Old 06-04-2003, 02:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
look meh!

Credits: 1,127
What Is A Hero?

I don't know about the rest of you, but ever since 911, it seems like the term "hero" has lost whatever value it had before. It seems like any and everybody is labeled a "hero" for doing nothing. Why is Guiliani labeled a hero? What did he ever do?
What about the soldier, Lynch or whatever her name was from W. Virginia, what did she ever do to be honored with that title? Those are just examples, there are many many more, but yuh get the idea.

My question is, what is a hero? Is it really an honor anymore to be labeled that or has the term become cliche?
Old 06-04-2003, 03:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
poca-old

hum, hum

good point socaboy... it is hard to define a hero but i really agree with yo that nowadays people use the term without thinking about what t is really means. for me a hero is someone who did something positive in his/her life that impact positively on others. it doesn't have to be on large scale or anything. but i definitly don't think that a girl who was kidnap during the war should be called a hero....
Old 06-04-2003, 12:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
....jus chillin....

Credits: 41
1: In mythology and legend, a man, often of divine ancestry, who is endowed with great courage and strength, celebrated for his bold exploits, and favored by the gods.
2: A person noted for feats of courage or nobility of purpose, especially one who has risked or sacrificed his or her life: soldiers and nurses who were heroes in an unpopular war.
3: A person noted for special achievement in a particular field: the heroes of medicine.
4: The principal male character in a novel, poem, or dramatic presentation.

The American HeritageŽ Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition
Old 06-04-2003, 01:53 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 123
I agree that the term hero has been overused since 9/11. I don't think Giuliani is nowhere near to being a hero. He did what any other mayor or public official would have had to do in that situation - lead the city and comfort them as much as possible. I think that fireman and police men were also doing their jobs. They were courageous and many died for their efforts so in some way they are heros, but in another aspect they were doing what they were hired to do. I don't think that Lynch is a hero either. I don't really agree that it is heroic to survive being a POW. Maybe she can be called a survivor but not a hero.
A hero doesn't necessarily have to be someone who physically saved a life, but a hero could be a stranger on the street who inspired someone to improve his/her life, not necessarily in the physical sense. And like stated before, a hero does not have to do something on a large scale to be heroic.
Old 06-04-2003, 09:36 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 2,715
I think the word Hero is a word personal word. Who may be a Hero to me, may not be a Hero to the girl down the street. My dad was a hero in my eyes, but you guys don't know him. I think Martin Luther King, Jr was a hero, I am not sure if i feel the same way about Malcom X. A hero is someone you admire, because they have done something note worthy to change your life, to make it better.
Old 06-05-2003, 01:20 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 1,104
Hmm, I agree that the media has overused and abused the term in the last couple of years. Especially when it relates to America. Now, a hero can be the guy who goes out and buys American flags for his whole neighborhood to put up in front of their houses.

I think its really a personal definition like Tbaje said. To me, a hero is a single mother who is supporting her 3 kids without assistance from the government. To that nameless, faceless person that the rest of us don't know, she means the world to her 3 kids. I don't really have anyone famous that I consider a hero -- a leader maybe, but not a hero.
Old 06-05-2003, 02:26 PM   #7 (permalink)

I agree w/ everyone about it being a personal thing. I don't look at celebrities or community leaders or politicians as being heros. My heros are my father & my grandmother for personal reasons that are too long to get into right now.