Vincy member
Credits: 25
Vincy Elections coming soon
The leader of the Opposition NDP, Arnim Eustace, after learning the governing ULP has secured financing for an International Airport, went to meet the residents of Argyle the prospective site for the airport and ask not to vacate their homes...he will finance their opposition all the way to the Privy Council....Now, this is from a man who wants to be Prime Minister....he doesn't know about COMPULSORY ACQUISITION.....
Last edited by General Trees; 08-15-2005 at 09:11 PM.. |
Credits: 24,361
Credits: 140,579
Then again, from the LOOKS at the POOR job he did as ADVISOR; I guess this is just a CONTINUATION of his INEPT advisory practice. Hopefully the RESIDENTS of ARGYLE would do the right thing by not LISTEN to this ANGRY opposition leader. |
i still don't think that we need an international airport. a shuttle from BIM and tax raffles and the other airlines for taking people straight to the grenadines
however Arhnim hasn't been sounding like PM material for years, because of the way he goes about things, and the people he has around him (like Lynch) that just make him seem like a dod. mr eustace has ample skill, training and experience in finaance, but if he really wants to win an election this is so the wrong way to go about it. |
afterdark
Credits: 3,119
looking at the other islands that have tried it it really hasn't worked well, St.Lucia ,Grenada etc. It will be more expensive for the airlines fuel what not, that means higher ticket prices and allyuh done know what tickets are like. BIM already has an airport it's in close proximity, why do we need more concrete in SVG?Fix the airport that we have , and have a shuttle from BIM or Antigua, so you know you have an hour tops in BIM. Charge the charter flights(vincy and regional) a tax for flying straight into the grenadines. why do you think we need one? i don't find the stop in BIM all that harassing, and if i knew that i wouldn't be there 5 hours i would find it even less irritating |
afterdark
Credits: 3,119
Vincy member
Good arguments ppl....
We cannot continue to exist as we are presently..... It is practically impossible to get to SVG in less that 8 hours....we are not that far away....we should be able to get home in 1/2 that time..... |
Credits: 24,361
the international airport is still a critical issue in dominica we've been discussing it for over 20 years now
Vincy member
With bananas on the decline, SVG and Dominica with that fertile soil need to export more agricultural based products...most of these items are perishable, hence good international access to these countries is very important for the above to happen.
Stolen from Africa
Credits: 249
How could you say Arnhim is a DUNCE? He is an Economist. If you said he was a sorry excuse for a leader, that I will agree with. But he is certainly not a dunce. |
I guess some of us are MISSING the BIG picture here. St. Vincent and the Grenadines cannot SURVIVE in a COMPETITIVE GLOBAL ECONOMY, especially with the CSME and FTAA becoming a REALITY without AIR ACCESS on the LEVEL of an INTERNATIONAL Airport.
Why do you THINK St. Vincent and the Grenadines was not CHOSEN as one of the VENUES for the World Cup Cricket Test matches? A LACK of an INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT was GIVEN as one of the MAIN reasons. It is clear that we're LACKING on the infrastructural front to compete with the other islands in the region, and globally as well. St. Vincent and the Grenadines cannot base their VISION for the DEVELOPMENT of the NATION on what is taking place at the airports in St. Lucia and Grenada. If we had MAINTAINED the PRACTICE of the past GOVERNMENT, then SVG would remain the LAUGHING STOCK of the REGION, especially when you look at some of the DECISIONS made by Mitchell and Eustace. So on with STRONG leadership…. on with BOLD decisions…on with the education revolution…. on with the cross-country road…on with LEARNING Resource Centres in every constituency…on with diversifying the agricultural sector…. on with building a strong tourism sector…. on with HOTEL development…on with STRONG governance…. but most IMPORTANTTLY on with BUILDING the INTERNATIONAL Airport. If these and many others do not take PLACE, SVG will ABSOLUTELY get LEFT behind in this CHANGING world of OURS. |