Credits: 305
War on Terrorism
I'm currently deployed in Iraq, serving in Operation Iraqi Freedom (OIF) and even though Pres. Bush declared the war over several months ago, day after day my fellow comrades die. It is really getting out of hand. And the question still remains. " Why are we still in Iraq"?We did our part. The Iraqi's have control over Iraq, but yet still there are many units out here with no mission. Just soldier after soldier dying and the question still remains the same "Why are we still in Iraq"?
Hey Dana, sis i hope you remain safe and make it home soon. i wrote this a few nights ago when i was particularly jacked up over this whole thing....wasn't going to post it but seeing what you wrote i thought i'd go ahead. Guidance!
A part of me dies when i imagine their cries Those eastern babies covered in blood, with no one to sooth them and mothers who wish they could Those soldiers…boots with a thud, the eagle as their emblem, disciplined or scared into believing they should They too are dying and families everywhere are grieving There is tragedy in Iraq but until the job is done we can’t turn back Yeah, a part of me dies, when we believe their lies Saddam was a monster and we were in danger If this wasn’t so painful ah wouldda dead wid laughter But the sun done set on one empire and it will surely set on another We may falter, we may waiver but the ancestors will help us remember Not too long ago it was we; today it’s our brown brother Don’t think i’m crazy, the picture’s not that hazy When some sistah souljahs return they’ll be lucky to find a job driving miss daisy Wait…did i say Saddam? i meant Osama…or was it his brother? You get the picture, it doesn’t really matter They were coming to kill us, they had to bite the dust They may pray to Allah now, but in our god they will trust Wait, who’s the they of which you speak? What, don’t you listen…or is it truth you seek? Oil, like gold, does truly glitter, so in we go…with our guns and bombs to make human litter Precision…Guided…Weaponry…are some of the words you utter, gone are the days of the daisy cutter But the deception didn’t only happen in Panama and on the worst of days i wish i could join Myrtle Nelson, my granmama A part of me cries as another missile flies Without reading or hearing or wanting to, a part of me knows that fear and hatred, will often lead to blows But if you think for a moment that the earth simply shook and that it all began on that day in September Then seek hypnosis or read a book but do what you must so that you will remember We had to do something; we couldn’t sit back and watch Something should be done, i agree, but take a look at this here catch The debt that you forced, on countries coerced to accept their plight, because of your military might that could have been a start, it would have been smart But you bombed and you shot and hell got hot Do you now feel safe or did you simply save face? That the cycle of violence will make fertile lands barren, is a theory that’s been proven again and again and again Still, like a stubborn child you choose instead, to add to the list of the dead dead dead All life is precious; of that there should be no doubt, but living in these united states, one couldn’t tell that from the body count Hundreds of american soldiers get killed…Rumsfeld gets grilled Thousands of Iraqis pass away…Bush may get re-elected anyway We are liberating the people of Iraq and that’s all that matters, who really cares if one or a few thousand bodies end up in tatters As the first bombs fell i could almost hear the collective yell… “Give us free? You musbe think we mad, f uck what yuh heard in de Amistad!” Biblical location…death and destruction The air feels thick; a part of me feels sick Echoing Selassie, Bob sang, ”Until the philosophy, which holds one race…” How true their words rang, the drama unfolds and hypocrisy shows its ugly face White supremacy and capitalism together…the ultimate killer Oh Marvin mih bredren…i too wanna holler! Not just big words in books nor relegated to history, colonialism & imperialism are real, and in the name of democracy, they blame and maim and kill and steal But come on people, you know the deal, fear is the real enemy and greed is on an even keel We must aim higher and insist on a brighter future With love in our hearts and hope our inspiration, we owe it to each other to better this global situation What exactly is to be done, i won’t pretend to know and i have a sinking feeling that the days ahead will be dread Regardless of the source of strength, our resolve must grow Find the courage to resist and refuse to be misled. A part of me dies… Inside my heart sighs… All is not lost, the sun will rise. Dedicated to Trina. Stand firm mi sistren…and thanks! |
Credits: 2,473
Re: War on Terrorism
I WOULD LIKE TO SPEAK MORE ON THE POLITICS OF THIS WAR BUT I DON'T WANT TO GET YOU IN TROUBLE. THERE IS SO MUCH INFORMATION ABOUT THIS WHOLE WAR SITUATION THAT IS UNKNOWN TO THE AMERICAN PUBLIC. I WILL PRAY FOR YOU AND YOUR COMRADS EVERYDAY AND HOPE THAT YOU ALL CAN GET THROUGH THIS WAR UNHARMED. ITS A REAL DAMN SHAME AND SO DISGRACEFUL THAT YOU GUYS HAVE TO PUT YOUR LIVES ON THE LINE CAUSE SOME EXTREMELY GREEDY SOCIOPATHS COULD NEVER BE SATISFIED WITH ALL THE MONEY AND POWER THAT THEY ALREADY HAVE. |
Stay well and stay safe. You are there because Mr Bush refuses to admit his mistake. Americans should have been out of Iraq a long time ago. Maybe not there in the first place but that is beside the point. While Americans continue to die without purpose, he continues to play dirty politics here at home. A sad state of affairs but we will say a prayer for you and your comrades. God Bless. |
Spice Isle Style
Credits: 292
Dana,
all I have to say is ,..........pray hard and never give up hope......It angers me everyday to see the American Troops still in Iraq,,,,and more and more troops are going to Iraq.......... I will pray for you and just stay strong.......being the Strong West Indian You are........... |
Credits: 41,523
Yes Solidarity that is a beautiful poem
Dana you and your fellow soldiers are in my prayers. I have a very good friend stationed over there and every time I hear news from Iraq I hold my breath and pray I don't hear his name called. He's like a brother to me and it saddens me to know our people are still over there. So stay safe and keep the faith. :angel1
"If u put a small price on ur value.. rest assure that the world wont raise ur price! Love U 2day!" ~ Rev. Run "If you keep believing in yourself and seek enthusiasm inside your soul, things will get simpler, more spontaneous." ~Paulo Coelho "Knowledge is like the wind, once you obtain it, you can go anywhere." ~Yellow Hare(Native-American Chief) Be the kind of woman that when your feet hit the floor each morning the devil says: "Oh Crap, She's up!"
