Old 12-03-2005, 03:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Raised in the Bajan way!

Credits: 29
Sorell all 'round!

WE LOVE to drink sorrel, but we are often unaware of its health benefits.

Consumed as a part of its Christmas tradition, sorrel also contains a wide
range of vitamins and minerals including vitamin C, calcium, niacin and
riboflavin. It also contains a group of compounds called flavonoids, which
not only give its deep red colour but are now being recognised as a
powerful antioxidant which rids the body of free radicals that can cause
deadly diseases if they are not removed from the body.

Sorrel and cancer cells

It is also believed that the flavonoids present in sorrel may be a useful
deterrent against certain types of cancer and help to enhance the body's
immune system in general. Recent studies conducted by the Northern
Caribbean University, Jamaica, revealed that sorrel could kill certain
types of cancer cells.

Sorrel tea is consumed in many countries such as the Sudan, Senegal and
Egypt on a daily basis and researchers in Mexico have reported a
significant reduction in the triglyceride levels of persons who consume
sorrel. Elevated levels of triglycerides are associated with heart
disease.

Recent advances in medicine and a greater understanding of human nutrition
have led researchers to recognise the existence of a number of substances
normally occurring in plants, known as nutraceuticals, which can enhance
human health. There is now an acceptance of the link between diet and
health and this has evolved into the concept of nutraceuticals and
functional foods.

Dr. Stephen Defelice defines nutraceuticals as "any substance that may be
considered a food or part of a food which in addition to its normal
nutritive value provides health benefits including prevention of disease."

Nutraceuticals have been associated with the prevention and or treatment
of at least four life-threatening diseases cancer, diabetes, heart
disease and hypertension. Examples of nutraceuticals are food supplements
that contain substances called phytochemicals. These include vitamins,
antioxidants, dietary fibre and free fatty acids.

Sorrel water

Scientists from the Mexican Institute of Social Security (IMSS) proved
that 'sorrel water' significantly decreases cholesterol and triglyceride
levels in the blood and contributes to protection against heart diseases.
As a preventative measure in heart diseases it is a good habit to consume
sorrel water daily to decrease the risk of heart disease. It helps to
prevent the clogging of arteries resulting from excessive levels of
cholesterol and triglycerides in the blood. Sorrel has also been
recognised for its diuretic properties and as an aid to weight loss.

Abigail Aguilar Contreras, a Mexican professor of sciences, recommends the
daily drinking of a litre of sorrel water, prepared from 10 grams of
sorrel, engaging in physical exercise under doctor's supervision and
taking other measures such as avoiding cigarettes, stress, excess calories
and saturated fat.

The Hope Gardens Jamaica sorrel chutney and sorrel squashes and several
other new exotic sorrel products are delicious, nutritious and convenient
ways of enjoying the many benefits of sorrel.These products, rich in
vitamin C, are currently available at leading supermarkets and gift shops.
This suite of sorrel products produced by the Scientific Research Council
(SRC) and marketed by Marketech Ltd. (its subsidiary), under the Hope
Gardens Jamaica label, are available for divestment.

The SRC is assisting with the sustainable development of a local sorrel
industry, cognisant of the associated health benefits and the potential to
create employment and earn foreign exchange.

Article contributed by Rosylyn Fisher, Scientific Research Council.

DRINK IN THE RED SORREL DOES A BODY GOOD
published: Thursday | November 25, 2004

The Scientific Research Council (SRC), located in Hope Gardens, St.
Andrew, notes that sorrel contains a wide range of vitamins and minerals
including vitamin C, calcium, niacin, riboflavin and a group of compounds
called flavanoids.

Flavanoids give sorrel its deep red colour and is also recognised as a
powerful antioxidant that helps to rid the body of free radicals that can
cause deadly diseases. In essence the flavanoids present in sorrel may be
a useful deterrent against certain types of cancer and, in general, can
help to enhance the body's immune system.

Studies carried out by Dr. Juliet Bailey-Penrod at Northern Caribbean
University in Mandeville, suggest that sorrel could prove detrimental to
certain types of cancer cells.

In addition, scientists from the Mexican Institute of Social Security
(IMSS) have proved that 'sorrel water' significantly decreases
cholesterol and triglyceride levels in the blood and contributes to
protection against heart diseases.Sorrel also helps to prevent the
clogging of arteries resulting from excessive levels of cholesterol and
triglycerides in the blood.

MORE THAN A DRINK

There's more ways to having this Christmas favourite than drinking. The
SRC, which has been big on sorrel, has developed sorrel chutney and squash
and the Ebony Park Heart Academy in Clarendon will soon have its sorrel
jelly and jamon the market.

Juley Wynter-Robertson, Ebony Park's senior instructor and plant
supervisor of Agro processing, says that the passage of Hurricane Ivan in
September left them short of crops such as pepper and vegetables but an
abundance of sorrel. She says that situation promoted a brainstorming
session on how to use their bounty of the red stuff and from that they
came up with the idea for a sorrel jelly and jam with no preservative or
additives.

As an excellent source of vitamin A and C Wynter-Robertson recommends
these products as a great filling for deserts, fruit salad, meat sauce,
and cold cuts, especially salami.
Old 12-03-2005, 09:54 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 21,857
lil'colored girl:

Please DELETE this thread and limit this discussion about Sorrell to Caribbean people that you know personally------

-------'cause the next thing you know:
The MudderfuKKKers at the FDA will make it an ILLEGAL DRUG at your local Caribbean outlet................

.................and YOU wil have to go to Walgreens or CVA with a Prescription to get it.
Old 12-03-2005, 11:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,427
Originally Posted by marabunta
lil'colored girl:

Please DELETE this thread and limit this discussion about Sorrell to Caribbean people that you know personally------

The MudderfuKKKers at the FDA will make it an ILLEGAL DRUG at your local Caribbean outlet................

.................and YOU wil have to go to Walgreens or CVA with a Prescription to get it.
i doh care what ur watch-man haters say, you are hilarious
Old 12-03-2005, 01:29 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 140,905
lil'colored girl:

Old 12-10-2005, 09:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Big Steupss

Credits: 3,753
mauby is good for you too. it cleans out your blood....at least that's what my grandmother told me many years ago
Old 12-10-2005, 09:38 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 2,700
lil'colored girl:

....yuh got meh rolling on that one
Old 12-10-2005, 09:41 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 2,700
Originally Posted by trinithunda27
mauby is good for you too. it cleans out your blood....at least that's what my grandmother told me many years ago

like yuh eh hear what marabunta say....keep it to yuhself
Old 12-11-2005, 05:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Big Steupss

Credits: 3,753
oh shimps!!!! you right!!!! imagine that, havin a prescription fuh sorrel.....all them back orders at christmas time!!!
Old 12-11-2005, 06:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Credits: 2,433
Originally Posted by trinithunda27
oh shimps!!!! you right!!!! imagine that, havin a prescription fuh sorrel.....all them back orders at christmas time!!!

wuhlooossssssssssssssss
Old 12-11-2005, 06:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Miss Innocent

Credits: 24,955
Exclamation

lol hahaha hahahaaha ent!!!

lil'colored girl:

Old 12-24-2005, 09:26 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 21,857
GROW IT!

USE IT!

While it's STILL Legal:
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index...s?id=124257558
Old 12-24-2005, 11:48 AM   #12 (permalink)
como el lindo clave

Credits: 5,018
FDA didnt mess with yerba mate did they?