Old 04-24-2001, 05:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
smaddy bad (Guest)

TOO MUCH SOCA

why is it that all these djs here in toronto play soca 365 days a year? if new soca came out every week the way dancehall and reggae does,then i could understand it but this is not the case so why the repetition? is it that they enjoy subjecting us to the same music week after week? a simple reply would be "if you dont like the music then don't go to the jams" i know this but where else can a young, single trini guy like myself meet trini girls?
geez man understand that soca should only be played from september to february and after easter that is supposed to stop!
Old 04-26-2001, 12:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
GIO d POWDER BOI

0TOO MUCH SOCA ...NEVER

the problem is not to much soca, is DJ's that dont know how to mix up stuff.

As a trini you shouldnt be pongin' yuh people juss cuz they want to push the culture all year round, but at the same time hearing the same sh*T get annoying, no matter what kind of music(I sick of this chi chi man crap about now).

There is plenty of soca out there to be played but alas DJ's play what they consider to be "safe"(the commercial chunes that a DJ knows he wont take licks for). Maybe if they take some risks and take on their roles as trendsetters a little bit better. Play some of those chunes on albums that dont play on the radio, see what will happen..remix it, put some cow bells in the back nah.......?...nothing a riddim section cant do.

And question boy,..how fun would soca be in Toronto if soca was played from nov to feb?????? remember there is a reason why soca is played that way in trini(although people forget) and living in TO gives a totally different cultural significance to soca & carnival.

Is LOVE & TINGS

From a Yout'in Brooklyn about to study some chemistry
Old 06-27-2001, 06:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
DE FRACKIN SOUTH KING

Credits: 244
RE: 0TOO MUCH SOCA ...NEVER

Smaddy, you hold in you the true problem of why our culture don't rise. It have too many ignorant trinis like you that would rather support another man's culture than your own. I am most happy to hear that the DJs up there play soca so much but yeah, he probably don't know how to mix it up that well.
As for your comment about Soca only only being a September to Febuary thing. I have one question. Is Reggae and Hip hop a seasonal thing, don't they both hold a uniqe culture to the music, doesn't Soca hold a distinct culture?
I think you need to return to the mother land and take a long journey, re-learn your beautiful culture love it and support it, stop the ignorance.

Respect.
Old 07-03-2001, 04:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
SOCA FANATIC

Credits: 76

Smaddy is one of them real A#@#HOLE TRINIS WHO DON'T EVEN KNOW WHO THEY ARE AND WILL GLADLY TAKE ON A NEXT MAN CULTURE TO FEEL ACEPTED........HOW COULD YOU TELL PEOPLE YOU TRINI AND SOMETHING THAT IDENTIFY US SO MUCH YOU WANT TO RUN DOWN!

IF YOU GO TO A CLUB AND THEY PLAY DUB ALL NIGHT EVENTHOUGH YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT THEY SAYING MOST OF THE TIME...I guess it alright with you !!!

When you go to a club and the playin rap ALL NIGHT eventhough they calling everybody nig@s and bi*ch (you never grow up withthat kind of language)....I guess it alright with you!!

MUCH LOVE TO ALL PEOPLE FROM ALL THE ISLANDS LOVING SOCA AND CLUTURE 365

SMADDY CHECK YOURSELF!!!!
Old 07-05-2001, 11:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
An Ivy of Class

Credits: 576
RE: TOO MUCH SOCA ...NEVER

I am truly disappointed that a fellow Trini would talk about "too much soca". I find it interesting that you even want to meet Trini women given that you seem to not even appreciate your culture. Anyway like everyone else said the djs just need to play other tunes that don't get a lot of play. Also the djs have to take us back in time sometimes. The sweetest fetes are the ones where you start with current tunes, move on to tunes from 4 , 6 even 10 years ago and then bring it right back to the present. I love soca and I could listen to it 365 days a year. If as a Trini I do not support my music, who else will?
Old 08-15-2001, 02:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
D General

Credits: 27
RE: TOO MUCH SOCA

Dat is what's di matter wit Toronto now!!! All-eh don't respect yuh culture!!! Dat is why Caribana is loosin its Flava!! YUh does sell out Caribana to pure yankee. All-eh rather play hip-hop than spin some sweet soca chune!!! Maybe yuh Toronto Djs need to come NewYork and learn how fi mix tune!!! Yuh have ole tune,classic and new tune and fi mix down yuh know and don't forget yuh have soca tune comin from all over di Caribean!! Yuh should'nt have to listen to di same tunes like dat! Meh ain know whaa all-eh problem in Toronto is ,but west indian in New York don't compromise we culture!! Yuh need fi take ah trip back home fa real!!!

Old 08-19-2001, 02:41 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 24
Not Enough Soca

SMADDY

GET REAL.

YOU ARE THE MOST NARROW MINDED, IGNORANT,UNEDUCATED, NON-CULTURAL,IDIOT I HAVE EVER RUN INTO IN THE YEAR 2001.

