Old 02-21-2005, 09:36 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 6,461
signs on clothing?

HAs anyone heard of a poem written by I believe it is Mia Angelo. Talking about the symblos on the clothes that "black people" like to wear having symbolic slavery meanings?
Old 02-21-2005, 09:40 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 4,500
I can be wrong here, but do you mean Maya Angelou?
Old 02-21-2005, 09:50 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by EmpressSocadahlin
I can be wrong here, but do you mean Maya Angelou?

i think she means the one about tims and etc etc
Old 02-21-2005, 09:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,423
Originally Posted by vincy_socababy
i think she means the mythical one about tims and etc etc
dear god I hope not
Old 02-21-2005, 09:58 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Mystic Xtremist
dear god I hope not

dunno is the only thing i can think of. cause that poet doesn't exist to me
Old 02-21-2005, 10:36 PM   #6 (permalink)

dunno

maybe that is it.
I havent heard or read it my brother was telling me about it.
Wanted to see if anybody had it so I can see it
Old 02-21-2005, 10:46 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by saveoursoca
maybe that is it.
I havent heard or read it my brother was telling me about it.
Wanted to see if anybody had it so I can see it

you know what, check the junkmail page in here, i think it was posted a lil while back
Old 02-21-2005, 10:53 PM   #8 (permalink)

junkmail page

I did not know there was one
Old 02-21-2005, 10:56 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by saveoursoca
I did not know there was one

go into backchat all the forums come up, the junkmail and humor one. i'm sure someone posted it in there
Old 02-22-2005, 12:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
MarcNYC

Will SOMEBODY please just post the poem in question?

Sheezumpieaceman!

hehehehehehe.

Anyway, I think we ARE slaves to fashion/name brands in some way.

However, it's not just Blacks.

But we have it bad though.

I'm probably a victime myself.

go into backchat all the forums come up, the junkmail and humor one. i'm sure someone posted it in there
Old 02-22-2005, 05:48 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 21,824
Regardless of whatever Maya Angelou says about Black Clothing styles and slavery----------The fact of the matter is that PIGZ patrolling Black neighbourhoods will classify whatever you wear as Gang Related or Gang Affiliated and find an excuse to put you in Penitentary Slavery.
Old 02-22-2005, 02:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
elq
Cleophus aka pupah lashie

Credits: 1,039
http://www.snopes.com/business/alliance/timberland.asp
Old 02-22-2005, 04:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
IslandGem

Credits: 774
Elq I'm backkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk, i goh sen yuh h pm...all my stuff came and wuk is great...how r u??
Old 02-22-2005, 05:13 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 699
Originally Posted by marabunta
Regardless of whatever Maya Angelou says about Black Clothing styles and slavery----------The fact of the matter is that PIGZ patrolling Black neighbourhoods will classify whatever you wear as Gang Related or Gang Affiliated and find an excuse to put you in Penitentary Slavery.
Dis next one

You missed your true calling dude:

...Solid!!
Old 02-23-2005, 11:06 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 41,527
Red face

i think she means the one about tims and etc etc
She did not write that poem. That's not even her writing style.