Old 04-09-2003, 08:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Habitual Line Stepper

Credits: 793
Angry Rudeness of People of Color

i find that when a black person doesn't know what another person's heritage is, they tend to act nasty towards that person. me being from the midwest, if you make eye contact with someone they usually say hi back, irregardless of race, sex, or color. being here in miami has made me very cynical of some black people because when i say hi, they don't think i'm one of them and don't say hi back. does it really matter that much what the hell i look like? if i say hi, say hi back and keep your comments and faces to your damn self...
Old 04-10-2003, 01:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
strength, courage, wisdom

Credits: 2,301
Re: Rudeness of People of Color

Originally posted by illuminati
i find that when a black person doesn't know what another person's heritage is, they tend to act nasty towards that person. me being from the midwest, if you make eye contact with someone they usually say hi back, irregardless of race, sex, or color. being here in miami has made me very cynical of some black people because when i say hi, they don't think i'm one of them and don't say hi back. does it really matter that much what the hell i look like? if i say hi, say hi back and keep your comments and faces to your damn self...
not sure how much I can agree with you on this one. I was born in NY but moved to the Midwest for a brief period a few years ago. Coming from a West Indian upbringing, yuh see people, yuh say good afternoon, etc. and I was not met with a welcoming reception 90% of the time. I got either the stares you talk about or the "do I know you??" stank response...so in my experiences, its just been like that everywhere here.

I don't think its a "black" or "white" thing. people don't tend to have that same common courtesy as you would find say in the west indies. Here, people are too busy concerned with themselves and what is going on with them, to even think to be friendly to a stranger. Granted, you can't always be friendly cause next thing yuh end up in trouble sometimes, but can it really hurt to say a simple hello??
Old 04-10-2003, 09:25 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 5,606
Illuminati what part of Miami you in?

I'm north miami beach and here to an extent they do say g morning and stuff say 20%. THe other times i just die laughin at them... I'll say have a nice day and stuff and they'll be stuttering in shock....

In kendall now..dem blasted people would not answer you for nuttin. Dey not very recpetive at all..i find... But I thnk is a west indian thing for real to be mannerly.
Old 04-10-2003, 09:34 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 2,686
Originally posted by bunjigarlindarlin

I'm north miami beach and here to an extent they do say g morning and stuff say 20%. THe other times i just die laughin at them... I'll say have a nice day and stuff and they'll be stuttering in shock....

In kendall now..dem blasted people would not answer you for nuttin. Dey not very recpetive at all..i find... But I thnk is a west indian thing for real to be mannerly.
I think its just rudeness across the board....
Old 04-10-2003, 02:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Empress at large

Credits: 527
I try my best to be polite and cordial to people - stranger or not. THis morning the man next to me on the train said have a nice day when I got up to exit and I replied very pleasantly "thank you and you too."

The bottom line is some people get drag up and others were raised well. What can I say.

For all the disrespectful people - hell's with them!:p
Old 04-10-2003, 04:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
a.k.a. Buss_Slippers

Credits: 641
Yes very true...it's just a difference in culture..I don't know if it's just those people in the urban areas of the West and East Coast..but some people are just self-absorbed and saying good morning in return would cost them too much time. I used to say good morning and hello to certain people and they would just grumble back a response. Well to hell wit them..if you're that miserable I'll just keep my mouth shut. When I leave New York I sometimes get taken back when a bus or cab driver says hello...it's just the fastpaced-every-man-for-themselves attitude in New York that i've gotten accustomed to..
Old 04-11-2003, 08:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Habitual Line Stepper

Credits: 793
Angry kendall people...*holding out hands in strangling motion*

Originally posted by bunjigarlindarlin
i live in kendall (right off of kendall drive) and they won't smile at you even if you gave them a million dollars to!

i don't speak to everybody, but if your making eye contact, say hi. if i'm looking at someone (even if i'm wondering what in the hell possessed them to leave the house looking like that) i say hi cause it's rude to stare. but, out of all the people that i may smile at or say hi to, i notice that it is west indians that will speak back the most. west indian culture seems much more open to different people to me. black american culture is open as well, but, i have found in my travels in the US, that it depends on what part of the country you are in.

i'm just glad that there are people who share my same sentiments...i was beginning to think i was mean