Old 11-10-2003, 09:46 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,710
the Royalty concept

do u guys in this modern age feel there is still a need for a Royal family (king/queen) since it is one of the oldest forms of government?

info:
http://www.royal.gov.uk/output/Page5.asp

salt
Old 11-10-2003, 03:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
dbadlad

I personally don't see the need. It should have been abolished a long time ago, especially when they do not participate in the running of their particular countries. In England, for example, the royal family receive funding from it's subjects despite being the riches citizens in the realm. All because of tradition. Yet the average citizen struggles to survive in a weak economy. Discard the royal system...I say.
Old 11-10-2003, 05:40 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 4,481
As much as I love the feeling of Royalty ie: mi name "Empress"*in which I do have another meaning behind it*, lol... In this day and age royalty should be a thing of the past! Royalty expresses a feel of a rank or a monarch, and I don't feel I am beneath the next person because their so called reign and staus in the world is not better than my family lineage!! I personally don't believe in exercising sovereign power a'tal!! Thanks also to a convo with a friend last night, we discussed this as well!
Old 11-11-2003, 03:02 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 5,077
This may surprise you Salt, but I am not totally against the idea of a royal family ruling over a state. This is not to say that I care for the British royal Family; that dysfunctional group of parasites on the British economy should have ben done away with years ago. I think the problem lies with the fact that we in the Diaspora have only known the British or to a much lesser extent the Dutch, Monaca and Spanish monarchies. Indeed, much of what we know about royalty at all has been by way of European text books about themselves. As such we are unaware about royalty in traditional African societies and the way they ruled their territorial-states.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not against the so-called “modern” system of democratic governments which is not modern at all. And that is just the thing; this system of democracy -- that is election by the common people -- has its roots in traditional African matrilineal societies and the election of monarchs by the councils-of-elders and the Royal Great Wife of the deceased king (in many cases she had the final say). Look at Pharaonic Egypt or even at the matrilineal Zulus of Southern Africa; decisions could not have been made unless the councils-of-elders were consulted. In the European model, on the other hand, the king’s word and whim was law; he brooked no opposition and he hardly ever consulted anyone for approval. Even after the monarchy gave way to some from of Republicanism, the “maximum leader” was retained in some form or another. The notion of a “chiefless state” as it existed in Africa was virtually unknown.

The funny thing here is that this notion of a democracy as it exists in the West is for the most part little more than voting every four or five years, but there is no real voice from the people in how their day-to-day lives are managed.

What I’m saying then, is that before we arbitrarily dismiss the concept of monarchy in favour of elected governments, let us look carefully at the many systems of governance, particularly what passes for democracy in the West, which is not democratic at all, and devise a new system that truly represents the voice of the people.
Old 11-14-2003, 05:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Steuuuupssss!

Credits: 6,223
Doh geh me started here, I am a resident of three commonwealth states...two of which the Queen id the head of state....Doh get me started about dem teifing people who I have to pay taxes to maintain.
I believe in Republicanism!
Old 11-14-2003, 11:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
ToFwAm

Credits: 220
don't see the need for them either
Old 11-17-2003, 10:48 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 1,086
i dont think so. over here, the duties that the queens and royals carry out can be done by the prime minister. as a matter of fact, besides knighting people and giving speeches, there isnt much that the queen does. people are so caught up in tradition that they just go along with it, however, i am quite marxist in my thoughts, so i think that we should just get rid of them. leave them with their riches and palaces and whatever, but take away the titles, they arent necessary.
Old 11-17-2003, 01:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,421
Yea, in ancient times, kings and queens were great and powerful rulers (some good, some bad) who actually got off their butts and ran their countries (what an amazing concept, huh?). The UK royalty seem like nothing more than a pompous, pretentious display of human greed and overabundance. Their only function can be to show how stratified society is between the haves and have-nots. They don't seem to have any good purpose in society.

It's a shame that the great kings and queens of ancient have to share a title with these figureheads.