Old 06-09-2003, 04:51 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 132
Question What do you do????

What do you do if someone who is very dear to you has the obvious signs of a drinking problem but they think they have everything under control?
Old 06-09-2003, 04:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
n/a

Please talk to them about it, It's not cute watchin yuh friend fallin all ova the place. But if the person think they have it under control it's not much u can do about it but be supportive. People with drinkin problems will neva realize they have a problem unless they get help

Babes try yuh best n get that person help ok Luv
Old 06-09-2003, 04:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Empress at large

Credits: 532
If you are sure that they don't have things under control, speak to them about it and give them supporting evidence that there is definitely a problem.
Old 06-09-2003, 05:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
#1 Rupee Supporter

Credits: 512
I have serious talk with them so that they know that you are very serious about it and that the situation itself is serious and nothing to play around with. If they feel that they don't have a problem then guide them in the way in showing that there is indeed a problem.
Old 06-09-2003, 05:02 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 9,305
okay I have another question, you all said try talking to them..but what do you do when you have spoken to them numerous times but it doesn't work? What is next? Do you wait until they learn the hard way?

DB1, does this person also drive while they are drunk? In that case, we are on a whole different level now. :
Old 06-09-2003, 05:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
D'Only1

hmmmmmmm....very very touchy topic with me. I'm almost afraid to post. I posted about this a while back and it took alot out of me to discuss. Well I too am in this situation and don't know what to do, I tried everything I can and now lost touch with the best friend I ever had. We have not spoken in months and we barely see each other. I love him to death but what and who's to get in the way of the wrath of alcohol.

I already said, I don't want a man that drinks to get drunk, I cannot be with a man who drinks and become violent, I've lived with it for years growing up and not about to with my relationship or marriage. I want a man who can occasionally enjoy it and knows when to stop

Rum till I die???? Shit its just the song I like.
Old 06-09-2003, 05:10 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 96
First stop and talk to them and let them know that you care about them why youu are teling them. Let them know that when the get drunk that it affects everyone around them and that you are tired of seeing it and hearing people talk about it. Let them know that you don't want them to get hurt or hurt anyone. Also tell them about thier behavior when they are drunk. This is not cute and they need to know that you are there for them and support them. It is hard but don't give up on them.

TP to ans you keep talking try not to let them learn the hard way cause they might not be around to tell you what they learned...Never give up on someone you care for it does hurt but let them know how you feel and even if it means crying let them know that could be the hard way. This is a tuff situation and it can be hard but you would feel bad if something happens and you gave up.

If they drink and drive then that really invovles everyone cause they could end up hurting someone innocent. But that person needs to be spoken to and maybe you can even get someone that you think they would listen besides yourself but something has to be done.
Old 06-09-2003, 05:12 PM   #8 (permalink)

Your responses are greatly appresiated. I've tried talking and it's really not cute at all to watch when their in that state. I've tried talking, met with the parents and we all spoke but none of that has seemed to do any good. Although they think they have it under control, it's pretty obvious that they do not. How can I be possibly be supportive when their life is in jeopardy??? Yeah they don't realize it unless they get help but they refuse to get help because they are in denial and I don't want things to get worse. I've tried everything and I don't know what else I could possibly do.

Yes TP they drink and drive and has even gotten into numerous accidents. I am honestly afraid for their life.
Old 06-09-2003, 05:18 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally posted by D'Only1
hmmmmmmm....very very touchy topic with me. I'm almost afraid to post. I posted about this a while back and it took alot out of me to discuss. Well I too am in this situation and don't know what to do, I tried everything I can and now lost touch with the best friend I ever had. We have not spoken in months and we barely see each other. I love him to death but what and who's to get in the way of the wrath of alcohol.

I already said, I don't want a man that drinks to get drunk, I cannot be with a man who drinks and become violent, I've lived with it for years growing up and not about to with my relationship or marriage. I want a man who can occasionally enjoy it and knows when to stop

Rum till I die???? Shit its just the song I like.
Girl I hear you loud and clear and some people take that song to heart I guess. All you can do is talk to the person you can not make them stop.

Some people think they can't go out and have a good time unless they drink til they stupid which should not be cause half the time you don't remember what happen.

Falling down and slurring your words is not cute and you get up the next day and can't remember what the happened the night before. Then do it aging the next night what is the joy in that.

