Freedom
Credits: 6,411
http://www.cnn.com/2005/POLITICS/08/....ap/index.html
LAKE CITY (AP) -- President Bush defended the war in Iraq on Monday in the face of growing skepticism, asserting that "a policy of retreat and isolation will not bring us safety" from terrorism. With U.S. casualties rising and his approval rating falling, Bush urged Americans to stand united in the war in Iraq and against terrorists everywhere. While the United States has not been attacked since September 11, 2001, Bush said, "We're not yet safe. Terrorists in foreign lands still hope to attack our country. We must confront threats before they fully materialize." "The only way to defend to our citizens where we live is to go after the terrorists where they live," Bush said in a speech to the national convention of the Veterans of Foreign Wars. Bush chose the national VFW convention in Republican-friendly Utah as the site for the first of two speeches this week, both to reaffirm his plan to stay the course despite the recent focus on problems in Iraq. The second comes Wednesday to a National Guard group in Idaho. Anti-war protest Bush has not left his ranch since August 13. Meanwhile, anti-war protesters camped nearby took the limelight, complete with a Sunday evening concert by folk singer Joan Baez. Also, a leading Republican senator and prospective presidential candidate -- Nebraska's Chuck Hagel -- said the war in Iraq has destabilized the Middle East and is looking more like the Vietnam conflict in which he fought a generation ago. (Related story.) Bush's Salt Lake City speech was scheduled just a couple of hours before Iraqi officials faced a deadline for parliamentary approval of a new constitution. They missed the initial deadline last week. (Related story.) Bush's former presidential rival, Sen. John Kerry, said Monday the veterans at the VFW and elsewhere deserve straight answers about the situation in Iraq. "When will he deliver to the nation and those sacrificing so much in Iraq a concrete plan for peace and victory?" the Massachusetts Democrat and Vietnam veteran said he wanted to know. In his weekly radio address Saturday, Bush said that as with past conflicts, the war on terror requires great sacrifice. He offered his condolences for the families of fallen soldiers. He didn't mention Cindy Sheehan, the grieving mother who started the protest vigil outside his ranch. (Related story.) In an ad airing in Salt Lake City to coincide with Bush's visit, Sheehan pleaded for a meeting with him and accused him of lying to the American people about Iraq's development of weapons of mass destruction and its connection to al Qaeda terrorists. One station, ABC affiliate KTVX, refused to run the ad, saying it could be offensive to the community. An anti-war rally was planned near the convention site, but some VFW delegates said they considered it disrespectful to veterans. Strong support in Utah Bush has strong support in Utah, where he received nearly 70 percent of the vote last fall. But nationwide polls find the public growing more skeptical about his handling of the war. Hagel, who received two Purple Hearts and other military honors for his service in Vietnam, said Sunday the United States needs to develop a strategy to leave Iraq. He told ABC's "This Week" that "stay the course" is not a policy. "By any standard, when you analyze 21/2 years in Iraq ... we're not winning," he said. Other Republican senators appearing on Sunday news shows advocated remaining in Iraq until the mission set by Bush is completed, but they also noted the public is becoming more and more concerned and needs to be reassured. The Army's top general, Chief of Staff Peter Schoomaker, told The Associated Press on Saturday that his service is planning for the possibility of keeping the current number of soldiers in Iraq -- well over 100,000 -- for four more years as part of preparations for a worst-case scenario. Hagel described the Army contingency plan as "complete folly." "I don't know where he's going to get these troops," the senator said. "There won't be any National Guard left ... no Army Reserve left ... there is no way America is going to have 100,000 troops in Iraq, nor should it, in four years." Last edited by Soca Taliban; 08-22-2005 at 04:32 PM.. |
Freedom
Credits: 6,411
It AMAZES me the pure shupidity of anyone who believes that people can actually win a war against TERRORISM. Terrorism is a state of mind. How can you fight that? Ah mean yuh brains hah tuh makes outa cow shit tuh side with Bush an he imps administration. Why the hell ain't people pushing tuh get dis a$$hole impeached and jailed. I am convinced this man is a devil. I swear ah cyah even watched news no more. Ah mean everytime ah hear something about de war in Iraq and hearing about ah next soldier dead or how much innocent people geh kill in a car bomb, it does infuriate me. Speaking as one who has lost a brother recently, I can imagine how people feel when they hear the news that their loved one just died in a car bomb or killed in duty. And den we have dis b!tch for a president who gets up a talks out he kakka hole about staying the course and the us eh leaving till dey eliminate all de terrorist!! But what puzzles me even more is that people actually BELIEVE dis sh!t!!!!
WTF???? Now I'm convinced that is not a matter of if, but when we are going to get another terrorist attack over here in the states. I just hope dat dis time dey choose the right target. Crawford Texas!!!! Facking vex jed!!! |
aka Karl Logan
Credits: 872
*shakes head at the fact that this fucker actually got a second term*
Credits: 34,867
If the US stop messing with ppl then we wouldn't have to worry about Terrorists. The US makes more enemies than friends. |
Cleophus aka pupah lashie
Credits: 1,033
what strikes me is dat it's always TALIBAN who's releasing these terrorist warning threads.......
soca taliban is really ben aladdin |
Credits: 781
Only half of Americans thing they smarter than Dubya- there must be a lot of dumb people in America |
Cleophus aka pupah lashie
Credits: 1,033
Credits: 34,867
Credits: 21,805
Here's what going to strike America AGAIN and AGAIN and AGAIN:
http://www.krqe.com/expanded.asp?ID=11570 Chickens COMING HOME to Roost: http://www.abqtrib.com/albq/nw_local...006236,00.html |
Lets see...
Afghanistan, check Iraq, check North Korea, I can't wait 'till the ****s in the US government attack North Korea. Now THAT will be a "real" war. Army on army, not any of this army versus insurgent crap we have right now. People are gonna re-learn the word "casualty". |
AXAwhiteboi:
The US will NEVER attack North Korea------Here's why: http://www.kimsoft.com/korea/kim-war.htm Every GODDAMN General in the Pentagon got a Copy in his Briefcase. |
Ban Obama
Credits: 25,110
What you mean the US will never attack North Korea?You think that going to stop them?
Race Bannon:
Yes + the North Korean Track Record of not F*cking Around when dealing with the US: http://www.globalsecurity.org/milita...aul_bunyan.htm |
Credits: 32
So What
"If the US stop messing with ppl then we wouldn't have to worry about Terrorists. The US makes more enemies than friends."
Exactly so people should not get mad whenever disaster(Hence 9-11)strikes again.America has no one to blame but herself. |