15-2005, 09:30 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by MsLady08
SHARKIE!!

that siggy is funny
stop muckin de ppl thread.
Old 08-15-2005, 09:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wuck up ya waist gyal

Credits: 231
Originally Posted by sharkbait
it all depends on how much money i have!! she not de only one strugglin in dis world atall.
ditto

and if it was foolishness she was buyin i wouldnt pay for it... it would have to be necessities only
Old 08-15-2005, 09:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Guyanese blood in me

Originally Posted by sharkbait
stop muckin de ppl thread.
shut ya ****, just say thank u and move on
Old 08-15-2005, 09:42 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by SexyBajanGyal
ditto

and if it was foolishness she was buyin i wouldnt pay for it... it would have to be necessities only
fuh true! doh play yuh throwin no lil candy fuh de chirren at all!!
Old 08-15-2005, 09:49 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 754
c - Whatever she couldn't buy now, she'll buy tomorrow. Especially if she had a bunch of junk instead of milk, cheese,etc for her children.
and yes, my decision will be the same no matter what the race of the person was. That's just me. She should've calculated everything prior to going on line ( that's what I do).
Who's to say that she didn't use up her benefits (food stamps on foolishness like trading them in with the Arabs to get money for cigarettes or liquor)... Just my opinion on how I would handle the situation.
Old 08-15-2005, 09:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Sweeter Sauce

Credits: 914
Very interesting point....one definately to think about...
Old 08-15-2005, 10:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
Just BEING Me

Originally Posted by socadiva05
c - Whatever she couldn't buy now, she'll buy tomorrow. Especially if she had a bunch of junk instead of milk, cheese,etc for her children.
and yes, my decision will be the same no matter what the race of the person was. That's just me. She should've calculated everything prior to going on line ( that's what I do).
Who's to say that she didn't use up her benefits (food stamps on foolishness like trading them in with the Arabs to get money for cigarettes or liquor)... Just my opinion on how I would handle the situation.
Thank you for your post.

I did not check to see what she had in the cart, didn't care. I don't know what my reasoning was. I just did it. I checked my pocket and realized I had $10 and that would help and so...

The cashier knew me and she ran out to bring me the change because I went to another cashier to pay for my things and I had left.