Credits: 41,532
West Indian - American
I'm fed up with people telling me all kind of junk about my love of my culture. So I was born in NY so what! My parents are Trinidadian so what does that make me, Ah Trini. My parents raised me to learn about my culture, to love my culture and to participate in as many Trinidadian activities as I can. And for people to come up to me acting like what I'm doing is wrong beacuse I was born in the US is IGNORANT! There are Chinese - Americans, Italian-Americans, Irish Americans, Hispanic-Americans the list goes on and on. Why not West Indian-Americans. Why can't we live OUR culture in peace without some ignorant people who want to tell us all kind a ting about us not being West Indian. Who do you think is keeping the parades, steelbands, and other aspects of the culture afloat in the States? If my parents haven't stopped me loving and appreicating my culture to the point of reading "Rituals of Power and Rebellion" By HOllis "Chalkdust" Liverpool. (see I'm not just going to fetes) and participating in other talks, Carnivals, fetes, etc... Why should the IGNORANT people stop me from loving my culture. And you know what else. Whatever children God bless me with in the future will learn about thier Trinidad and Tobago culture too!
"If u put a small price on ur value.. rest assure that the world wont raise ur price! Love U 2day!" ~ Rev. Run "If you keep believing in yourself and seek enthusiasm inside your soul, things will get simpler, more spontaneous." ~Paulo Coelho "Knowledge is like the wind, once you obtain it, you can go anywhere." ~Yellow Hare(Native-American Chief) Be the kind of woman that when your feet hit the floor each morning the devil says: "Oh Crap, She's up!"
Credits: 169
Hey, I agree with you. keep to your culture. If you drop your West Indian culture and totally adopt the non-culture life of the US, you will be at a total loss. People will talk let dem talk. I have that same problem sometimes because I came to the US to attend College and because of my charisma, style, self confidence they expect me to throw away all that juicy westindian culture to suit them. Well I aint changing. I cant live without carnival, I cant live without soca, so it aint happening. And neither should u to please them.
No.1#
Credits: 127
WE R WHO WE R, AND THAT IS HOW IT IS, AND I WOULD NOT CHANGE THAT FOR THE WORLD!!! YUH ALL DONT C THE CHINESE GIVING UP THEIR CHOW-MEIN SATAY OR WHAEVER, WHY SOULD WE.
I LOVE MEH MUSIC! I LOVE MEH FOOD! I LOVE MEH COUNTRY! I LOVE MEH CULTURE! ANYONE DONT LIKE IT, TEK THIS... ![]() |
Credits: 192
Alyuh on the right path! I think people who try to deny us our culture is only do that to get on our nerves. Later with all of them the most important thing is that WE know who we are and they can't take our culture, our being, the blood that flows through our veins away from us. According to Machal what dey say dey say!! We have the best of both worlds!:devil1 :devil1 :devil1
KingBea....
Credits: 1,784
Cimo2 Stands and up....
...applauds you and your passage yankee gyual,no jus jokes.I agree with you.You are a product of both cultures,and let me tell you that if more of allyah acted like you de culture would fly .I appreciate you honest declaration.Big ups trini gyual.
Credits: 2,408
Re: West Indian - American
Hot fuh so
Credits: 7,169
I AGREE WITH YOU BECAUSE I WAS BORN IN BROOKLYN MYSELF AND I DONT SOUND OR ACT LIKE AH TYPICAL YANKEE.. YOU WOULD THINK I JUSS COME UP FROM TRINI..DOES GO TO ALL DEM FETES AND DEM.. PLAYIN MAS ALL KINDA TING. I AM GLAD MY FAMILY MADE ME LOVE MY CULTURE WITHOUT WEST INDIANS DE STATES WILL BE LOST.. EH KNOW BOUT SOCA.. STEELPAN AND ETC..I LOVE MY CULTURE... TRINI 2 DE BONE!!
Steuuuupssss!
Credits: 6,253
Well this is one that does always get me going. Continue to fly allyuh trini flags eh!
Natural Presence
Credits: 124
It's this statement that I disagree with...... "non-culture life of the US". The US is a multicultural mix of peoples and activities.... the exposure to all of that helps to shape who you are...... Some times what may sound like an ignorant or dumb question is sometimes just one out of curiosity......lord knows, I have asked my Trinidadian friend some stupid questions.....he laughs at me like I am telling jokes...but then he explains things to me.... |
Credits: 305
You keep on doing you, Trini is part of your culture and you recognize that. Just like you recognize you American is part of your culture too. In all actuallity you are just just giving props to where you and your ancestors came from and aint nothing wrong with that.