Old 06-16-2008, 11:49 AM   #46 (permalink)
Princess!

Originally Posted by small_island_descent View Post
Yes I get it. Africans didn't call themselves black people so that identity is a identity white people made for us. Don't worry, I get what you are saying.

If I agree with how you see it.....

By the way, Asians do call themselves yellow. There an Asian frat at my school based on students joining together simply because they are 'yellow'
Asians do not, as a group, call themselves yellow. What is the name of the frat? If its Lambda, they surely don't go around calling themselves "yellow." Asian frats are just that - Asian frats. Not to mention, that's a poor example. Do you see "yellow" on any applications to describe Asian people? Do Asian people go around calling themselves yellow? Nope. It's likely that the vast majority would consider doing so to be utter foolishness.
Old 06-16-2008, 11:56 AM   #47 (permalink)

Originally Posted by dollbabi View Post
Actually, my post completely anti-eurocentrism. Is all you know of the entire African continent Egypt?
No, it is NOT.

Again, what did the ANCIENT EGYPTIANS call themselves and which part of EGYPT did they come from?

If you ANSWER those 2 QUESTIONS, CORRECTLY, then U will CLEARLY see how NONSENSICAL your POST is, because it is EUROCENTRIC DRIVEN.
Old 06-16-2008, 12:07 PM   #48 (permalink)

They were SAYING that they are the PEOPLE from the BLACK LAND??
Disputable. They might have been saying the come from the black lands (describing the black soil in contrast with the red lands describing the sand). The might have been saying they were from the lands of the black people. Who knows...

If memory serves me right though... there was a Greek historian who described Egyptians as having black skin and curly hair... but he didn't out right use "black" as an identifier but more as a descriptor.
Old 06-16-2008, 12:11 PM   #49 (permalink)

Asians do not, as a group, call themselves yellow. What is the name of the frat? If its Lambda, they surely don't go around calling themselves "yellow." Asian frats are just that - Asian frats. Not to mention, that's a poor example. Do you see "yellow" on any applications to describe Asian people? Do Asian people go around calling themselves yellow? Nope. It's likely that the vast majority would consider doing so to be utter foolishness.

You are wrong about that. I have asian friends... but here is proof... someone asks an asian person why do they identify as "yellow" and he answers:

Yellow Peril: Pinoy ahoy : Public Address | System

And while I'm being pedantic, why do Chinese people self-identify as "yellow"

'Yellow' is an English word; so you may as well ask why white people call us that. Ultimately, I do think that we are on the whole, yellower of skin tone than you (assuming you are white) in *real life* as opposed to photobucket, and we don't have any particular hangups about admitting it. Yellow is also traditionally associated with the Chinese people in our own culture, because of the mythology of the Yellow Emperor and the Han people's origin in the Yellow River Valley - yellow is an imperial colour and an ethnonationalist one to some extent, identifying the fertility of the yellow-coloured silty Yellow river with the life-force of the people. Traditional Chinese racist ideologies see 'pure yellow' people as superior to the 'muddier' Southeast Asian tributaries. But - duh - there's hardly such a thing as a pure yellow skin tone. Similarly, white people are called/call themselves white, when they are not actually the colour white unless ill/dying.

Old 06-16-2008, 12:17 PM   #50 (permalink)
Princess!

No, it is NOT.

Again, what did the ANCIENT EGYPTIANS call themselves and which part of EGYPT did they come from?

If you ANSWER those 2 QUESTIONS, CORRECTLY, then U will CLEARLY see how NONSENSICAL your POST is, because it is EUROCENTRIC DRIVEN.
Nubians, who were from Nubia - Land of Gold. It originates from "Nub" which is the Egyptian word for gold. My post is focused on African cultures, but you, of course, promote the views of European scientists. On that, you have based your identity and your views. Further, that people were aware of the color of their skin is completely different from making skin color an identity. Stop attempting to support old ignorant Europeans.

Read and learn...

The geometer of race - Cover Story | Discover | Find Articles at BNET.com
Old 06-16-2008, 12:19 PM   #51 (permalink)
Princess!

