Old 08-18-2005, 01:07 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 61
TnT healthcare status

Hey all!

My longterm goal is to open up a clinic in San Fernando TnT....

I was wondering what ppl thought about the health care status in TnT as a whole so I can get a feel for it in advance...what are the needs in your opinions?

Thanks for the help

eSQue

Last edited by socaqueen00; 08-18-2005 at 01:09 AM..
Old 08-18-2005, 03:47 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 14,229
i hope you have a lot of money. health care in trinidad sucks, like ass. there are never enough beds, meds, or doctors. simple procedures like MRI's or cat scans take weeks and sometimes months (depending on how severe they THINK you are) to be actually performed.

i like yuh idea and all, but what exactly yuh tryin to take to trinidad?
Old 08-18-2005, 03:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Baby Luv

Credits: 1,244
its a good idea but why sando ? the hospital is already there, u should try and open it somewhere that doesnt have a healthcare facility.
Old 08-18-2005, 06:26 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 21,825
Who staffing yuh clinic?

What country yuh recruiting yuh clinic staff from?
Old 08-18-2005, 09:03 PM   #5 (permalink)

woah woah woah...just an idea so far...i was checkin up on the stats today and i realised there was supposed to be some major progress in terms of primary health care and regional clinics.

Why Sando? i already have my hands on some property there-so i guess thats just convenience for me, i'll rethink that- i should make a visit and check out the area.

What am i BRINGING? I dont think that is my approach-i'm just researching the needs right now-I'm definately not trying to come with a 1st world 3rd world perspective-if thats what you were implying...

but keep bringing in the comments and suggestions-i guess i dont know the areas too well but when i do visit again i'll check out the suggested ones-i want to definately work in underserved areas, and if sando is well served then i'll definately look into somewhere else
Old 08-18-2005, 09:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
LGN
Phuck arf nuh man!!

Credits: 1,665
Originally Posted by marabunta
Who staffing yuh clinic?

What country yuh recruiting yuh clinic staff from?
Good Question
Old 08-18-2005, 10:19 PM   #7 (permalink)

are you a doctor? i really really like your idea, but i hope you do a lot of research and you have enough funding.
Old 08-18-2005, 10:42 PM   #8 (permalink)

yeah i should have mentionned that i'm not in med-school yet- i'm in the process for applying for next year
Old 08-18-2005, 10:46 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Wadadlian Defoe
Good Question
very good question-i would like to be a family doctor-so i was thinking start of small-probably a partnership, a couple secretaries, a few nurses...staff from Trini though- hopefully there's an external lab/hospital somewhere i'd be able to use to send samples for results
Old 08-18-2005, 10:50 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by socaqueen00
very good question-i would like to be a family doctor-so i was thinking start of small-probably a partnership, a couple secretaries, a few nurses...staff from Trini though- hopefully there's an external lab/hospital somewhere i'd be able to use to send samples for results
just a general doctor/??

i assumed for some reason when you said "clinic" you meant a free one.

so you really just want to open up a practice?
Old 08-18-2005, 10:52 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 24,370
who paying for it?
Old 08-18-2005, 11:00 PM   #12 (permalink)

all yuh not answering the real question at hand here...i want to know what the needs are in that area... (teenage pregnancies, vaccines, AIDS, cataracts) .............the money thing will come after business and management classes.

s-bait-yeah, i guess the right way to say is that i'd like to open up a practice. i'm not sure how a free clinic would work-i guess through an NGO?
Old 08-18-2005, 11:05 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by socaqueen00
all yuh not answering the real question at hand here...i want to know what the needs are in that area... (teenage pregnancies, vaccines, AIDS, cataracts) .............the money thing will come after business and management classes.

s-bait-yeah, i guess the right way to say is that i'd like to open up a practice. i'm not sure how a free clinic would work-i guess through an NGO?
have you ever been to trinidad??

everything is needed!! everywhere!!

sando doh have anything more than any part of the country.

what do you mean by AIDS & teenage pregnancies? yuh plannin on givin abortions and "aids" removing meds?

teenage pregnancy is quite common in trinidad. what more yuh want
Old 08-19-2005, 12:00 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 21,825
Socaqueen00:

Write a letter to the Ministry of Health to find out what are the projected needs-----

---if they send you back some Bureaucratic Bullsh8t----------

Make a personal visit to the Ministry of Health and ask the same questions------

------if they give you the run around, then pay a Personal Visit to the Port of Spain General Hospital...........roam the Halls and conduct your own scientific poll/survey from all de sick people in dey.
Old 08-23-2005, 07:44 PM   #15 (permalink)

Thanks for the advice

Originally Posted by marabunta
Socaqueen00:

Write a letter to the Ministry of Health to find out what are the projected needs-----

---if they send you back some Bureaucratic Bullsh8t----------

Make a personal visit to the Ministry of Health and ask the same questions------

------if they give you the run around, then pay a Personal Visit to the Port of Spain General Hospital...........roam the Halls and conduct your own scientific poll/survey from all de sick people in dey.