Old 04-05-2006, 01:44 AM   #16 (permalink)
The Key

Credits: 1,041
Originally Posted by raggamuffin_
where was this?...

i aint seen the movie...(probably because) i figured it was just some "racism is a matter personal prejudice, and not institutional inequality and underdevelopment...every body is prejudiced (so you can't blame whites, or make them we-are-the-world white hippies feel uncomfortable)...and the solution to racism is to get together, holding hands and singing "kumbaya" rubbish...which is how this article frames it...
Central Florida, Bush Country.
Old 04-05-2006, 01:49 AM   #17 (permalink)

Credits: 696
Originally Posted by raggamuffin_
but you do see the difference between racial prejudice and institutional racism, right?....
If you understand the difference between 'racial prejudice and institutional racism'...then you won't have any problems with 'Crash'...easily the most socially conscious, most provocative movie in decades.
Old 04-05-2006, 01:55 AM   #18 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Queen of Sanity
What you talkin bout Willis? lol
I was just coming to slap you wid de 'Captain Obvious' award fuh pointing out to de folkses that these two felluz is white

Robert Jensen and Robert Wosnitzer
you know what I'm talking about Kimberley...
Old 04-05-2006, 01:59 AM   #19 (permalink)
The Key

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
I was just coming to slap you wid de 'Captain Obvious' award fuh pointing out to de folkses that these two felluz is white

you know what I'm talking about Kimberley...
lol...

Last edited by Light360; 04-05-2006 at 02:04 AM..
Old 04-05-2006, 02:39 AM   #20 (permalink)
Wastin Time

Credits: 3,327
this article is a waste of time.

5 mims ill never get back..sigh
Old 04-05-2006, 09:23 AM   #21 (permalink)
RasYardHindian

Credits: 356
the essay may have some merit within its context i.e it being a movie. If it does some let white people off the hook, then so does DW Griffiths Birth of A Nation

QoS: : I know of a similar event in '03

Oto: are you 7'? they just love jumping you dont they? Ohio of all places. back in Oct., Neo-Nazi's tried to invade some town near Toledo(??) tensions seem high there
Old 04-05-2006, 10:49 AM   #22 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Credits: 711
Originally Posted by Simon S
Oto: are you 7'? they just love jumping you dont they? Ohio of all places. back in Oct., Neo-Nazi's tried to invade some town near Toledo(??) tensions seem high there
I haven't lived in Oh since the 90s I lived in NY till 2005 when I went to SC for military training and now I reside in Atlanta.
7'? What does that have to do with this thread?
Old 04-05-2006, 02:15 PM   #23 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,418
Originally Posted by article
Let us be clear: "Crash" is not a racist movie, in the sense of crudely using overtly racist stereotypes. It certainly doesn't present the white characters as uniformly good; most are clueless or corrupt. Two of the non-white characters (a Latino locksmith and an Iranian doctor) are the most virtuous in the film. The characters and plot lines are complex and often intriguing. But "Crash" remains a white-supremacist movie because of what it refuses to bring into the discussion.

At this point in our critique, defenders of the film have suggested to us that we expect too much, that movies tend to deal with issues at this personalized level and we can't expect more. This is evasion. For example, whatever one thinks of its politics, another recent film, "Syriana," presents a complex institutional analysis of U.S. foreign policy in an engaging fashion. It's possible to produce a film that is politically sophisticated and commercially viable. Haggis is clearly talented, and there's no reason to think he couldn't have deepened the analysis in creative ways.

Originally Posted by synopsis of "Syriana"
From writer/director Stephen Gaghan, winner of the Best Screenplay Academy Award for 'Traffic,' comes 'Syriana,' a political thriller that unfolds against the intrigue of the global oil industry. From the players brokering back-room deals in Washington to the men toiling in the oil fields of the Persian Gulf, the film's multiple storylines weave together to illuminate the human consequences of the fierce pursuit of wealth and power. As a career CIA operative (George Clooney) begins to uncover the disturbing truth about the work he has devoted his life to, an up-and-coming oil broker (Matt Damon) faces an unimaginable family tragedy and finds redemption in his partnership with an idealistic Gulf prince (Alexander Siddig). A corporate lawyer (Jeffrey Wright) faces a moral dilemma as he finesses the questionable merger of two powerful U.S. oil companies, while across the globe, a disenfranchised Pakistani teenager (Mazhar Munir) falls prey to the recruiting efforts of a charismatic cleric. Each plays their small part in the vast and complex system that powers the industry, unaware of the explosive impact their lives will have upon the world.
Wow this sounds really good. I'll have to track this down in lower Manhattan or wait till June for the DVD. Anyone seen this?
Old 04-05-2006, 03:03 PM   #24 (permalink)
The Key

Originally Posted by Mystic Xtremist

Wow this sounds really good. I'll have to track this down in lower Manhattan or wait till June for the DVD. Anyone seen this?
I haven't but it sounds like my kind of movie to watch.
Old 04-05-2006, 03:40 PM   #25 (permalink)

Didn't get very good reviews....weak plot, preachy etc. etc....

Haven't seen it, but who knows

QOS...spill it.
Old 04-05-2006, 03:46 PM   #26 (permalink)
The Key

Haven't seen it, but who knows

QOS...spill it.

Old 04-05-2006, 03:48 PM   #27 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Really? I found an overwhelming majority of good reviews, as many if not more than "Crash"....

http://movies.yahoo.com/shop?d=hv&id...1296&cf=critic
Old 04-05-2006, 03:53 PM   #28 (permalink)

Really? I found an overwhelming majority of good reviews, as many if not more than "Crash"....

http://movies.yahoo.com/shop?d=hv&id...1296&cf=critic
Got panned from what I remember

QOS
Old 04-05-2006, 04:03 PM   #29 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

perchance some external influence on DC-area movie critics reviewing political movies??
we might have to investigate this
Old 04-05-2006, 09:42 PM   #30 (permalink)
The Key

QOS