Old 11-29-2005, 12:24 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,078
Role Models/Mentors

On the topic of Black Figures.....

Do you think that a mentor/role model should be the same race/culture as yourself to be effective?
Old 11-29-2005, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
PTM
Stolen from Africa

Credits: 251
Absolutely not. It may help some, but it is certainly not a prerequisite.
Old 11-29-2005, 12:43 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 5,078
It would help a great deal -- it certainly helps to have such a person who relates to the people s/he is trying to help -- but it indeed is not a prerequisite
Old 11-29-2005, 02:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 6,414
Cool

Originally Posted by Ananci_7
it certainly helps to have such a person who relates to the people s/he is trying to help
So yuh cyah relate tuh someone who eh of your race? I think it
has more to do with experience dan race.
Old 11-29-2005, 03:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 881
Originally Posted by p'tanimas
Absolutely not. It may help some, but it is certainly not a prerequisite.
agreed. I had a mentor who is white. He taught me a lot about business and how to hustle in ways people of color (that I knew at the time) had no knowledge of.
Old 11-29-2005, 04:52 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 5,078
Originally Posted by Soca Taliban
So yuh cyah relate tuh someone who eh of your race? I think it
has more to do with experience dan race.
Apparently yuh eh understand the meaning if the word prerequisite, or perhaps you didn’t see that part?

In any case empirical evidence shows that it does indeed help when someone who can relate to your experience serves as a mentor or model. Evidence also shows what happens when we fall into the trap of thinking that models, morals and experiences are universal. What applies to one person or culture may not apply to another. In North America alone the cultural realities of a Canadian will have certain differences with someone in Texas or even Montreal as opposed to Calgary.