The True Cost of Bling Bling
Peoples,
In the Caribbean, as is the case in the U.S., the flagrant display of diamonds is fast becoming a marker of wealth and social status for some groups of Black people. While everyone definitely has the right to do what they please with their property, I'm wondering if in addition to being relieved of their cash, whether they were infomed that the diamond industry is almost solely responsible for the destabalization of many African countries, and more importantly, the deaths of hundreds of thousands if not millions, of African men, women, and children of all ages. Or, that the company which holds a monopoly on the global diamond industry, pays a fraction of one percent of the retail cost of each stone to the person who literally, inhaled and swallowed dirt to find it. So are diamonds truely anybody' best friend? Wha allyuh tink? |
xtremeintl.com
Credits: 11,419
Everybody likes nice things, but I think it is true that we don't pay nearly enough attention to both how those goods were made and also what kind of message they are sending. I am not here to judge anyway, but it's never been me to have things like diamonds or any kind of gaudy, flashy jewelry, I don't really understand how that makes a person feel good. It just seems completely unnecessary, showy, and without real benefit to you. Again, I'm not judging, I just don't understand the lure of it, that's all. But I understand that people are different, that this just doesnt' float my boat.
But, like u said, when u add in that we're feeding an industry that makes fat on other people's backs, and keeps wealth in the owners and not the producers, it's doubly hard to understand the desire. |
Credits: 4,465
Warrentrini I understand:
I guess when one doesn't feel the exact effects of how these products are developed, they almost don't care!! It's like clothes, we wear them sometimes not even thinking the slightest bit how they are made or how diamonds are collected out of the mine fields, or who's blood, sweat, n' tears were put into it! Like diamonds.. I personally read articles, saw pictures, and it hit home for the people who was effected by the industry....... But, this is what I don't understand, let's say I want to support by protesting the diamond industry by NOT purchasing diamonds , as quoted by mi friend Cimo, "IT LEAVES ONE DIAMOND FOR THE NEXT PERSON TO BUY!" hmmmm? Last edited by Empressdududahlin; 12-12-2003 at 02:14 AM.. |
Credits: 1,091
The issue is not in whether or not you buy diamonds, but you should do your research.
There is something out there called CONFLICT DIAMONDS which a lot of people don't know about, or enquire as to where the diamonds come from before they buy. Maybe Joe Blow buying at MACY'S can't ascertain where the diamonds are coming from. But the celebrities who go to Jacob I'm sure they can do a little research to make sure they are buying socially conscious stones. |