Originally Posted by Fiyah View Post
You are wrong about that. I have asian friends... but here is proof... someone asks an asian person why do they identify as "yellow" and he answers:

Yellow Peril: Pinoy ahoy : Public Address | System

And while I'm being pedantic, why do Chinese people self-identify as "yellow"

'Yellow' is an English word; so you may as well ask why white people call us that. Ultimately, I do think that we are on the whole, yellower of skin tone than you (assuming you are white) in *real life* as opposed to photobucket, and we don't have any particular hangups about admitting it. Yellow is also traditionally associated with the Chinese people in our own culture, because of the mythology of the Yellow Emperor and the Han people's origin in the Yellow River Valley - yellow is an imperial colour and an ethnonationalist one to some extent, identifying the fertility of the yellow-coloured silty Yellow river with the life-force of the people. Traditional Chinese racist ideologies see 'pure yellow' people as superior to the 'muddier' Southeast Asian tributaries. But - duh - there's hardly such a thing as a pure yellow skin tone. Similarly, white people are called/call themselves white, when they are not actually the colour white unless ill/dying.

Do they really call themselves YELLOW as an identity or do they call themselves CHINESE or whatever respective ethnic group? There is a clear difference between what you have posted and what I am stating.

I have Asian friends too and no one calls themselves yellow.

Last edited by dollbabi; 06-16-2008 at 12:22 PM.
Old 06-16-2008, 12:25 PM   #52 (permalink)

Do they really call themselves YELLOW or do they call themselves CHINESE? Does China represent all of the Asian continent? I have Asian friends too and no one calls themselves yellow.
They identify as "yellow" all the time. Especially when I make my black jokes etc... just as the Indians identify as being "brown". But if you even read what I posted ...

'Yellow' is an English word; so you may as well ask why white people call us that. Ultimately, I do think that we are on the whole, yellower of skin tone than you (assuming you are white) in *real life* as opposed to photobucket, and we don't have any particular hangups about admitting it.

So they have no problems adopting the western use of the word to label them... and even further...

Yellow is also traditionally associated with the Chinese people in our own culture, because of the mythology of the Yellow Emperor and the Han people's origin in the Yellow River Valley - yellow is an imperial colour and an ethnonationalist one to some extent, identifying the fertility of the yellow-coloured silty Yellow river with the life-force of the people. Traditional Chinese racist ideologies see 'pure yellow' people as superior to the 'muddier' Southeast Asian tributaries.

"Yellow" in the chinese language was used to refer to many things Chinese and even used as a way to group some asians from others. This supposed ideology that no one but whites used skin colour and looks to differentiate and, in some cases, elevate themselves from another group of people is just not true. How do you think the river got its name? Do you think the river was actually "yellow".
Old 06-16-2008, 12:29 PM   #53 (permalink)
Princess!

They identify as "yellow" all the time. Especially when I make my black jokes etc... just as the Indians identify as being "brown". But if you even read what I posted ...

'Yellow' is an English word; so you may as well ask why white people call us that. Ultimately, I do think that we are on the whole, yellower of skin tone than you (assuming you are white) in *real life* as opposed to photobucket, and we don't have any particular hangups about admitting it.

So they have no problems adopting the western use of the word to label them... and even further...

Yellow is also traditionally associated with the Chinese people in our own culture, because of the mythology of the Yellow Emperor and the Han people's origin in the Yellow River Valley - yellow is an imperial colour and an ethnonationalist one to some extent, identifying the fertility of the yellow-coloured silty Yellow river with the life-force of the people. Traditional Chinese racist ideologies see 'pure yellow' people as superior to the 'muddier' Southeast Asian tributaries.

"Yellow" in the chinese language was used to refer to many things Chinese and even used as a way to group some asians from others. This supposed ideology that no one but whites used skin colour and looks to differentiate and, in some cases, elevate themselves from another group of people is just not true. How do you think the river got its name? Do you think the river was actually "yellow".
What you are talking about with your friends is modern. Once again, do they really call themselves YELLOW as an identity or do they call themselves CHINESE or whatever respective ethnic group? There is a clear difference between what you have posted and what I am stating.

