Steuuuupssss!
Credits: 6,225
Respect
I have noticed as a black sister, that alot of our brothers don´t respect us.
Walking down the road, the things that they would bawl out! Is that supposed to attract somebody??? Steups? Why is it that some brothers speak to us like that? Alot of it is unwarranted. |
Credits: 5,078
Has it occured to you that much of the problem stems from the way males have been schooled and socialised in this society?
I am not going to excuse the behaviour of my fellow menfolk but looking at the root of this behaviour, it became apparent to me that this stemmed from the traditional view in Western European societies that women are not human but objects and excess baggage fit only for the purpose of bearing children. We have to understand that in the collective outlook of Western society, born out of the harsh, wintry steppes of ancient Eurasia, one must always CONTROL the things around them, rather than live in harmony. In the case of gender relations, the man must control the woman, she must be subservient to him and the lewd coments directed toward women by men must be read in the context of that element of the Eurocentric ethic that seeks to dehumanise and demoralise the woman in order to better control her. For this process to be reversed, tehressa, there must be a profound re-education attempt on our part. Not an easy thing, particularly since if such a thing is done, one of the very first things to be deconstructed is the huge role Christianity and for that matter all organised religions, have played in the perpetuation of this negative aspect of us. |
Re: Respect
It happened to me the other day.... "yo shorty, sexy, yo you don't hear me calling you, oh you too cute to answer huh?" Why, if you called once and I don't answer, assume I'm deaf please. If you think that's your way of complimenting me, think again. Becasue the first pig you did it to answered don't mean every other woman will answer. Some brothers (MEN on the whole, cause I get it from white men too) need to cut it out, its not becoming at all.Gain respect, learn it and make it a part of your everyday being. |
Credits: 1,711
i have been suited a few times b4 from women. i take it as flattery most times and laff and play along. howeva, when fellas want 2 chat a lady it can be a whole different story. i have stood right next 2 some real disrespectful fella's that get blank when the women ignores em. 1 instance after being ignored he turns and looks at me and is like 'oh she a bit$h n e way' (and a few other things i won't mention).
i think them fella's and dem will get much further by a simple 'hello, how u goin?' type a ting. even if it goes nowhere it's a lot nicer and less embarrassing than giving the ape approach and feelin embarass like dey pee themselves in public. ananci-7
salt |
Maybe an apology on behalf of all males is warranted. Unsure this would accomplish much. However, I say this. Don't listen! Cast a blind ear! Yes, I know this may be difficult but it is necessary.
Some men make up for their lack of social qualities with preshitoric and demeaning vocal attempts to lure women. This, sometimes, is a feeble attempt to bolster their fragile confidence. You would be amazed how sometimes a timely and witty comeback would stop them in their tracks. Not everyone has this ability. So I say. Keep your head up, continue walking and resist a reply. This would a long way into stopping the degrading behavor. Yes, I was brought up correct. D Bad Lad |
Breezy Chic
Credits: 138
I hate it when they disrespect woman like that. I for one think it has something to do with pride. Why don't men respect women. Do they think we are all alike or that we deserve just one kind of treatment. But I guess that is how men are brought up ( to boss everything and keep woman on second hand like a piece of meat. they should know now that this is a new generation.
strength, courage, wisdom
Credits: 2,306
i agree that men can be disrespectful in the way they approach women. but i'm not going to put all men in this category and i can't blame men 100%.
as annoyed as most of us on here get with this type of rude behavior, i've witnessed many women RESPONDING to this nonsense! there are some women that maybe just don't have as much respect for themselves and are flattered by this nonsense. If this technique didn't work, these fellas would try something else, but it works on some women so they continue to do it. |
I for one do not find it cute in how they “holla”
at woman these days, with the “yo” and the “mommy” and can’t forget the “shawty”. I can’t stand how they want to touch you when you are walking that shite makes me soooo : ,( many guys get their hands slap away). Also when you doh answer them, you are getting called a b---ch or they are saying“you are not even all of that anyway”. They are not only disrespectful but also childish that’s why I don’t give them the time of day. ANyway I feel this has a lot to do with the way they was brought up. If respect isn't taught at home its definetely not going to be outside. |
Prisons
Great African Kings

It happened to me the other day.... "yo shorty, sexy, yo you don't hear me calling you, oh you too cute to answer huh?" Why, if you called once and I don't answer, assume I'm deaf please. If you think that's your way of complimenting me, think again. Becasue the first pig you did it to answered don't mean every other woman will answer. Some brothers (MEN on the whole, cause I get it from white men too) need to cut it out, its not becoming at all.
at woman these days, with the “yo” and the “mommy” and can’t forget the “shawty”. I can’t stand how they want to touch you when you are walking that shite makes me soooo
: ,( many guys get their hands slap away). Also when you doh answer them, you are getting called a b---ch or they are saying“you are not even all of that anyway”. They are not only disrespectful but also childish that’s why I don’t give them the time of day. ANyway I feel this has a lot to do with the way they was brought up. If respect isn't taught at home its definetely not going to be outside.