meximadness
Credits: 647
religious or not...
hello all...
i was raised catholic but didn't do my first communion or my confirmation. my mom didn't really force religion on us...and i didn't really feel so passionately about it. 'til this day i haven't read the bible entirely - just bits and pieces for school. during the past few years i've heard more talk about religion - of course, the situation overseas...9/11...etc. my boyfriend talks about god and the bible often. but i don't necessarily agree with all of his views. actually, we're in constant disagreement. anyway, the other day i'm in the elevator at work and i try to make conversation with someone who works in the building. i happen to know he's muslim. so, i say 'crazy weather, huh?' and he says 'u gotta think if its only the weather or is it God that wants it like this'. i just smiled and laughed to myself. all i was doing was making small talk - i didn't wish to get into any great debate about God or religion. a few days later, a lady walks in the elevator (again, at work) and we're the only two inside. she gets off before me but before she leaves she says 'God is coming' and smiles at me. with all that's going on in the world today, how many of you believe its destiny/God's will or what? i like to think i have certain control over my life and also that i will be judged within my lifetime. i don't feel too strongly about judgement day or thereafter. i feel if anything is to happen, it will happen while we are still living. i realize this post will start up some heavy discussion but i'd just like to know others' perspectives - let's try to 'read' each other out... |
Credits: 5,077
Well, Dimples, if you and your boyfriend don’t come to some amicable agreement – such as agreeing to disagree – I predict a very short-lived relationship.
I personally, no longer believe in or approve of any organised religion; I tell people I am an atheist in the truest sense of the term (against/opposed to religion, NOT necessarily dismissing the existence of a Divine force). I do believe in the presence of a Divine but I have done far too much research into the origin and development of religion to blindly subscribe to the simplistic myths we were fed on from childhood. I think there is far too much romanticism attached to religious beliefs, particularly as it applies to the three main faiths – Judaism, Christianity (Xianity) and Islam. Indeed I think that the attitudes displayed by many validate Karl Marx’s dismissive view of religion as the opium of the masses. I am also alarmed by the resigned way many people accept the events of the world today as simply being “God’s will” as was “written in the scripture”. Absolute rubbish. But then, most people are only told the theological aspect of their faiths, the actual HISTORY is what is kept hidden. The manipulation of Christian beliefs and doctrines, for instance, to provide justification for political expansion from the early Roman empire to the rise of Europe and the US are things hardly ever discussed in any place of worship. This is particularly the case among many people in the Caribbean. I don’t know if you can relate to what I’m saying but historically, in the Caribbean, particularly among the British-held colonies, religion was the principal institution used to maintain social control. It was specifically manipulated so that colonised Africans, Indians, Chinese, etc., would accept their social station and not attempt to challenge the status quo. Long after the coloniser left the effects from such socialisation remained and continues to exert a strong influence. Anyway. If the events of the world over the last few months show anything at all, it shows exactly why religion has no place in important decision making unless there are serious informed understanding of the origins of religious ideas. When people are guided by a fundamentalist interpretation of their faith, there is little or no room for understanding, dialogue or tolerance and, if they also maintain a millenlialist outlook AND have access to awesome weapons, then one should really keep a close eye on any move they make. I’ll hold off further comments until later, I’m sure that this topic is going to generate further discussion. |
Credits: 1,710
there r many different religions in this world and at birth u'r influenced from parents, guardians, family and environment to join the predominant religion there (should u choose). n e religion u join would make u a firm believer in that it's religous beliefs r the right way to follow and base u'r life on.
if u question the faith u r sold on, try divuling or getting a taste of the different religions/beliefs/ or even cults :) to decide where 2 place u'r mind frame. or have no religion and live with good morals. salt |
look meh!
Credits: 1,115
Well, I am somewhat in the same boat as Ananci in that I do not believe in, follow or truly associate myself to any religion. Although I've never done much research on it's origin, I've always questioned its purpose. I've always wondered that if everybody ultimatly has the same purpose (being to praise the almighty), then why do we really need religion? In my opinion, it has caused more disagreement, wars, and division among people then it has done any good. Religious groups only have one thing in common, and that is their belief in a higher power, everything else gives reason for them not to see eye to eye. Jews don't like because of whatever, Catholics don't like this group for some reason, and the list goes on. I personally am a strong believer in God, but simply rely on my will to make that connectionl.
religion, religion, religion
Hello All,
I tried so hard to resist replying to this post. Not because of the originator but because of strong deep-seeded feelings that this subject matter infuses. Alas, I cannot resist and the material is beginning to haunt me. So here I am. Anyway, dimples...I too was raised Catholic. Obtained first communion and confirmed. As most, I ended up questioning religion, it's rationale and purpose. Why is there a need for so many etc? I have come to realize that as we know it, there may not be a being (God, Yahweh, Buddha etc), however the human race seems to reach out to a being. One unseen, unheard but somehow felt. I believe this feeling is called FAITH, and this is a very powerful emotion. There are people that go along with their day to day activities without thought about their existence or purpose. It is as if they are simply there...because! There are others that, in their minds, realize that they are here for a purpose and because of that, there must be something or someone driving said purpose, behind the picture. Look at the Bible. It has been analyzed by scientists, historians, religious clerics, anthropologists etc. I believe it gives us clues to our past and it give us life guidelines. It does not mean that you have to follow blindly, as most radicals do. but you could use it as a template, should you desire. Yet, wars are fought over it's intepretation. People meet in elevators and dispel annecdotes regarding God's will! A man named Nostradamus wrote a book, which I believe is an intepretation of the same Bible. Yet we continue to question. I say... live your lives. Believe in what is best for you. Do not let anyone impose their beliefs upon you. If you believe in someone or something, then continue. As long as it enriches your life. I await replies with baited breath. I will be out of town for the weekend, therefore, I will not post until next Monday. Happy Mother's Day to all the mothers out there and best regards to the rest. D Bad Lad |
Steuuuupssss!
