Old 06-16-2008, 01:13 PM   #61 (permalink)

Originally Posted by dollbabi View Post
This is my point...

Color references are recent among this groups - not widespread - and are not considered an IDENTITY.
What dih?!

Yellow is also traditionally associated with the Chinese people in our own culture, because of the mythology of the Yellow Emperor and the Han people's origin in the Yellow River Valley - yellow is an imperial colour and an ethnonationalist one to some extent, identifying the fertility of the yellow-coloured silty Yellow river with the life-force of the people.

Read it. Re-read it. They did not actually use the english word "yellow" but instead used the Chinese word. My Chinese co-worker here has confirmed this. What more yuh want?!
Old 06-16-2008, 01:27 PM   #62 (permalink)
I'm on the Rock

So the topic discussion is what again? To sum all this talking trying to explain if the Ancient Egyptians calling them selves black, they never called themselves black. In regards to certain drawings on the walls depicting different skin tones of characters,showing characters to be a little lighter or darker was usually depicting those occupying that area through the eyes of the artist. Like NYC, all of a sudden i start drawing what and who i see around me, more than likely the Chinese, black, whites, Mexican will all be drawn to in there respected skin tone cause these are the different kind of people that are living in Nyc or area of Nyc where i may be. Labeling of what is RACE was created by Europeans and it is an European thing. Period.
Old 06-16-2008, 01:30 PM   #63 (permalink)
Princess!

Originally Posted by Fiyah View Post
Like yuh not reading dih ting. The Emperor called himself the Yellow Emperor. They called the lands where they lived Yellow. They classed people with skin tones closer to be yellow as being superior to the browner people. These are the ancient Chinese people... what more proof yuh want than that? Why do you think the river was called the Yellow River by them? Why was the valley called the Yellow Valley? By chance?
No, you are not understanding what I am stating. They still considered their identity as whatever ethnic group that they were - HAN. That they recognized that their complexion and that of others who they considered different from themselves does not make it an identity. They considered themselves Han people, did they not?

The whole "yellow" titling originated with their sun worship....
Old 06-16-2008, 01:32 PM   #64 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bago20 View Post
So the topic discussion is what again? To sum all this talking trying to explain if the Ancient Egyptians calling them selves black, they never called themselves black. In regards to certain drawings on the walls depicting different skin tones of characters,showing characters to be a little lighter or darker was usually depicting those occupying that area through the eyes of the artist. Like NYC, all of a sudden i start drawing what and who i see around me, more than likely the Chinese, black, whites, Mexican will all be drawn to in there respected skin tone cause these are the different kind of people that are living in Nyc or area of Nyc where i may be. Labeling of what is RACE was created by Europeans and it is an European thing. Period.
I think that what some people are saying is that skin colour was used as more than just an individual descriptor but also as a ethnonational descriptor for an entire group of people hence the Yellow Emperor or Black Lands etc.

It would be silly to think that these people did not see the clear difference in skin tone and other features much as we clearly see the difference. They may not have used it to racially sub-divide themselves however, if thats what you are getting at.
Old 06-16-2008, 01:32 PM   #65 (permalink)
Princess!

What dih?!

Yellow is also traditionally associated with the Chinese people in our own culture, because of the mythology of the Yellow Emperor and the Han people's origin in the Yellow River Valley - yellow is an imperial colour and an ethnonationalist one to some extent, identifying the fertility of the yellow-coloured silty Yellow river with the life-force of the people.

Read it. Re-read it. They did not actually use the english word "yellow" but instead used the Chinese word. My Chinese co-worker here has confirmed this. What more yuh want?!
Again, originating with their SUN worship...so what is your point? It was not all about their skin color.
Old 06-16-2008, 01:33 PM   #66 (permalink)

No, you are not understanding what I am stating. They still considered their identity as whatever ethnic group that they were - HAN. That they recognized that their complexion and that of others who they considered different from themselves does not make it an identity. They considered themselves Han people, did they not?

The whole "yellow" titling originated with their sun worship....
So explain this...

Traditional Chinese racist ideologies see 'pure yellow' people as superior to the 'muddier' Southeast Asian tributaries.
Old 06-16-2008, 01:34 PM   #67 (permalink)
Princess!

THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 06-16-2008, 01:36 PM   #68 (permalink)
Princess!

So explain this...

Traditional Chinese racist ideologies see 'pure yellow' people as superior to the 'muddier' Southeast Asian tributaries.
It was not a race ideology as race did not exist then. Again, race and color classification as identities originated with the Europeans. That the Han people worshipped the sun and considered themselves superior due to resemblance is not a race issue.
Old 06-16-2008, 01:37 PM   #69 (permalink)

Again, originating with their SUN worship...so what is your point? It was not all about their skin color.

So the black lands got named that because of the colour of the soil and the Yellow River and Emperor because of the sun? Convenient that people doh see the obvious link between skin tone and these labels. Even when I have actual Chinese people telling me exactly that. Well go ahead experts...
Old 06-16-2008, 01:38 PM   #70 (permalink)

It was not a race ideology as race did not exist then. Again, race and color classification as identities originated with the Europeans. That the Han people worshipped the sun and considered themselves superior due to resemblance is not a race issue.
I never said it was a race issue. I said that they used skin colour to differentiate themselves and label themselves.
Old 06-16-2008, 01:40 PM   #71 (permalink)

I think that what some people are saying is that skin colour was used as more than just an individual descriptor but also as a ethnonational descriptor for an entire group of people hence the Yellow Emperor or Black Lands etc.

It would be silly to think that these people did not see the clear difference in skin tone and other features much as we clearly see the difference. They may not have used it to racially sub-divide themselves however, if thats what you are getting at.
Yeah, that's basically what I'm getting at. They didn't use what we call "race" as a way to oppress each other BUT they weren't blind either. They saw people with pink skin and straight hair and probably looked at the tribes around them in Africa and said "these people do not look like us." I'm sure the concept of race was there just that the label was never made because at the time tribe/city state/language, etc... meant more.
Old 06-16-2008, 01:41 PM   #72 (permalink)

And U have EVIDENCE to SUBSTANTIATE that the ANCIENT EGYPTIANS did not call themselves BLACKS?
Old 06-16-2008, 01:42 PM   #73 (permalink)
Princess!

I never said it was a race issue. I said that they used skin colour to differentiate themselves and label themselves.
We are discussing skin color as a racial identity. Solomon, in the Bible described his skin color as "black but comely," and that has nothing to do with any racial identity.

That the Han people worshipped the sun and named much after it and described their complexions similarly is not the same. This was not the same throughout all Asian civilization - no collective "yellow" identity based on race. If that was the case, all ancient Chinese and other Asian cultures would have adhered to the same thing.
Old 06-16-2008, 01:43 PM   #74 (permalink)

I understand that. I am not disputing what you are saying... all I am saying is that it is up to debate as to whether or not Kemet means black nation as you are saying it means.

Herodotus... yeah... that was it.
It is not UP for DEBATE. That is WHAT they called themselves. IT is WRITTEN in their LANGUAGE.
Old 06-16-2008, 01:44 PM   #75 (permalink)

Originally Posted by small_island_descent View Post
Yeah, that's basically what I'm getting at. They didn't use what we call "race" as a way to oppress each other BUT they weren't blind either. They saw people with pink skin and straight hair and probably looked at the tribes around them in Africa and said "these people do not look like us." I'm sure the concept of race was there just that the label was never made because at the time tribe/city state/language, etc... meant more.
Exactly x100