amp & shan - thanks. you know, i'm far from being a poet but this (and far too many other things to list) really has me thinkin and at times the weight of it all gets extremly heavy. writing that was actually pretty therapeutic...maybe i'll try some more.
Credits: 5,078
Dana, as a fellow person in uniform, I do feel for you and support your efforts to do your duty.
At the same time I must state clearly that I consider Bush as a war criminal and a murderer of the lowest order. He has shamelessly violated and ignored the same international laws that he and his kind insist other countries obey simply because this time it does not suit their purposes. Now this is not to say that other US presidents have not done so; in fact, the history of the US going back the last 50 years alone shows that every administration has been meddling and subverting other countries social, economic and political affairs, often violently (this is why when John F Kennedy was assassinated, Malcolm X quite correctly called it “chickens coming home to roost”. I mean, I have no love for Saddam and his minions, but let’s put things in their correct perspective: Bush’s much touted “War on Terror” is nothing but a farce and a smokescreen for the aggressive advancement of US geo-politics under the guise of “spreading democracy“, and “free market economies“, “globalisation“ and so on. Imperialism by any other name is just as dirty. The Iraqi people, even those who welcomed the overthrow of Saddam, made it clear from the outset that they wanted the US to leave and let the Iraqi people decide for themselves what and who they wanted to govern them (now may I point out that as brutal Saddam was, he WAS re-elected to office). Now they are realising that their “liberation” was a whole charade so that the multinational corporations could get their hands on the oil and other mineral resources of Iraq (and Africa, let it be known). They are seeing for themselves the paternalistic attitude that the average US citizen exudes given the fact that as far as they are concerned the rest of the world outside their shores (which they know little about anyway) are a bunch of benighted people who need the parental guidance of the benevolent US. How little have things changed when that contemptuous attitude was held by Europe and especially Britain during the 18th and 19th century. The US cannot pull out of Iraq now because to do so would be to lose face. Anyone with a shred of common sense knows that the US should not have invaded, that the pretext was a bunch of clumsy lies and that now those lies have become embarrassingly obvious. This rut that Uncle Sam has found himself in is a result of that ignorance of other cultures; that deeply held belief in the rightness of the “American Way”; the blustering way the US imposes itself upon other people; the legacy of violence and corruption that characterises the US’s ousting of legitimate leaders and the installing of corrupt, despotic leaders whenever it suited its own interests --and that includes Saddam Hussein himself as well as Usama bin Laden. And it goes without saying that people like you are always the ones who are the pawns in this game. It is you who must clean up their mess, just as it has always been for over 100 years be it Cuba, WWI& II, Korea, Vietnam, Somalia and so on. |
daweh
Credits: 210
dana i hope u return home safe an unharmed so do i hope that for everyone. ananci u say sadam was re elected there is no election in a dictator ship.if people are so upset with george bush elect another president an the next president will pull all the troops out of iraq an all over the world then the terrorists wont do anymore bombings nowhere they will just be happy
there are two definitions of a jihad go look them up read about them carefully then think . its not a perfect world out there . |
daweh
Credits: 210
Cover Girl
Credits: 3,207
Hope you can come home soon and we love you guys. I agree that you guys should be able to come home now but hang in there and I'll keep you guys in my prays as well.
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered. |
sweeter than honey
Credits: 248
I hear it from my sister when evr she can get through to call or email me. Every time i hear a soldier was killed I freeze up, I break down and cry and talk my self out of panicing and praying my phone don't ring, I have already lost two good friends out there and there seems to be no end in sight. But keep faith that you and the others will be home safely and soon, keep praying and keep watchful. I know the days are long and hard and seem like they will never end but keep faith, God has a bigger plan which we cannot comprehend. Soldier like you were taught and never lose hope, never give into dispair..................... My heart, my prayers and my Love is with you, with my sister and my other commrades out there. Be strong.:angel1 |