Credits: 6,207
Guys, I have read what you had to say, and respect your points. I personally will not go to church or mosque or in a temple, that is not for me, i don´t get much out of that. But I believe that religion brings discipline and order to the lives of some. And I also believe that it is also the start of alot of wars and disputes. If you feel the need to believe in a greater being, if it brings you peace in your life...do so. It makes sense to me.
Credits: 2,683
I'm not religious, but consider myself spiritual and a believer in God. This is just something to think about...
I took a Philosophy class in college and this was an argument that the professor gave. "God is either ALMIGHTY or ALL-LOVING but cannot be both". His argument was... If God is almighty, then he has the power to do anything and make anything happen. If God is all-loving, then he would have the want/desire for all things to be "good". So, if he were both, he would bannish all evil and bad things because he would have the power and the desire to do so. Since evil and "bad" still exists, then he cannot be both. He must be either or. (These are not my views, just an argument brought up by a former professor.) |
Credits: 121
I am a believer in an Almighty God although I am not a church goer nor do I follow any particular religion. I also believe that a lot of what we see going on are signs of the times.
Believing in a higher being has been proven to have positive affects on people's lives. Whether it is because people's faith give them strength or because of the power of a divine is unknown. Orgainized religions might not be something to follow, because I think they have all been corrupted in some way but I do have faith and belief in something higher than ourselves. |
hum hum
well i was born and raised as a catholic, i did my fisrt communion but i left my country before my confirmation. before i came to canada it was never a question in my mind whether i believe in God or religion, for me it was a truth just like the sky is blue. but coming here my parents were more relaxed on the religious point of view, and i think that it was a good thing. not that i felt that it was impose on me back home but here i had the chance to really ask myself what does believing in God really meant for me. it took me a long time to realize and to come up with an answer, ot that i have a complete answer.
so the mistake that most people often do is to mix believing in God and practicing a religion. not to offend anyone, there is only God and he died for us. i really don't agree when i hear people say that it is the same God for all the religion that it doesn't matter if u are moslem jewish, hindou or anything else. believing in God doesn't mean for me practicing a religion, God according to me is not about religion but one's relation to God. and all one need to have a relation with God is the holy bible. and for the thing that if God was all loving he would make sure to let only good thign happening, but we should not forget that he made us free to chose which side to take, his or the other. we should remember that he made allegence with the jews in the old testament but they turned him down, if we do everything to put God out of our lives why are we expecting God to be good to us. anyway i don't have all the answer and i don't think anyone will ever does. so there is one place to fimnd the answer is the bible, and if it seems to hard to read sometimes, i think that it better to ask God to help us understand the message he gave and the strenght and the will to let it reach our heart. |
Credits: 37
Credits: 5,077
Poca
I recognise your Catholic upbringing and that it still has a profound influence on your thought process. perhaps you should do some research into the origins and development of your faith and its beliefs "He died for us, etc", at the very least you may rethink the notion about who or what "god" is and it may also cause you to rethink the notion that the Divine is exclusively a "he". Perhaps then you will understand why people like myself argue the ALL faiths worship the same entity, and why I dumped Christianity (Xianity) and all organised religions |
i too was raised catholic, made first communion and confirmation and went to church constantly because my grandmother said so. when i left trini and came here, i didn't go as much but what made me stop going completely, was the fact that i wasn't allowed to go because my husband wasn't catholic. i refused to allow the church to dictate how i should live and with whom so my husband and i decided not to go to church to prove anything to anyone. we are deeply spiritual people and live moral lives and we are raising our children according to our values. if they want to go to church when they get older, that is on them. i will not force it upon them as it was forced on me. i have no regrets about having to go to church when i was younger because we were taught not to question authority and we didn't. it is my choice not to go to church in order to prove my faith and belief in God. i do that in the privacy of my home and my children follow suit. that is the way i feel and it's not going to change.
Hi everyone...At this point in my life spirituality is causing me so much confusion. I am from the U.S. and religion was spoon fed to me from an early age. I have never felt completely comfortable in a any place or worship. I have tried to "Let go, Let GOD" as people say. With me, that statement just doesn't make much sense. We have control over our lives. Everything with religion is so complicated. Personally, I would truly like to embrace GOD. I believe that there is a higher power, but the Bible tends to lack common sense. What Ananci_7 said about organized religion and colonialism is so true. I am filled with so much guilt about my lack of faith. I can remember bible studies as a child. I constantly had questions that were met with responses that were not answers. I was told so many times that I lacked faith. My entire life I have tried to embrace religion and have not be able to because the Bible does not make sense. I feel guilt even typing this and I probably could never vocalize these thoughts. At times I think it would be better if parents never took their children to church at all. That statement is so blasphemous. Religion surely screwed up my way of thinking. Hopefully, you guys have some thoughts for me.