Old 03-30-2004, 07:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Better than Ever!

Credits: 8,848
Question Segregation: Unity or Division

Caribbean Folks who were here during the Civil rights movement say:

That Black Folks were more unified, the Black Dollar was stronger, and are position in society was more definite, the job market was stronger and such. They also mention that we had to build are own resources and businesses, media outlets, etc..

Some feel that because of end of segregation, Blacks have lost the desire to build there own destiny, and are too influence by White america. resulting in a Lack of direction, and a General Dysfunction.

How do all yuh feel about that?
Old 03-30-2004, 07:40 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 16,177
I am all for blacks building their own businesses and supporting their own. But isn't that a form of self imposed segration. I would like for all people to support each other regardless or race.
Old 03-30-2004, 08:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ball-in-Hand

Credits: 3,789
Originally posted by xtasyreds
I am all for blacks building their own businesses and supporting their own. But isn't that a form of self imposed segration. I would like for all people to support each other regardless or race.
well said
Old 03-31-2004, 11:36 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 148
I believe that train of thought is on point. It seems as if African American culture fell completely apart after the Civil Rights Movement. I'm not exactly sure why but I think it has to do with the need to intergrate into white American society. Since I've moved to Birmingham I've had chance to speak with people who participated in the C R M and no one seems to be able to figure out the exact problem. I think there is a book that was published sometime before the C R M that touched on the the issues that A A would face by trying to intergrate into a society that was so different than their own. If I find something more I'll get back to you.
Old 03-31-2004, 11:49 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 695
Originally posted by xtasyreds
...I would like for all people to support each other regardless or race.
...and ain't that the truth! I'm not into this whole "buy black" thing...I spend my money wise first, black or any other color second. As for the segregation thing...that is backward thinking...the future is pluralism and multiculturalism...the world only keeps shrinking.

The key is to not focus on how things were and wistfully reminiscing...but to challenge ourselves to find new ways to bring back what was good about those days...form those bond with individuals in our communities...not necessarily just individuals from our race, that is so regressive.
Old 03-31-2004, 12:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
DJ Trixx

Originally posted by Bake 'N Shark
...and ain't that the truth! I'm not into this whole "buy black" thing...I spend my money wise first, black or any other color second. As for the segregation thing...that is backward thinking...the future is pluralism and multiculturalism...the world only keeps shrinking.

The key is to not focus on how things were and wistfully reminiscing...but to challenge ourselves to find new ways to bring back what was good about those days...form those bond with individuals in our communities...not necessarily just individuals from our race, that is so regressive.

You know...You are a real impressive person....Segregation would only futher limit our already scarce resources and knowledge, thus setting us right back to the level of societism were where during the all but wonderful Jim Crow days. I''ll be damned if I can't boss the ####################y waitress at Denny's around cause blacks feel they gonna get more businesses out of separating bathrooms again.
Old 03-31-2004, 01:37 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 337
I dont see why having some kind of financial control in black communities is seen as a form of segregation.
Most other communities tend to do business amongst themselves first before looking elsewhere.

Blacks have been intergrating for a number of decades and the situation within their own communities has become worse, so I dont see how a bigger dose of so called intergration will improve the situation.

There is a far wider class divide between blacks compared to other communities since the civil rights movement and that is the real crux of the problem. On one hand you have more black professionals in every area of life, yet at the opposite end you have more black men in prison than go to college. What the black community is experiencing is a form of fragmentation, everybody going in a million directions at once.

The only time blacks have made any progress in the current world is when they have put aside their individualism made the necessary sacrifices and galavnised their communities.

There is this myth that we have scarce resources and we cannot do this or that. It is bullshit, if you look around the globe wherever you see black people living there is massive potential for trade and business. The problem is that blacks are tied into an exclusive trade relationship with Europe and the U.S.

Look around and you will see most black nations import more food than they export despite the fact they have enough resources to feed themselves.

The resources we have are used to cater to rich foreigners.
Africa has a food crisis, yet 70% of the worlds cocoa is grown in Africa.

Most black nations have closer ties to the US and Europe than they do their own neighbouring countries.

Rather than produce their own finished goods and sell them, we sell our raw materials for a pittance and then buy back the same items as a finished product for an astronomical cost

In order to buy these finished consumer items we will pay higher costs in shipping and air freight compared to the equivalent distances of other nations. (e.g. It is more expensive to ship goods from Europe to Africa than from Europe to the US, even though the distances are approx the same)

We do not support our own agriculture or industries. The US and Europe give their businesses massive subsidies while black nations are taking away subsidies.

I am finished for now
Old 03-31-2004, 02:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,418
An long as we refuse to see the value of how much we have, we will continue to collectively suffer.

No one is going to help us and do for us until we help ourselves and do for ourselves.

For decades we been begging for others to let us in....and instead of doing for ourselves, we say we should just keep on begging till others finally give in.

Everrry other community has businesses for themselves; why the hell we can't too?

C'mon y'all, we can see the value of having a community-based radio station (ala WLIB), that will ultimately serve our needs, but we can't see the value of community-based banks or schools to serve our needs?
Old 03-31-2004, 02:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,320
I don't think it's just that...

First off, who is unified when things are good? People don't unify until there is a problem. Which is a problem in itself.

