Old 04-05-2004, 06:46 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,347
Angry they actually tried to downplay this!!

The black-eyed Irish
Richard Burnett

Montreal's St. Patrick's Day Parade made city headlines last month when it chose Tara Hecksher as its first black parade queen in 180 years. What didn't make headlines, however, was the fact that Hecksher was doused with a paint-like substance by a racist thug during the March 14 event.
"My parents are flying from Nigeria to see me in the parade," Hecksher, who's studying international development and economics at McGill, told Hour before the parade. "I'm very excited to be the first black parade queen. I'd like to be a role model."

Hecksher isn't exactly excited about the parade anymore, but ironically she's become an even bigger role model for keeping her poise and composure while wiping the white paint-like substance from her face and body as her float passed the parade-reviewing stand. On the street bystanders looked on stunned.

The United Irish Societies of Montreal had two police officers accompany Hecksher along the parade route, but for whatever reason they weren't watching her when she passed the stand.

"We are outraged at the manner in which this matter was handled," the Black Coalition of Quebec said in a prepared statement last Friday. "We regret that the media in general didn't report this sordid affair. Racism cannot be contained by ignoring its existence. The United Irish Societies [which organizes the parade], the police and those responsible for the security of Irish parade queen Tara Hecksher should make a public apology for such insensitive behaviour. If these failures aren't recognized these authorities are condoning racism."

At press time the United Irish Societies of Montreal was not available for comment (Hour left several phone messages). While photos of this year's parade are now posted on their website, at press time there was no mention or photo of the Hecksher incident.

Says the Black Coalition, "Ms. Hecksher not only suffered this public assault, but [she must live with] the humiliation and ridicule she faced... for years to come."

"can you believe that The United Irish Society of Montreal actually did not want to talk about this and basically said this was not that big a deal.... thousands of people,known death threats,police security(inexcusably abscent) and no one saw nothing..........
Old 04-05-2004, 06:50 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 4,525
Some places around the world still dismiss some crimes of hate which @ this point we as a BLACK PEOPLE/MINIORITIES SHOULDN'T BE DISCOURAGED!!!

Last edited by Empressdududahlin; 04-05-2004 at 07:06 PM..
Old 04-05-2004, 07:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Dis Girl is POISON!

Credits: 346
are u serious?! this is pitiful, most of us probably never heard of this, and the media see nothing wrong wid writingthis, but can write about janet breast over and over...
Old 04-05-2004, 09:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wastin Time

Credits: 3,341
and i can imagine she is very pretty......

well dont sweat it people.....im pretty sure the next life will be good....,
Old 04-06-2004, 12:01 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 603
Pennywhine. Thanks for posting, cause we would not have heard about this otherwise.
Old 04-06-2004, 10:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Vexation X Infinity

Credits: 219
I live in Toronto and never heard about this....it is a real shame the way that they are handling it to seeing as Canada in general is reknowned for being such a tolerant country....Big Ups to my girl for keeping her head strong though....
Old 04-06-2004, 05:24 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 701
...Yet this Jamaican chick who live in Mississauga was insisting to me last week that Canada doesn't have any racism......
Old 04-06-2004, 07:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
sagal

Please we have our share of racism. I live in Canada! It is hidden! We cover it up very well. I must say! Don't listen to your friend in Mississauga, she doesn't have a clue. I can give you a list on how we cover up things! Your friend either is in denial or totally clueless that someone was racist to her or is unable to tell what racism is. Ask your friend why hasn't our police department been able to solve murders of 16 black men! Our murder rate is currently at 17. They have solved one murder and that person was white. Ask your friend if that is not racism! Ask your friend why our prime minister addressed the situation about the hate crimes against Jews in Toronto, while 16 black men...don't deserve a comment from our prime minister. Bake-N-Shark your friend needs to check herself
Old 04-06-2004, 07:07 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally posted by sagal
Please we have our share of racism. I live in Canada! It is hidden! We cover it up very well. I must say! Don't listen to your friend in Mississauga, she doesn't have a clue. I can give you a list on how we cover up things! Your friend either is in denial or totally clueless that someone was racist to her or is unable to tell what racism is. Ask your friend why hasn't our police department been able to solve murders of 16 black men! Our murder rate is currently at 17. They have solved one murder and that person was white. Ask your friend if that is not racism! Ask your friend why our prime minister addressed the situation about the hate crimes against Jews in Toronto, while 16 black men...don't deserve a comment from our prime minister. Bake-N-Shark your friend needs to check herself
Sagal love you ent have tuh tell me....I also have other friends in Canada who are slightly more in touch with reality than this chick.
Old 04-06-2004, 07:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
sagal

I'm going to assume that this girl is a sister! Black people like her make me so angry. They are the one's that are going around acting like we don't have a problem. That's why it will never be solved, because they have their third eye closed. In your girl's case, it seems like all of her eyes are closed. Reading your post's you seem like an intelligent man, you get what I'm saying. She's got them rose tinted glasses on....figures she lives in Mississauga.
Old 04-07-2004, 02:34 PM   #11 (permalink)

Believe it or not...that was our first and likely last conversation. I have other black friends in Mississauga who can attest that racism is alive and well up North...so don't think that I paid her idiotic comments any mind.
Old 04-08-2004, 12:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
sagal

Good!