Old 04-02-2005, 07:07 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 685
What is it about the caribbean why we must ALWAYS separate

I was reading about the West Indies Federation and I saw how islands decided to separate from one another. Then now, they still have not tried to join the islands together but islands want to separate more. Nevis wants to separate from St. kitts, Barbuda I heard wants to separate from Antigua, Tobago sometime ago wanted to separate from Trinidad. How dumb is that ? U know people in Toronto look at the population of these islands that want to separate and think, we have small towns in Canada with more people. Could u imagine, Sudbury separating from Canada, lol, in a year, there would be no Sudbury left. Canadians can see that, Sudburians can see that, but Nevisians who live on an island with 11 000 people (not even half the population of sudbury) can't ? Plus, we can't even say we have too many islands to united or too many people to unite cuz the Phillipines has 7017 islands and a population of 86,241,697. So we definitely have no excuse.

Then in North America, caribbean born separate from caribbean descent. We are the ONLY group of people who rejects our descents. A Chinese born in Canada is Chinese, Greek is Greek, Nigerian is Nigerian (so we can't even say it's a black thing) but not us. Are we really that retarded ? Somebody please explain to me why is it that caribbean people seem to think that the solution to every problem we have is to separate. Are we really that sad as a people ?
Old 04-06-2005, 12:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Poor Peoples Voice

Credits: 206
Originally Posted by small_island_descent
I was reading about the West Indies Federation and I saw how islands decided to separate from one another. Then now, they still have not tried to join the islands together but islands want to separate more. Nevis wants to separate from St. kitts, Barbuda I heard wants to separate from Antigua, Tobago sometime ago wanted to separate from Trinidad. How dumb is that ? U know people in Toronto look at the population of these islands that want to separate and think, we have small towns in Canada with more people. Could u imagine, Sudbury separating from Canada, lol, in a year, there would be no Sudbury left. Canadians can see that, Sudburians can see that, but Nevisians who live on an island with 11 000 people (not even half the population of sudbury) can't ? Plus, we can't even say we have too many islands to united or too many people to unite cuz the Phillipines has 7017 islands and a population of 86,241,697. So we definitely have no excuse.

Then in North America, caribbean born separate from caribbean descent. We are the ONLY group of people who rejects our descents. A Chinese born in Canada is Chinese, Greek is Greek, Nigerian is Nigerian (so we can't even say it's a black thing) but not us. Are we really that retarded ? Somebody please explain to me why is it that caribbean people seem to think that the solution to every problem we have is to separate. Are we really that sad as a people ?
Well small decent i reallky dont blame islands such as nevis and Barbuda wanting to seperate from there big sisters! I mean the govrnments seem like hey not doing anything constructive for these smaller islands.....come on barbuda really has no up to date infustructure, what about the school systems there. Not to mention show Kittians talk down about Nevisains vice versa with antigua with barbuda.....I guess dem tired if there big sister aint trying to help dem I guess they gotta help dem selves.
Old 04-06-2005, 12:55 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 24,367
Originally Posted by harizon?
Well small decent i reallky dont blame islands such as nevis and Barbuda wanting to seperate from there big sisters! I mean the govrnments seem like hey not doing anything constructive for these smaller islands.....come on barbuda really has no up to date infustructure, what about the school systems there. Not to mention show Kittians talk down about Nevisains vice versa with antigua with barbuda.....I guess dem tired if there big sister aint trying to help dem I guess they gotta help dem selves.
yup exactly what i was going to say
Old 04-06-2005, 09:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
LGN
Phuck arf nuh man!!

Credits: 1,662
Originally Posted by small_island_descent
Very True. As I was born in britain I know where your coming from
Old 04-06-2005, 10:40 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by harizon?

That again proves how retarded we have become. Who the frig is Antigua to talk down to Barbuda, or St. Kitts to talk down to Nevis ? We hate the fact that other people disrespect us cuz we are small, but we gonna disrespect smaller islands. Check it, I see a Barbudan as my brother, a Nevisian as my brother, the same way I'd see an Antiguan or Kittitian as my brother. Only in their little retarded circles are Antiguans any more than Barbudans or Kittitians any more than Nevisians. Once u step out of that region, try and tell anyone that being Antiguan or Kittitian gives u more props then a Barbudan or a Nevisian. If u lucky, they might just be nice enough to laugh at u, HARD. And that's only if they feel really really nice. But this is my point, the caribbean goes on like they don't live with the rest of the world, like they have no sight of what the rest of the world is like. And u talking bout governments, in Canada, people in smaller towns complaining ALL THE TIME about how all development and infrastructure goes to the metropolitan cities and certain provinces. Sudbury people, North Bay people, Timmins people and all those northern Ontario cities HATE the fact that Toronto gets development before them, and understandably so at times. Is Sudbury separating, NO. Is North Bay separating, NO. And their populations are larger then Antigua & Barbuda or St Kitts & Nevis put together. But since we caribbeans, and we so special, and our part of the world is so unique, we must separate to prove we are something. Instead of saying, our populations are small, the rest of the world is huge, the onlly way to survive successfully is to work together, we look down on each other, degrade each other, degrade our descendants, hell most even degrade our ancestors (think about how caribbeans see Africans) and then we wonder why our countries have so much crime, so much aids, need to constantly depend on the white man and his tourism just so we can eat from day to day. That's why I ask, are we really that retarded ??? Or is there some huge underlying factor I am overlooking ?
Old 04-06-2005, 10:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
elq
Cleophus aka pupah lashie

Credits: 1,034
the federation was separated by the pandering to England who saw that the benefits of the Federation would NOT be in England's favor.

They convinced a couple islands NOT to join the movement for a full federation by granting them independence..
hmmmm?

i don't think this is the same issue as the separation issues of today.
Old 04-06-2005, 11:40 AM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by elq
the federation was separated by the pandering to England who saw that the benefits of the Federation would NOT be in England's favor.

They convinced a couple islands NOT to join the movement for a full federation by granting them independence..
hmmmm?

i don't think this is the same issue as the separation issues of today.

So, English man/woman says, "hey n!ggers, how about instead of uniting ur islands together and not working in my favour, why don't u guys just separate FOR ALL TIME and I'll be nice enough to grant u independence."

What do the n!ggers say, not "hey, maybe we shouldn't be in favour of the people who colonized us in the first place and hey, maybe we should join our other brothers and sisters on the islands who have been oppressed by the colonizer as well and then once we are a federation, DEMAND our independence." Nah, we don't say that.

We say "well, sir/mame, king/queen, working in ur favour and selling out our brothers and sisters on other islands sure does make a lot of sense to me cuz at least, I'll be benefitting for the time being . And then, after I gain my independence, cuz I know it won't be working in ur favour, I still won't unite with my brothers and sisters, just to keep u happy sir."
And they still not a federation, way after they were so nicely granted independence. So it's not even like u can say, oh, they were just toying with the English until they got independence but once they got it, they'd all unite and be a stronger caribbean. Nope, they still divided, still small, some still wanna keep dividing and now we are still one of the best vacation spots for the rest of the world and nothing more .......Retarded much ??? I think so.

But hey, at least we got our independence ...... but wait, who does our school exams again ? What is the "proper" way of speaking in the caribbean again ? What is the civilsed behaviour in the caribbean again ? What history do u learn again, when I look on websites and books on caribbean history, what people do I find again ? What is one of the greatest opportunities in the caribbean mind again ? Britain, France, all the colonizing countries. SO what exactly are we so independent from ???