Old 08-09-2005, 03:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Guyanese blood in me

Credits: 141
Race Categorizing

Sorry, i needed somewhere to let go of some frustration. I was gonna post this as a reply to a topic, but it needs to be read by all. Maybe people will begin to realize that this needs to be changed on surveys/questionaries.

That dreadful question you have to answer under many applications asking personal info wanting to know your race. When will they start expanding on the basic categories? We are not all Caucasian, African-American, Asian, Latina, Pacific Islander, or Native American. WHATS THE POINT OF ASKING IF HALF OF THE D#MN POPULATION DOESN'T FALL IN A CATEGORY? Yes, there will always be someone left out but does anyone notice that we need to be recognized too?

I'm still waiting for the West Indian-Indian category to be recognized as a damn race. We are people that should be recognized as something more than OTHER!!!!!!!!!!! that damn other box is shutting us off from everything. blasted scholarships annoy me when they ask for a specific racial group. Where is the scholarships for the minorities that get no representation?

I don't wanna hear no smart @ss giving me any crap about its out there either. Cause if it is, make the crap more available for students to find. But its more than just a scholarship. If the gov fails to recognize the growing races that are not being listed, then eliminate the question and just ask if you are human d@mmit!
Old 08-09-2005, 03:28 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 14,226
west indian is not a race. when will ppl understand that?

so NO, you can't have a check box wit "guyanese" nex to it, or any other country. that could go unda nationality. you could pick "other" if you mixed and want to include both IMHO.
Old 08-09-2005, 03:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wastin Time

Credits: 3,333
Originally Posted by MsLady08
Sorry, i needed somewhere to let go of some frustration. I was gonna post this as a reply to a topic, but it needs to be read by all. Maybe people will begin to realize that this needs to be changed on surveys/questionaries.

That dreadful question you have to answer under many applications asking personal info wanting to know your race. When will they start expanding on the basic categories? We are not all Caucasian, African-American, Asian, Latina, Pacific Islander, or Native American. WHATS THE POINT OF ASKING IF HALF OF THE D#MN POPULATION DOESN'T FALL IN A CATEGORY? Yes, there will always be someone left out but does anyone notice that we need to be recognized too?

I'm still waiting for the West Indian-Indian category to be recognized as a damn race. We are people that should be recognized as something more than OTHER!!!!!!!!!!! that damn other box is shutting us off from everything. blasted scholarships annoy me when they ask for a specific racial group. Where is the scholarships for the minorities that get no representation?

I don't wanna hear no smart @ss giving me any crap about its out there either. Cause if it is, make the crap more available for students to find. But its more than just a scholarship. If the gov fails to recognize the growing races that are not being listed, then eliminate the question and just ask if you are human d@mmit!

ok let me see..

mark asian - race
mark west indian - ethnicity
mark country - trinidad, guyana , jamaica..wherever you come from.

That'll be 10 bucks.
Attached Images

Old 08-09-2005, 04:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Guyanese blood in me

Credits: 141
Sharkie I never said i want a Guyanese box. Im still not a guyanese either.

Dutty im not Asian. I wasn't born in Asia and neither were my parents and great grans. I was born in the U.S. but i dont even feel American in my own country.

West Indian needs to be a race. look at all the carribean people being categoried as african americans and they neva met an african yet?

nobody eva correct the jew that claim hes not white, he's jewish. Let them have their own category, they got their own everything else.

what is an indian from a different part of the world? they refer to natives as indians but their not from asia either.

whos the philosopher on this site? Somebody help me out

Ummm, by the way Dutty, you should have to pay me $10 for posting that shupid dance in my thread. lol. Hold on, lemme call the Sandman to get you off the stage

Last edited by MsLady08; 08-09-2005 at 04:06 AM..
Old 08-09-2005, 06:18 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 21,816
Mslady08:

West Indian is a MISTAKE made by Columbus---------who didn't know where the F*ck he was.

If Columbus had set sail looking for China------you would be know as a West Chinese instead.
Old 08-09-2005, 08:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,231
Thank you, MsLady. I just made a somewhat similar thread in Talk of the Day.HERE Well, it was kind of a little rant.