MY MAN, IF YOU ARE A TRINI, WHAT DO YOU MEAN THAT DJS PLAY TOO MUCH SOCA IN T. O. I WILL KISS ALL THEM DJ FEET FOR REPRESENTING THEIR CULTURE. GO TO INDIA AND TELL THEM TOO MUCH CHUTNEY. GO TO JAMAICA AND TELL THEM TOO MUCH REGAE OR SPOOGE.
GO TO CHINA AND TELL THEM TOO MUCH CHINEY MUSIC.

YOU ARE SO IGNORANT, AND SO WANT TO ASSIMILATE TO ANOTHER CULTURE, YOU SO MESSED UP WITH WHO YOU REALLY ARE THAT YOU CANNOT ACCEPT YOUR OWN. TRINI IS CALYPSO/SOCA/STEELBAND ORIGINATORS. DIS IS WEE TING.

NOW WHAT GIVE YOU THE IDEA THAT WE SHOULD ONLY PLAY SOCA OR LISTEN TO SOCA FROM SEP TO APRIL, OR WHAT EVER CRAP YOU SAID AND AFTER EASETER PLAY WHAT -------WE SHOULD SWITCH TO ANOTHER CULTURE AFTER EASTER TO PLEASE WHO MY SON.

GO BACK UNDER YOU STUPID SHELL AND WHEN YOU COME OUT WEAR YOUR STUPID SIGN. AND STAY OFF THIS SIGHT THIS IS A SOCA SITE.

COME WID IT SOCA PEOPLE

WE DONT NEED CALABASH HEADS LIKE SMADDY.

ME A SOCA ADDICT

SMADDY ----------WAT U BE

I BET U DONT KNOW
Old 08-29-2001, 04:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
SOCA FANATIC

Credits: 76
RE: Not Enough Soca

I HEAR YOU SOCALUVA....SOCA ADDICT DOH HELP ME!!!!!!!
Old 10-26-2001, 11:16 AM   #9 (permalink)

Aight,
i doh really like how allyuh makin it sound like if yuh from trinidad, it is a must dat yuh love soca and promote it. because to me, yuh could be from wherever yuh want and like any kina music, because i like dub more than soca, and soca cyah grow because it does only appeal to a slim number of people livin in the US right now i am never surprised when i playin my pelau cd and people here cyah stan it, and i just came back from toronto and bc a couple weeks ago and tru padna, thy does rhelly overdo it wit soca up your side.
take it easy
Ganja Man
Old 10-26-2001, 11:24 AM   #10 (permalink)

lol cocorite yuh jokey
u kno d man or wha, u tellin d man he listenin to dub and ting to feel accepted. if yuh willin to put yourself at a natural dislike for anything outside your culture fix up. but i from sando and does listen to capleton and sizzla 90 percent of the time, and i do understand what they sayin and i just rather hear 'boost no war' than listen to 'kim' and whatever else that happen to be playin.
i hope ah change yuh stance on dat just a little
lataz
Old 10-31-2001, 10:54 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 3,029

Ganja Man,
Like you inhale a little too much of the herb. Honestly, you pick the wrong website to talk that talk on.

We are all about promoting the music and culture.

Not to worry I does pray for people like you!
Old 10-31-2001, 10:59 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 3,029

[updated:LAST EDITED ON Oct-31-01 AT 10:01 AM (EST)]Ganja,
Ah could promise yuh, yuh could never change people like me and cocorite stance, because we would rather rep for Trinidad, be it Anlslem and Kim or Shadow and HIV than sell out.

And from the last time I was in Sando (Aug. 01), like allyuh need to slow down the dub, put down the ganja and look for a flickin wuk!!!
Old 10-31-2001, 11:07 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 4,277

[updated:LAST EDITED ON Oct-31-01 AT 10:09 AM (EST)]Mr. Ganja, somebody lace your stash with some angeldust or something, you and people like you are the reason why Soca finding a hard time to make it in the world. You rather promote capleton and sizzla when they done have their fans and they already heard all over the world. Is like you wish you was from Jamaica, and doh come back and tell me no stupidness bout you love your culture because apparently you don't love in enough to want to push reggae more than Soca music and make it bigger than it already is. Soca born in the country you born. At least most if not all our music is original and not adapted, it's all our own.
Old 11-03-2001, 10:21 AM   #14 (permalink)

Come nah man, doh try to tell me what i wish and doh wish dat rhel ignorant.never went to jamaica, never cared to go. i was born raised and still am a pure trini and u is a rhel c*nt to tell me other wise (esxcuse meh language). always love trinidad but i is a man dat jus like concious music. and that angledust line not funny, only the herb darlin. so we have one ting in common, we does pray. i too does pray for ignorant one track people like you.
still have my respec, jus had to speak my mind
lataz
Old 11-03-2001, 05:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
Infinite Soca

Credits: 179

HAHAH thats a joke Toronto DJS can run just as good as NY djs

DLR

SIF KREW