Old 03-07-2006, 10:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fam Congo

Credits: 13,925
tsunami and the caribbean

seeing what happened in South east Asia some yrs ago, i wonder if the caribbean islands have some kind of protection to warn the people of a possible tsunami. in soca chat or carnival central i believed i read something about trinidad building a stand for carnival that would cost close to 1 billion. i understand how important carnival but i think we should learn from what happened in Asia.
Old 03-07-2006, 10:20 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 14,196
cyah plan fuh ting dat eh really happen yet. we know how much money goin fuh de carnival ting...but nobody knows how much money we have set aside in case of emergency
Old 03-07-2006, 10:21 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 6,713
http://usinfo.state.gov/gi/Archive/2...09-165294.html

Google is your friend
Old 03-07-2006, 10:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Fam Congo

no, i meant some kind of research facility that could predict if and when they can happen.

Originally Posted by sharkbait
cyah plan fuh ting dat eh really happen yet. we know how much money goin fuh de carnival ting...but nobody knows how much money we have set aside in case of emergency
Old 03-07-2006, 10:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Fam Congo

thank you.

Originally Posted by trinidarkie
Old 03-07-2006, 10:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Alpha Male

Credits: 10,010
Originally Posted by soraya
no, i meant some kind of research facility that could predict if and when they can happen.
I learned on one of them science Channels that Animals predicted the Tsunami hitting before it happened. There are reports about ELephants and other live stock leaving the coast and acting funny before the Tsunami hit , while people couldnt even figure out its going to happen.
Old 03-07-2006, 10:29 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 14,196
Originally Posted by Trinadian
I learned on one of them science Channels that Animals predicted the Tsunami hitting before it happened. There are reports about ELephants and other live stock leaving the coast and acting funny before the Tsunami hit , while people couldnt even figure out its going to happen.
ok, well i suggest you go to trinidad and monitor the movement of all de pothong and manicoo. if too much start to move west, let us know
Old 03-07-2006, 10:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Fam Congo

lol, bait, you are such an A$$

ok, well i suggest you go to trinidad and monitor the movement of all de pothong and manicoo. if too much start to move west, let us know
Old 03-07-2006, 10:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Closet Exhibitionist

Credits: 3,304
something else!!
Old 03-07-2006, 10:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 46,501
lol..o lawdddd....funniest quote of the night hands down
Old 03-07-2006, 10:59 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 21,679
It's like This:

If a Tsunami hits the Caribbean people who not living in the Hills will drown like rats.........

.........let's take Trinidad for example:

After a Tsunami is LAVENTILLE RULING T&T!!!!!!!
Old 03-07-2006, 11:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 46,501
Originally Posted by marabunta
It's like This:

If a Tsunami hits the Caribbean people who not living in the Hills will drown like rats.........

.........let's take Trinidad for example:

After a Tsunami is LAVENTILLE RULING T&T!!!!!!!
YUH DAMN RITE!! my all my family will be safe and sound..thank good for laventille yes...well laventille ain't the only hill it have u kno
Old 03-07-2006, 11:56 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 803
Ah know dis thread bout tsunami but since we talkin bout natural disasters I was just wondering if Trinidad has ever had those kind of earthquakes like Pakistan dem with high mortality rates or if y'all just have lil shakes here and there and das it.
Old 03-08-2006, 12:03 AM   #14 (permalink)
Alpha Male

Credits: 10,010
DIdnt you read what i said???? I never said "I" monitored animal behavior ......
Old 03-08-2006, 01:41 AM   #15 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Credits: 711
Canary Islands Earthquake Could Trigger Monster Tsunami

tsunami

The eruption of a volcano in the Canary Islands could trigger a ''mega-tsunami'' that would devastate Atlantic coastlines with waves as high as 330 feet, scientists said on Wednesday.

They said an eruption of the Cumbre Vieja volcano on La Palma, part of the Spanish island chain off West Africa, was likely to cause a massive chunk of rock to break off, crashing into the sea and kicking up huge walls of water higher than any other in recorded history.

The tsunami would be capable of traveling huge distances at up to 500 miles an hour, the scientists said in a research paper to be published in September's Geophysical Research Letters.

Simon Day, of the Benfield Greig Hazard Research Centre at the University College of London, said that as the volcano was not erupting at present, the short-term and medium-term risks were ''negligible.''

But Cumbre Vieja should be monitored closely for any signs of activity so that emergency services could plan an effective response, he said.

''Eruptions of Cumbre Vieja occur at intervals of decades to a century or so and there may be a number of eruptions before its collapse,'' said Day, who collaborated on the research with Steven Ward of the University of California.

''Although the year-to-year probability of a collapse is therefore low, the resulting tsunami would be a major disaster with indirect effects around the world.''

WEST SAHARA TO BEAR BRUNT

The effects would spread north, west and south of the Canaries, with the west Sahara bearing the worst of the wave's energy.

The energy released by the collapse would be equal to the electricity consumption of the entire United States in half a year.

Immediately after the landslide, a dome of water 900 meters (3,000 feet high) and tens of miles wide would form, only to collapse and rebound.

As the landslide rubble moved deeper under water, a tsunami would develop. Within 10 minutes, the tsunami would have moved a distance of almost 155 miles.

On the west Saharan shore, waves would probably reach heights of 330 feet.

Florida and the Caribbean, the final north Atlantic destinations to be affected by the tsunami, would have to brace themselves for 165 foot waves some eight to nine hours after the landslide.

Wave heights toward Europe would be smaller, but substantial waves would hit the coasts of Britain, Spain, Portugal and France.

The research paper estimated water would penetrate several miles inland and that the devastation would cause trillions of dollars in damage.

Would make last year's tsunamis look small