MLO, CTA 4 LIFE
Credits: 1,740
West Fueled Terror
LONDON, England (CNN) -- London Mayor Ken Livingstone has said that Western "double standards" in the Middle East have contributed to the growth of Islamic extremism and terrorist groups such as al Qaeda.
Livingstone told BBC radio on Wednesday that Western intervention in the Middle East since the end of World War I had been motivated by a desire to control the flow of oil. While condemning suicide bombings, Livingstone indicated that he recognized the conditions that had led Palestinians to take that route in Israel. "Under foreign occupation and denied a right to vote, denied the right to run your own affairs ... I suspect that if it had happened here in England we would have produced a lot of suicide bombers ourselves," said Livingstone. "But I don't just denounce suicide bombers. I denounce those governments which use indiscriminate slaughter to advance their foreign policy." Livingstone's comments were rejected by Downing Street, which said that British Prime Minister Tony Blair and Livingstone had "different views of the world." "Equally, however, we recognize that Ken Livingstone has provided, as an elected official in London, a lead to the people of London at this tragic time -- at the same time as he expresses views which we fundamentally disagree with," a spokesman told the UK's Press Association. Blair said on Wednesday he was considering calling a global conference to discuss ways of tackling Islamic extremism following the July 7 London bombings which killed 56 people and injured hundreds more. |
steups...
Credits: 16,331
That is an interesting view that I've had for a while. I don't agree with their approach, but I understand their convictions...however...it causes one to ask the following:
There is always push back when a view or way of life is forced on you (especially when it is different from your own). This has been true in all world conflicts except on one continent - Africa. There has always been internal stife in Africa, yet when the Dutch, Portuguese, Spainish and other influences came it, there was no pushback. I know the answer...but I'll wait for comments before I post it. |
Credits: 16,205
I honestly applaud the mayor for going against the grain and saying something about governments that strong arm thier foriegn policy on others by any means necessary.
Credits: 1,661
about time
At least their are a few from "with in" that are willing to show some courage and directly state the facts about the nature of western foreign policy. |
Credits: 21,821
The Mayor of London did not go far enough in his dissertation.
HE did not NAME NAMES. He Failed to mention that this "Modern Day Jihad" was unheard of-------UNTIL----- ----the Jimmy Carter Administration along with his National Security adviser Zebignew Brezinski................began to MOBILIZE Muslims from ALL OVER THE WORLD................to go into Afghanistan to fight the Soviet Union. And GUESS WHAT-------Today you have what the CIA calls a BLOW BACK in THEIR FACES from these same ISLAMIC INDEPENDENCE ORGANIZATIONS that THEY MOBILIZED AND TRAINED. --------It was US President Jimmy Carter (yes that Silly Azz Grinning House Building Peanut Farmer)-----who visited Iran in 1979 and said that the Shah of Iran was responsible for STABILITY in the Area---------which pushed the Iranian People's button and CAUSED the Rise in Popularity of Ayatollah Khomeni and EVERTHING that Trickled Down thereafter. Last edited by marabunta; 07-21-2005 at 12:46 PM.. |
Wastin Time
Credits: 3,334
LOL let the man walk crawl before he walk nah I'm sure the queen had his head already lol |
Credits: 5,078
"There is always push back when a view or way of life is forced on you (especially when it is different from your own). This has been true in all world conflicts except on one continent - Africa. There has always been internal stife in Africa, yet when the Dutch, Portuguese, Spainish and other influences came it, there was no pushback."
Not quite sure what you meant here, wanna explain? |

At least their are a few from "with in" that are willing to show some courage and directly state the facts about the nature of western foreign policy.