View Poll Results: ?
yes 100% cut longterm 1 14.29%
yes, but only in part or for a very short time period 6 85.71%
no not at all 0 0%
Voters: 7. You may not vote on this poll

Old 02-09-2009, 10:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
L O S T

Credits: 43,461
Should President Obama cut payroll taxes

as a means to help stimulate the economy?
Old 02-09-2009, 11:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,265
Absolutely, let me bring home more of my money NOW!
Old 02-09-2009, 11:54 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 24,370
short term.. all dem social programs have costs.. what would be funny though federal tax gone down and state tax gone up
Old 02-09-2009, 12:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
L O S T

Originally Posted by Oneshot View Post
short term.. all dem social programs have costs.. what would be funny though federal tax gone down and state tax gone up
I agree i think doing this longterm would cause more problems than the recession itself

and yes that would not be good for those people living in states that tax income
Old 02-09-2009, 12:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
L O S T

Originally Posted by chinky eyes View Post
Absolutely, let me bring home more of my money NOW!
curious

would you spend it or save it?
Old 02-09-2009, 12:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,265
Originally Posted by . View Post
curious

would you spend it or save it?

Pay off debt and save it. Fork Uncle Sam, I gotta bail myself out.
Old 02-09-2009, 01:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,331
as a means to help stimulate the economy?
I think a phased approach would work. If you did 50% over this year then 25% then 12.5% then back to normal it would work. I don't believe that the social programs will suffer as much as they are suffering now. It will definitely ease the pressure. I think it's kinda too late now, though. Had this been done a year ago along with some other regulatory changes, we wouldn't be in this shape.
Old 02-09-2009, 05:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
L O S T

Originally Posted by Yankee Doodle View Post
I think a phased approach would work. If you did 50% over this year then 25% then 12.5% then back to normal it would work. I don't believe that the social programs will suffer as much as they are suffering now. It will definitely ease the pressure. I think it's kinda too late now, though. Had this been done a year ago along with some other regulatory changes, we wouldn't be in this shape.
yes i also think a phased redution working in tandem with an expiration date will work.By no means should it be reduced by more than 50% as that would be wreckless nor should it be openended with no VERY cleear cease date;no matter what the state of the economy is at that time.
this way people will know that this is temporary and not to rely on it.
pay down your debts,purchase durable items you need...Dont use it to advance your lifesyle overall.
I think this can still work however Obama would need to jump on it quickly.
Its not a cure, but it will assist the economic deterioration
Old 02-09-2009, 06:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Credits: 60,851
And that I could see happening.
Old 02-10-2009, 03:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
L O S T

Originally Posted by **Vincy-Soca-Diva** View Post
And that I could see happening.
pose the same question to you
would you want a payroll cut if so would you save or spend it
Old 02-11-2009, 08:48 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 24,370
I agree i think doing this longterm would cause more problems than the recession itself

and yes that would not be good for those people living in states that tax income
Wyoming looks like a good look
Old 02-12-2009, 12:53 AM   #12 (permalink)
L O S T

Wyoming looks like a good look
no even...Florida still has no state tax
Old 02-12-2009, 01:43 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 81,007
Narffff
Old 02-22-2009, 07:55 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 4,247
It is great to say cut payroll taxes, but not everyone would benefit from that. If you take manufacturing plants, the bulk of the people working in them make minimum wage or little above it, and their taxes are already minimal. Tax cuts don't help people who are below or at the middle of the road with income.
Old 02-22-2009, 08:01 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 4,537
Originally Posted by caribarts View Post
It is great to say cut payroll taxes, but not everyone would benefit from that. If you take manufacturing plants, the bulk of the people working in them make minimum wage or little above it, and their taxes are already minimal. Tax cuts don't help people who are below or at the middle of the road with income.
yes, the US can never do this .. .. as the top of the world.

if they could this as possible as , that would be the great work for the President