The Key
Credits: 1,046
The Revolution Will Not Be Televised
I encourage you to take your time and view this documentary.
It is old but this documentary is on the coup that sought to overthrow Hugo Chavez as rightful president of Venezuela in the year 2002. I really hope that if you have a spare hour or so (and a fast connection) that you spend it watching this documentary. Hugo chavez and the Coup 2002 Would love to hear any comments AFTER you view. Thanks and I gone again. |
Credits: 56,873
: : Thanks, I'll check the documentary this evening. |
aka Karl Logan
Credits: 884
![]() I checked it out. Makes me hate the Us even more. Granted, there involvement in the Chavez Coup is highly speculatory, I know the depths this country will go to to get there point across. now. what would you like to discuss? ![]() |
Credits: 5,078
I saw this documentary two years ago when Gayelle TV showed it. They showed it again last week,I think. It is an excellent documentary and one that happened almost by chance. The camera crew just happened to be in Venezuela looking to make a documentary about Chavez and his reforms when the coup attempt happened.
I was in the service still and lot of interesting things happened around that time even in Trinidad as well. One of the little-known facts of that affair is that some of the news and reporting that was coming out of Venezuela, that is what was not being filtered through the mainstream international press, such as AP and Reuters was being done in collaboration with people based in Trinidad. they played a very important part in getting information out and keeping people informed during that time and in at least one subsequent interview Chavez acknowledged that and expressed his gratitude.
Credits: 701
Why do you describe their actions as "depths"? ...anyone can feel free to respond as well. |
Ever heard of Operation Northwoods? "Hate" however, while perhaps too extreme an emotion, is nonetheless understandable in some cases.
Chavez came to power through coup, that said, if the US believes he's a threat to democracy, why is support to more pro-Democracy factions that great an evil? |
xtremeintl.com
Credits: 11,426
Do these pro-democracy factions intend on removing Chavez thru democratically-elected means? i.e. the same means that he is currently in power? He is a popularly-elected leader, no? Last edited by Mystic Xtremist; 07-19-2006 at 01:27 AM.. |
Credits: 24,375
but then again Bishop was a threat to Democracy |
The Key
Credits: 1,046
Did you watch the clip, Bakes? Kev and Bacchanal Diva: Hi! Hope all is well. |
You also hardly ever bother to find out the background on a given theme or verify even when it is explained to you. I say this b/c this is not the first time I brought up Operation Northwoods. And furthermore, this is not shifting from this particular issue at all; it’s about citing past examples to look for patterns and placing things in historical context. Something our “educated” US friends hardly ever bother to do which is why they could never fathom the level of hate and resentment many people feel towards them in the so-called Third World and Middle East. By now I imagine you would have realised that this Operation Northwoods was a plan devised by the CIA and certain people in the State Department to invade Cuba by staging attacks including strafing and aerial bombing operations as well as by shooting and explosive attacks against US people and installations. This was to be done by US people dressed to look as Cubans and using aircraft with Cuban markings. The public outcry would then encourage a full scale military invasion of the island and remove Castro. This is not the first or last time such a thing has been conceptualised. The infamous Gulf of Tonkin incident that precipitated massive US involvement in Vietnam is another and one of the theories surrounding the destruction of the battleship Maine in Havana’s harbour that sparked the Spanish-American War is that the ship’s magazine was deliberately blown up and by agents for the US. Note also that many people in Washington who advise the president are either serving or former military people who understand the concept of sacrificing the lives of a portion of one’s own troops in order to achieve an even greater objective such as to flush out a target into the open. I myself knew of this concept/tactic; it’s an often unspoken thing that has a myriad of variations in military and even VIP escort operations. if the US believes he's a threat to democracy, why is support to more pro-Democracy factions that great an evil To even ask that question shows how innocent one can be about how the US and Europe pay only lip service to their own much-touted ideals. The US only supports democratic principles when it can be manipulated to serve their own narrow interests; “democracy” to this day is a vague, scarcely defined term that is hardly ever more than a people voting in a basically elitist administration every 4 or 5 years and having the press say whatever it feels like. While freedom of the press is very important and laudable, it can be used to undermine the very democracy it serves. More importantly, real “people power”; the ability of the population to have an active and constant say in the running of their country is something that the West has a serious problem with when it applies to developing countries. All this hollow nonsensical talk about exporting “freedom and democracy” to the people of the world, tell me, why then, didn’t they respect the functioning democracies of Iran under Mossadegh, Guatemala under Arbenz in the 1950s; Congo under Lumumba, Chile under Allende in 1973 (September 11, 1973); Jagan in Guyana and Venezuela under Chavez today? (And that is just a few examples) I think Kissinger summed it up pretty nicely when he was referring to the Chilean people: I don't see why we need to stand by and watch a country go communist because of the irresponsibility of its own people.
Lol...I really have to laugh at you sometimes oui...
aka Karl Logan
Credits: 884
I see it as the same thing that's being done with Hamas being voted by the people to lead Palestine, yet the US will not deal with such "Terrorist" organizations. What is democracy if the person/people elcted are not allowed to do there job because of the political/financial interests that are held by other people/factions? as for the depths question, you know what these people are capable of doing. Look at what happened to the president of Haiti as an example that comes to mind. The Chavez situation from the documentary seems like it's the same thing. The US diplomatic strategy under this Presidency has been nothing short of sporadic and agressive, yet unclear as to what there true agenda is (besides making money from oil). Another example is how skewd our media outlets can be. The truth can be made to seem like a lie depending on which media outlet chooses to do what with it. The Irsael/Palestine/Lebanon fiasco makes it look as though Israel is "defending" itself, when anyone with common sense knows that it doesn't take the death of hundreds to justify one missing person. |
I don't profess to know everything, never have...never will. That which I know of I speak of and unlike some, I have no problems stating when I don't know something
Obviously never reading what you yourself write Who decided that it was corrupt...Chavez? How was he different than the plotters who now look at his own presidency as corrupt?....the principle is the same, if it's good for the goose, it's good for the gander. Plotting to overthrow Chavez is no more evil than Chavez plotting to overthrow earlier regimes. What exactly do you know about Venezuela's history and the realities of its social constructs? What do you even know about the recent referandum? You could have saved your fingers the work, imix some bandwith and yourself a whole lot of long talk by simply beginning with the above paragraph. Sorry, tried that already, doesn't work. I have to spell things out for you. That robotic mentality is kinda reminiscent of how soldiers "think". Were you in the army by chance? I suppose that was evidence of the 'Great Satan' at work too huh? lol Well, infant, trivialise and reduce things to simplistic levels it if you must. Seems to be the only way you can discuss anything
Arrite pardna, unbunch yuh panties now...we could feel free to go back ignoring each other ![]() QOS I ent fuhget yuh...Kev too, responding when I can, the simple stuff first, but that's taken care of now. |

: Thanks, I'll check the documentary this evening.