Old 05-14-2003, 03:00 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 41,529
Question Tourism Industry...

My mom and I were watching the Travel Channel last Saturday and they had a show "the top 10 Caribbean beaches" When they got to Negril they said that Negril wasn't always this busy, it was a sea side villiage without much devlopment until a hippie from the US came to Jamaica, fell in love with the Negril area and started the tourism industry (so to speak) My mom and I was in shock. We were both thinking that "you (travel channel) mean to tell us that the Jamaican tourism industry was started by an American Hippie???"

Judging from the activities and the lack of "stuff" indicative of the Jamaican culture in Hedo 3 (I won the trip last year, I wouldn't have gone there on my own dollar) I can see that maybe it was "started" by a Hippie from the States (i.e. a disco with NO caribbean music whatsoever). Anyway Jamaican massive CORRECT me if my mom and I heard wrong.

If this was true as we heard it, why can't the native islanders take care in Promoting our own resources and the beauty of our islands.

It was a thought that sprung in my from MBR's post.

Old 05-14-2003, 03:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
look meh!

Credits: 1,123
I could be wrong, but wasn't Sandals the first of resorts to hit there? And isn't that Jamaican owned? I could be wrong.
Old 05-14-2003, 03:12 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally posted by Socaboy
I could be wrong, but wasn't Sandals the first of resorts to hit there? And isn't that Jamaican owned? I could be wrong.
I thought Sandals was the first and Jamaican owned too. But I think they were referring to the chain that Hedo 2 belongs to. Anyway, Moms and were confused. So I wanted to bring that up.

Old 05-14-2003, 09:58 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,898
Sandals is separate from Hedonism which is part of SuperClubs I think. Isn't Sandals run under the same as Air Jamaica? I thought I was told that once a long time ago.
Old 05-15-2003, 12:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
I 1 2 B D 1 2 4 Q

Credits: 646
My major is Hotel and Resort Management.......listen......Jamaica don't own shite. ..............'People' taking over.

Take Tobago for instance.......half the country is owned by Germans and the French. If we don't stand storng it will all slip away.
I will try hard the bring it all back.
Old 05-15-2003, 12:22 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 2,403
Originally posted by The Silk Worm
My major is Hotel and Resort Management.......listen......Jamaica don't own shite. ..............'People' taking over.

Take Tobago for instance.......half the country is owned by Germans and the French. If we don't stand storng it will all slip away.
I will try hard the bring it all back.
dais is rell truth yuh speaking because ah know fuh a fact germans have a lil too much in tobago, and some of dem have dem eye on de north coast of trinidad. all them investors jamaica have, stuepps. it soley eh run by a yard. de yard and dem may have created or developed the idea but by the time investors and developers geh a hol' de yard share of de investment does decrease. it's all about whoevah ha de money
Old 05-15-2003, 12:25 AM   #7 (permalink)

it's just time fuh tnt tuh spead up de process and mek demself known, de island too beautiful fuh it not tuh be shared. maybe if it happens ah still wont ha tuh ha ppl ask meh in 2k3 where is trinidad?
Old 05-15-2003, 12:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
I 1 2 B D 1 2 4 Q

Credits: 646
The North Coast too?????? oh shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii.............
We have to do something fast......
We have to get big by soca.....then everthing else will follow
Old 05-15-2003, 12:34 AM   #9 (permalink)

ah nearly dead when ah read that online dat dem germans say land too nice up blanchissuese and las cuevas, and how plenty ah dem plannin tuh buy up de land buh ah say look dem nearly own tobago, not in trinidad atall.:
Old 05-15-2003, 12:35 AM   #10 (permalink)

Originally posted by The Silk Worm

We have to get big by soca.....then everthing else will follow
dais true
Old 05-15-2003, 02:23 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally posted by deoriginalrudeboy
dais is rell truth yuh speaking because ah know fuh a fact germans have a lil too much in tobago, and some of dem have dem eye on de north coast of trinidad. all them investors jamaica have, stuepps. it soley eh run by a yard. de yard and dem may have created or developed the idea but by the time investors and developers geh a hol' de yard share of de investment does decrease. it's all about whoevah ha de money
But didn't the government put a stop to the Germans and whoever buying up the land? Someone told me they did.

Old 06-03-2003, 04:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Steuuuupssss!

Credits: 6,239
Silk Worm, half of Tobago is not owned by the germans and french, but I see your point. The government of T+T sells land but strictly to citizens of Trinidad and Tobago . So who selling out land to foreigners??? LOCALS. Mek you bed....lay down so!

And the next point. I have been to Germany and France at least 20 times, you will dead to know the amount of Trinbagonians sitting down on they strong and fit lazy backside letting the German government mind them! Itīs a fact.
Old 06-03-2003, 07:22 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 5,627
Originally posted by tehressa
Silk Worm, half of Tobago is not owned by the germans and french, but I see your point. The government of T+T sells land but strictly to citizens of Trinidad and Tobago . So who selling out land to foreigners??? LOCALS. Mek you bed....lay down so!

And the next point. I have been to Germany and France at least 20 times, you will dead to know the amount of Trinbagonians sitting down on they strong and fit lazy backside letting the German government mind them! Itīs a fact.
Thanks for saying that mama... The amount of germans owning land in Tobago is not even a quarter of land owners... The fact is the "locals" are looking for fast wads of money and need to think what repercussions that can lead to... but as they did with the regulations to help this NOT happen ... these "germans" now have to live in Tobago for a certain amount of years b4 they can apply to purchase land....
Old 06-03-2003, 07:28 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 2,706
To get back to the question... Hedo is owned by super clubs but it used to be another company whose name escapes me now.

Sandals and 51% of Air Jamaica is owned by another company whose main shareholder is Butch Stewart.

As for your experience at Hedo... remember JA is marketed to mostly americans, who are some of the most closed minded people on earth. Therefore they cater to them in food and entertainment.
Old 06-04-2003, 01:25 AM   #15 (permalink)
poca-old

i think that the reason small island cannot manage their tourism is the fact it cost a lot in marketing, and most islanders don't have that kind of money to invest.