Like I said before it affects everyone around you not just you so they need to take that into consideration and not be selfish.
Old 06-09-2003, 05:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
twins in full gleee

Credits: 322
this is a very serious situation..alot of people do not like to addmit to having a drinking problem and.. unfortunatly sad to say.. there's nothing u can do until this individual admits to themself that there is a problem.. maybe find one on those quizzes on the internet that they can take to evaluate their drunking state.. possibly one on those this can happen to you or worst yet this can happen to an inocent by stander type of movie... maybe contact your local AA places on if they have material that can help u out...

I know it's tough but they have to see themselves in that light.. good luck and keep your head up...
Old 06-09-2003, 05:21 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 9,305
Kitten, this person doesn't listen to the people that he cherishes the most (family and friends). This is a serious situation that I also deal with. I also have a friend in the same predicament and talking never seems to work. I have spent too many sleepless nights sitting up praying and hoping my friend makes it home safely, I been cussed out on various occasions when I offer to drive my friend home and it is embrassing when the next morning my friend doesn't even remember their behavior or doesn't appreciate the stress that you put into making sure they are okay. It hurts even more whe people who calls themselves friends just laugh at their behavior instead of helping.

I have gotten to the point of wanting to just give up and leave them be but at the same time I don't want to make our next visit together in a hospital bed or in a coffin.

Last edited by Trini Prinzez; 06-09-2003 at 05:28 PM..
Old 06-09-2003, 05:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
D'Only1

Originally posted by socakitten_1
Girl I hear you loud and clear and some people take that song to heart I guess. All you can do is talk to the person you can not make them stop.

Some people think they can't go out and have a good time unless they drink til they stupid which should not be cause half the time you don't remember what happen.

Falling down and slurring your words is not cute and you get up the next day and can't remember what the happened the night before. Then do it aging the next night what is the joy in that.

Like I said before it affects everyone around you not just you so they need to take that into consideration and not be selfish.
I tell you I have felt so much mental and physical hurt that I don't know how much more I could take. Blessed you have put me into a somber mood now. I have to get out of this post

allyuh carry on
Old 06-09-2003, 05:24 PM   #13 (permalink)

Well maybe you need to get help to turn to someone else besides the parents look onto other friends,other family members something or someone has to be able to help....

They are driving that is now taking it to another level. Something has to be done fast before it is too late. like I said sometime a group is better then one person. Your friend can't be mad either cause everyone sees it if they are doing this in public and they will realize that you guys are doing it cause you care about them.
Old 06-09-2003, 05:30 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally posted by socakitten_1
Well maybe you need to get help to turn to someone else besides the parents look onto other friends,other family members something or someone has to be able to help....

They are driving that is now taking it to another level. Something has to be done fast before it is too late. like I said sometime a group is better then one person. Your friend can't be mad either cause everyone sees it if they are doing this in public and they will realize that you guys are doing it cause you care about them.

Girl, I don't know what to do because the other "friends" proudly and frequently support this bad habit and then either complain about the consequenting behavior or laugh and joke about the situation afterwards
Old 06-09-2003, 05:32 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally posted by Trini Prinzez
Kitten, this person doesn't listen to the people that he cherishes the most (family and friends). This is a serious situation that I also deal with. I also have a friend in the same predictament and talking never seems to work. I have spent too many sleepless nights sitting up praying and hoping my friend makes it home safely, I been cussed out on various occasions when I offer to drive my friend home and it is embrassing when the next morning my friend doesn't even remember his behavior.

I have gotten to the point of wanting to just give up and leave them be but at the same time I don't want to make our next visit together in a hospital bed or in a coffin.
TP I know what you mean and like I said sometimes soemone else has to step in like another friend tell him about his behavior and I don't mean you I mean a guy friend men don't listen to women all the time. But maybe if his boys tell him what they think and what they hear people say maybe something will change.

Just whatever you do don't give up cause like you said you don't want to see him dead or in a hospital or even jail. Cause that might be harder to deal with then a cuss.

Trust me I was in a relationship where I had t o deal with that many nights of crying begging and getting cuss, having to clean up after him the next morning for him to tell me he can't remember what happen and he sorry. but I did not give up and I can say thank god nothing serious ever happen. But now 10 years later he does not drink to get drunk anymore. Girl it is hard but don't give up keep praying for strength to deal with it...