Old 07-30-2005, 09:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
LGN
Phuck arf nuh man!!

Credits: 1,664
St.Lucia's hanging plans

St Lucia's hanging plans criticised

The government wants justice served through hangings
St Lucia's Centre for Legal Aid and Human Rights has accused the government of acting prematurely after it announced plans to resume hangings on the Island after more than a decade.
The Attorney General's office has said it has activated the procedures for once again carrying out the death penalty.

The authorities hope the measure will help curb a current wave of violent crime on the island.

There are four inmates currently on death row in Castries, but the Centre believes the prisoner who could go to the gallows if the government has its way, is Christopher Remy.

He was sentenced to hang for slitting a taxi driver's throat.

The President of the Legal Aid Centre, Mary Francis, a human rights lawyer, has disputed the government's position that Remy exhausted all his appeals, even though the time has expired for him to take his matter before the Privy Council.

Privy Council

"He can always get leave at the Privy Council level, and put up a good case," she told BBC Caribbean Radio.

She believes the Privy Council will be sympathetic because it is against the death penalty.

"I cannot see how they would close the door on a man like that," Miss Francis said.

The Attorney General, Phillip La Corbiniere, has been expecting legal action to prevent the government from going ahead with executions.

He says the authorities will fight these efforts to stall or reverse the process.

"The normal process will go forward, there will be challenges, we will meet those challenges as they come forward," he said.

The government believes it is on clear legal footing on the matter, and said it intends to ensure that hanging is resumed in St Lucia.

The last execution in St Lucia took place more than a decade ago when convicted killer Solomon Vitalis was hanged for the murder of a Dominican accountant.

The hanging debate evokes equally strong arguments from both pro and anti death penalty activists.

Pro-hanging campaigners insist it is a deterrent to crime while those who want it abolished argue that it is inhumane treatment frowned on and denounced in international treaties.

Discuss (I know it wont be for a while cause its weekend,everybody gone for the weekend. and so am i, gotta buy my mudda birthday present! later)
Old 07-30-2005, 02:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ

Credits: 23,852
wow!.....i don't know how I feel about that, i'm against it and for it.

I just told my mom about it, her words "good, they need to bring it back!".....wow
Old 07-30-2005, 02:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
dev

Credits: 18,389
hang dem high.
Old 07-30-2005, 05:35 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 24,369
i am not God.. but dem man back home gone ridiculous you cannah be killing you neighbour no excuse HANG DEM
Old 07-30-2005, 10:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
como el lindo clave

Credits: 5,009
i am against this
Old 07-31-2005, 10:48 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 46
This is a hard one to decide but I have to say hang them especially these grown ass men who molest kids and the goverment does nothing about it but Put them out in the street again to do the same thing over and over again.
Old 07-31-2005, 10:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,253
Hang dem.
Old 07-31-2005, 11:00 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by prettylocksgirl
This is a hard one to decide but I have to say hang them especially these grown ass men who molest kids and the goverment does nothing about it but Put them out in the street again to do the same thing over and over again.
thank you imagine back home dey had a situation with a fella (40) dat used to rape his own mother his own sister.. but he make de mistake and try and rape his mother when her son was around de fella kill his uncle...
Old 08-01-2005, 12:38 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 46
I'm definetly sick of these perverts it takes years to put them away for a crime. The police does nothing the judge takes 2 damn years to bring the cases to trial and while all of this is happening they have the molesters roaming the street, or still sleeping in the same house with the victims.

Shit some of these wicked people in the caribbean need to be severely punish for the shit they do.

I understand what you are saying ONE SHOT because I know a family that went through something similiar.
Old 08-01-2005, 01:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ah who tell yuh

Credits: 122
I'm not quite sure how I feel about this one. Many of the islands are experiencing the same thing in regards to the crime. On one hand you can say hang dem and forget about it. Then on the other you don't know how much it will solve. Will these brazen criminals really catch dem fraid because of a potential hanging? They'll just take other measures to committ their crimes and not get persecuted.
Old 08-01-2005, 02:39 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by rootznculture
I'm not quite sure how I feel about this one. Many of the islands are experiencing the same thing in regards to the crime. On one hand you can say hang dem and forget about it. Then on the other you don't know how much it will solve. Will these brazen criminals really catch dem fraid because of a potential hanging? They'll just take other measures to committ their crimes and not get persecuted.
so let me guess is better to have them pull up and get fat.. instead of killing de ones we have dere already
Old 08-01-2005, 02:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Happiness

Credits: 131,280
I say hang them and bring back the lolo bef (flogging) in the middle of town. Dem men are ridiculous with the crap they doing now.

I swear this is the funniest ting I've heard for the week...although it's so wrong, Lol!!!!!!!!!
Old 08-01-2005, 02:59 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Sweetness4Life
I say hang them and bring back the lolo bef (flogging) in the middle of town. Dem men are ridiculous with the crap they doing now.
you kno.. i would supprt it but it give dem de chance to build up revenge.. i say just kill dem and done
Old 08-01-2005, 05:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ah who tell yuh

Credits: 122
Originally Posted by Oneshot
so let me guess is better to have them pull up and get fat.. instead of killing de ones we have dere already
That's not what I am saying. My real concern is how much will the possibility of hangings change the current criminal behavior.Yes, you hang a few. Then what you go around hanging everyone accused of committing a crime. What about people who are actually innocent and it's a case of mistaken identity? I'm going out on a limb here to assume there aren't that many mistaken identity cases. Again I say yes you might get a few who've committed murders, etc. but trust me eventually they'll get smart and find other ways to committ crimes with masks and all. Then what. A lot of us in the caribbean have many issues due to the deportees that were doing they badness here in the states. I'm not saying all crime is because of the deportees but the rise in crime can be attributed to them in one sense. Do you think they're afraid of a hanging? They've committed crimes here in the states and got away with it for a long time. What type of measures will be in place in the caribbean to really catch and prosecute these people? How many of our islands have DNA databases to store DNA? These are the things I'm looking at. Don't get me wrong I'm not saying let these criminals ravage our islands. There is more going on such as police corruption that protects many of these murderers. How will that be addressed? Trust me the ones who really need to hang for there 30 and 40 murders and other contract killings won't go to the chambers.
Old 08-01-2005, 05:42 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by rootznculture
That's not what I am saying. My real concern is how much will the possibility of hangings change the current criminal behavior.Yes, you hang a few. Then what you go around hanging everyone accused of committing a crime. What about people who are actually innocent and it's a case of mistaken identity? I'm going out on a limb her to assume there aren't that many mistaken identity cases. Again I say yes you might get a few who've committed murders, etc. but trust eventually they'll get smart and find other ways to committ crimes with masks and all. Then what. A lot of us in the caribbean have many issues due to the deportees that were doing they badness here in the states. I'm not saying all crime is because of the deportees but the rise in crime can be attributed to them in one sense. Do you think they're afraid of a hanging? They've committed crimes here in the states and got away with it for a long time. What type of measures will be in place in the caribbean to really catch and prosecute these people? How many of our islands have DNA databases to store DNA? These are the things I'm looking at. Don't get me wrong I'm not saying let these criminals ravage our islands. There is more going on such as police corruption that protects many of these murderers. How will that be addressed? Trust me the ones who really need to hang for there 30 and 40 murders and other contract killings won't go to the chambers.
well you police force corrupt.. not a reason against de death penalty..