Old 12-11-2005, 11:24 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 125
Roots

Anyways I am back !!!!!!!!!! Finally school stress yes....So it has been a year I was back in Trinidad for a while and New York and I want to go back so bad Canada killing meh man...

Ok my lil beef is ppl askin me whether I consider myself Trinidadian or of East Indian descent. Espicailly dem Indian ppl, Ok I consider myself a Trinidadian of East Indian Descent yes but not just one. I am both I was born in Trinidad but my forfather were from EI so. What allyuh feel??

Let me know.....
Old 12-12-2005, 12:04 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 698
what do you consider yourself...that's all that's important.

If you ask me though (and you are asking)...sounds like yuh'z ah Trini...

where's East India again? Besides, drop your ass off in Bombay, Delhi or Calcutta and yuh wouldn't know where tuh find de White House from de Outhouse...
Old 12-12-2005, 12:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Going home soon...

Credits: 5,421
Originally Posted by Carib_Chic
Anyways I am back !!!!!!!!!! Finally school stress yes....So it has been a year I was back in Trinidad for a while and New York and I want to go back so bad Canada killing meh man...

Ok my lil beef is ppl askin me whether I consider myself Trinidadian or of East Indian descent. Espicailly dem Indian ppl, Ok I consider myself a Trinidadian of East Indian Descent yes but not just one. I am both I was born in Trinidad but my forfather were from EI so. What allyuh feel??

Let me know.....
well juss be glad the rest wanna know....generally indo-carribean people get the shitty end of the welcome stick. i don understand you would coldnt be both and then it depends on what your underlying cultural practices are.
Old 12-12-2005, 06:41 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 21,821
Carib_Chic:

It's like THIS see........

Next time you passing thru the US......and US Homeland Security jack you at Gunpoint for looking like a Paki-----

-----you will see HOW QUICKLY you drop ALL OTHER REFERENCES to claim you are 100% Trini.
Old 12-12-2005, 08:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Kiz

Credits: 14,057
Originally Posted by marabunta
Carib_Chic:

It's like THIS see........

Next time you passing thru the US......and US Homeland Security jack you at Gunpoint for looking like a Paki-----

-----you will see HOW QUICKLY you drop ALL OTHER REFERENCES to claim you are 100% Trini.

Old 12-12-2005, 10:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,233
I would agree with you, to me you are both...

Trinidadian by nationality and culture
East Indian by heritage/descent and culture