Further, this still fails to support the idea of race.
Old 06-16-2008, 12:32 PM   #54 (permalink)

Nubians, who were from Nubia - Land of Gold. It originates from "Nub" which is the Egyptian word for gold. My post is focused on African cultures, but you, of course, promote the views of European scientists. On that, you have based your identity and your views. Further, that people were aware of the color of their skin is completely different from making skin color an identity. Stop attempting to support old ignorant Europeans.

Read and learn...

The geometer of race - Cover Story | Discover | Find Articles at BNET.com
The Ancient Egyptians referred to themselves as from KMT or Kemet. The Nubians are completely different.
Old 06-16-2008, 12:35 PM   #55 (permalink)

What you are talking about with your friends is modern. Once again, do they really call themselves YELLOW as an identity or do they call themselves CHINESE or whatever respective ethnic group? There is a clear difference between what you have posted and what I am stating.

Further, this still fails to support the idea of race.
Like yuh not reading dih ting. The Emperor called himself the Yellow Emperor. They called the lands where they lived Yellow. They classed people with skin tones closer to be yellow as being superior to the browner people. These are the ancient Chinese people... what more proof yuh want than that? Why do you think the river was called the Yellow River by them? Why was the valley called the Yellow Valley? By chance?
Old 06-16-2008, 12:57 PM   #56 (permalink)

Disputable. They might have been saying the come from the black lands (describing the black soil in contrast with the red lands describing the sand). The might have been saying they were from the lands of the black people. Who knows...

If memory serves me right though... there was a Greek historian who described Egyptians as having black skin and curly hair... but he didn't out right use "black" as an identifier but more as a descriptor.
Here you go again. Again, the ANCIENT EGYPTIANS referred to themselves as Kememou, which means “BLACKS.” KEMET was the name of ANCIENT EGYPT, which means BLACK NATION.

Herodotus was the GREEK.
Old 06-16-2008, 01:01 PM   #57 (permalink)

Thanks Fiyah.

Doll babi, I'm telling you, Asian do occasionally refer to themselves as yellow. Just like Indians/Pakistani/Bangladesh, etc.. refer to themselves as brown. At least in Toronto they do.

Plus, we also have to keep in mind that part of the reason why Asians call themselves Asians is because no matter where they are born, they don't mind being associated with Asia. African descendants on the other hand.....well, from my personal experience, many simply cannot see themselves as being able to identify with anything African. If I call myself an African, or even African Canadian, the statements I get are "Were you born in Africa, were your parents, no, okay, then you aren't African." And I get this from Africans born in Africa and their descendants from Canada/ WI alike.
Old 06-16-2008, 01:05 PM   #58 (permalink)

Here you go again. Again, the ANCIENT EGYPTIANS referred to themselves as Kememou, which means “BLACKS.” KEMET was the name of ANCIENT EGYPT, which means BLACK NATION.

Herodotus was the GREEK.
I understand that. I am not disputing what you are saying... all I am saying is that it is up to debate as to whether or not Kemet means black nation as you are saying it means.

Herodotus... yeah... that was it.

Last edited by Fiyah; 06-16-2008 at 01:07 PM.
Old 06-16-2008, 01:07 PM   #59 (permalink)

Thanks Fiyah.

Doll babi, I'm telling you, Asian do occasionally refer to themselves as yellow. Just like Indians/Pakistani/Bangladesh, etc.. refer to themselves as brown. At least in Toronto they do.

Plus, we also have to keep in mind that part of the reason why Asians call themselves Asians is because no matter where they are born, they don't mind being associated with Asia. African descendants on the other hand.....well, from my personal experience, many simply cannot see themselves as being able to identify with anything African. If I call myself an African, or even African Canadian, the statements I get are "Were you born in Africa, were your parents, no, okay, then you aren't African." And I get this from Africans born in Africa and their descendants from Canada/ WI alike.
Exactly. I doh know which asians she know... but the guy who sits right beside me is Chinese born in Indonesia. They do refer to themselves as yellow or yellow in mandarin. But hey...
Old 06-16-2008, 01:09 PM   #60 (permalink)
Princess!

Thanks Fiyah.

This is my point...

Color references are recent among this groups - not widespread - and are not considered an IDENTITY.