Black dollar was worth more. Yes. But when there is not much of it....

Black position more definite. Well negativity denotes definity because most Americans (unfortunately) think "half empty" versus "half full"

I love the community based concepts of finance, schooling, and spending (other cultures do it all the time). But first our nature must change. It's an evolution of thinking. Our position was bad (slavery and oppression), we united to end it, then the focus changed to be individualistic (me-centricism). But pretty soon it changes because a man can not be an island and survive.

It will get better. But this type of change takes generations to occur. Remember, this is the second generation after the Civil Rights Movement.
Old 03-31-2004, 03:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Better than Ever!

Credits: 8,848
Allyuh making Valid Arguements.....

But here some Food for Thought: Asian americans... like chinese have a there own community "China town". They most of there business and shopping in that setting. Jews do it also, so does italians, "Lil italy"....Even are African bredren shop and do business with their own group. Isn't that Self-Inflicted Segregation. Indeed, no man or Culture is a an "Island"..But , charity does start at HOME.
Old 03-31-2004, 05:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
oh yehhhh!

Credits: 161
I agree with those who are saying that there's a difference between segregation and investing in your own. Blacks are still being discriminated against in this land like it or not. So it makes no sense for them to do for them and we to do for them too, while we are suffering. You think that the average non-minority is going to show an interest in getting our children out of the ghettos or improving the environment that they grow up in? The years have shown that the answer is NO. We are the ones that need to help up our own so that we can collectively grow as a people. That's the only way we'll ever reach equal status with the other groups in this place.

Playing "equality" is all well and good on a level playing field. But we have to get their first (become financially and socially on par with the other groups) before we can do this. Otherwise we will never reach
Old 03-31-2004, 06:01 PM   #12 (permalink)

I'm here trying to figure out how de argument gone from Integration vs. Segregation to one of 'Self-Assertiveness' vs. "Sit back and let massa help we' :rolleyes

Where are the folks ready to march for a return to Jim Crow...Dred Scott...drinking hot water from ah standpipe instead ah de whites-only cooler...second-hand school books...having no choice but to live in 'all-black' neighborhoods...

Rise up, ye segregationists and make Trent Lott, Jesse Helms and the Aryan Brotherhood proud....
Old 04-01-2004, 10:52 AM   #13 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,418
Originally posted by Bake 'N Shark
I'm here trying to figure out how de argument gone from Integration vs. Segregation to one of 'Self-Assertiveness' vs. "Sit back and let massa help we'
It's because you're mistakenly equating separation with jim crow segregation. And yur getting hung up on the word. Although King_Castle used the word 'segregation', he specifically talked about us having the "desire to build our own destiny, have our own resources and businesses, media markets, etc." That was the whole point of his post, not about jim crow.

And if u too didn't believe that we need such things, you wouldn't be here on IslandMix nor lamenting the demise of WLIB. No?
Old 04-01-2004, 12:36 PM   #14 (permalink)

Sometimes I really sit and wonder about you.

Originally posted by MysticReveller
It's because you're mistakenly equating separation with jim crow segregation. And yur getting hung up on the word. Although King_Castle used the word 'segregation', he specifically talked about us having the "desire to build our own destiny, have our own resources and businesses, media markets, etc." That was the whole point of his post, not about jim crow.

Sarcasm mystifies you...doesn't it? Do you seriously think that I was saying that folks were clamoring for the return to Jim Crow? Did that NOT strike you as facetious?

I don't pick and choose...KCR talked about folks lamenting what they view as the loss of some of the more 'positive' aspects of segregation. The question asked whether segregation promotes unity or division, my point is that yes, we might enjoy some relatively minor benefits by having to be more resourceful, but in the long run we hurt ourselves by 'segregating' away from global integration. Now tell me where the hell did I say anything about "we need to sit back and let massa help we" That's what you're essentially blaming me for...I'm the one who's confusing things...so now the argument get side-tracked. Presume to speak for KCR and others...don't presume to speak for me, thanks.

And if u too didn't believe that we need such things, you wouldn't be here on IslandMix nor lamenting the demise of WLIB. No?

I'm here on Imix to meet and integrate myself with caribbean people...I not looking tuh exclusive work/trade/hang with caribbean people...so no, not segregation. And when you find time show me where I ever lamented the demise of WLIB.
Old 04-01-2004, 12:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
oh yehhhh!

Credits: 161
Re: Segregation: Unity or Division

Originally posted by King_Castle_Rockz
Caribbean Folks who were here during the Civil rights movement say:

That Black Folks were more unified, the Black Dollar was stronger, and are position in society was more definite, the job market was stronger and such. They also mention that we had to build are own resources and businesses, media outlets, etc..

Some feel that because of end of segregation, Blacks have lost the desire to build there own destiny, and are too influence by White america. resulting in a Lack of direction, and a General Dysfunction.

How do all yuh feel about that?
Since when is there a Master and God of thread interpretation?

If we are truly doing what's best for our own businesses, etc ... wouldn't that include having as many customers as possible ... i.e. of all races? So where is the Jim Crow segregation in that idea? The man made reference to segregation to pinpoint a time in our history (where there was focus on improving our community), he never said that was the be all and end all of his post. Use those cabezas people