Old 08-10-2006, 02:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Alliouagana Garveyite

Credits: 2,211
Question India ban COKE & PEPSI

http://www.infowars.com/articles/sci...coke_pepsi.htm

Several states ban Coke and Pepsi

NDTV | August 6 2006

After an environmental group claimed that Pepsi and Coke are contaminated with pesticides more and more states are banning the colas.

Today, the Gujarat University banned the drinks in campus of over over 600 colleges and 1000 schools. The Rajasthan Assembly has also stopped sales in their canteen.

The Madhya Pradesh government has said no more cold drinks in government offices and education institutions.

"We will ban sale of colas in canteens at government offices and educational institutes," said MP Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

Orders on this will be issued soon, he said.

After the NGO Centre for Science and Environment (CSE) claimed to have found unacceptable levels of pesticide residues in 11 soft drinks, some Lok Sabha MPs have sought a nation-wide ban on the sale of the beverages.

CSE's claimed has been refuted by soft drink majors Pepsi and Coca-Cola. The controversy also sparked off protests by various political parties across the state.

Gujarat follows

The Gujarat University also banned the sale of Pepsi and Coca Cola with immediate effect in view of allegations that they contain high pesticide levels.

"Sale of Pepsi and Coca-Cola beverages in all colleges affiliated to the Gujarat University has been banned," said Parimal Trivedi, Vice Chancellor.

Some 250 colleges in central and north Gujarat are affiliated to the varsity.

In Kerala also the Left has asked the government.

In Amritsar, Punjab, Health department officials raided a local plant of soft drink major Pepsico and seized 1,500 crates for random sample testing.

Lok Sabha MPs have said that 11 drinks sold by the two companies contained unacceptable doses of pesticide. (With PTI inputs)

ital is VITAL
Educate our people to free our minds and develop our consciousness

Mwongozi Cudjoe (Chedmond Browne)
Chairman of Free Montserrat United Movement

Last edited by soca_souljah; 08-10-2006 at 03:03 PM..
Old 08-10-2006, 02:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Credits: 37,843
Your title rell misleadin, or is it that I doh kno bout these stated
Old 08-10-2006, 02:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Alliouagana Garveyite

Credits: 2,211
Originally Posted by Optimus Prime
Your title rell misleadin, or is it that I doh kno bout these stated
I CORRECTED IT ... but read the bold lines also
Educate our people to free our minds and develop our consciousness

Mwongozi Cudjoe (Chedmond Browne)
Chairman of Free Montserrat United Movement
Old 08-10-2006, 02:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,331
I think this is in India only right now...