Truth is that over half of the population does fall in those boxes. West Indians are a groups similar to Hispanics in that we are made of of many races. That problem is that we are a very small population and thus get overlooked. Some applications dont even have an other option though so when it's there...I'm fine being an 'other.'
Old 08-09-2005, 08:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,231
Originally Posted by sharkbait
west indian is not a race. when will ppl understand that?

so NO, you can't have a check box wit "guyanese" nex to it, or any other country. that could go unda nationality. you could pick "other" if you mixed and want to include both IMHO.
That's not true either Darkie. The choices are for RACE/ETHNICITY. West Indian is not a race but it is an ethnicity. Hispanic is an ethnicity as well, not a race. The government could provide it but we are small enough of an ethnic group in the U.S. for the govt. to ignore and that is exactly what they do.

Check some college/grad school apps and on the census -

Under Hispanic will provide the option to check country of origin: Puerto Rican, Chicano, Cuban, Other (specify) etc. Sometimes the option is given under Asian but never from Caribbean Indians, and for Native Americans. It has to do with the fact that our ethnicity is small.
Old 08-09-2005, 08:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 873
Originally Posted by currygyal
That's not true either Darkie. The choices are for RACE/ETHNICITY. West Indian is not a race but it is an ethnicity. Hispanic is an ethnicity as well, not a race. The government could provide it but we are small enough of an ethnic group in the U.S. for the govt. to ignore and that is exactly what they do.

Check some college/grad school apps and on the census -

Under Hispanic will provide the option to check country of origin: Puerto Rican, Chicano, Cuban, Other (specify) etc. Sometimes the option is given under Asian but never from Caribbean Indians, and for Native Americans. It has to do with the fact that our ethnicity is small.
agreed.

Do you that by 2010, the Latino population will supplant the African american community as being the largest minority in this country. If I'm a white man who'se running things in this nation, that is definately something to pay attention to.
Old 08-09-2005, 08:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
L O S T

Credits: 43,448
Amazing.........
Sometimes I must force myself to believe certain questions/posts are NOT rhetorical in nature........

Last edited by .; 08-09-2005 at 09:03 AM..
Old 08-09-2005, 10:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 6,412
Cool

Dies why ah does check a different box every time!
Old 08-09-2005, 11:00 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 1,114
how bout Human... yeah thats my race cuz dey en never going to get my ethnicity right. lol
Old 08-09-2005, 11:04 AM   #12 (permalink)
30 Never looked this good

Credits: 17,433
Originally Posted by Soca Taliban
And de sad thing is I can so picture you doing it as well...
Old 08-09-2005, 11:16 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 91
Originally Posted by Soca Taliban
Let's Pray

Lord Jesus, You said, "where two or more gather in My name, I will be in their midst".
Fill us Lord with the Holy Spirit, we are children of God.
We claim the precious blood of Jesus Christ.
We are your servants Lord, use us.
We love you Lord with all our hearts and souls.
Please heal us, physically, mentally and spiritually from the tops of our heads to the tips of our toes.
Take anything that is not of You, Lord Jesus, from us.
We pray today for all those things,
you know better than we do what our needs are.
We ask you to lead us to the path You want us to follow, Lord.
Help us to be strong.
Give us energy, Lord to do Your will.
We pray for the health, happiness, and safety of our loved ones.
We pray to be the people our loved ones would like us to be
and that our loved ones become the people we would like them to be.
Help us to be heros, Lord, as we stand in the light of your undying love.
Help us to share You with others, give us the words to say.
Help them to have hearts made of flesh, Lord.
Give us wisdom to speak and reason,
discernment to know the truth,
and love as Yours Lord, to be You for those in need of help.

Lord Jesus, please let Your light shine through our eyes,
attracting those who need to know the truth and knowing when to speak Your word.

Lord, we are merely human, help us to overcome these human failing
Old 08-09-2005, 11:16 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 24,368
there are other ways to extend your influence..
Old 08-09-2005, 11:34 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 1,661
Race/Ethnicity

Race/Ethnicity is a social construct and therefore would be always be controversal based on its impact on identity and "those doing the constructing".