Old 08-16-2005, 06:22 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 755
Rabbi passing herpes along to infants

Mike caught in row over rabbi's herpes

http://www.nydailynews.com/08-12-200...p-287485c.html

By MAGGIE HABERMAN
DAILY NEWS CITY HALL BUREAU

City officials have moved to ban a rabbi suspected of infecting infants with herpes from performing an ancient circumcision rite, prompting religious Jewish leaders to plead with Mayor Bloomberg to intervene.
Bloomberg sat down at City Hall yesterday with dozens of ultra-Orthodox rabbis, who said they are concerned that such a ban would set a bad precedent, according to several people at the meeting.

The mayor "basically accepted a suggestion that the time should be given for both sides to sit down and iron this thing out," said Rabbi David Niederman, who praised Bloomberg.

But several sources said the mayor promised that the city would never ban a religious practice outright - but also held firm that he "has an obligation" to uphold laws.

The Daily News first reported in February that the city Health Department was investigating whether Rockland County-based Rabbi Yitzchok Fischer gave herpes to a baby through the practice of metzizah b'peh - in which the rabbi uses his mouth to suck blood from the circumcision wound. The baby later died.

On Aug. 1, the Health Department sent Fischer's lawyer a draft of an order banning the rabbi from performing metzizah b'peh in the city, officials said. Fischer has until next week to respond.

But the threat of such an order alarmed the ultrareligious community.

The controversy is still roiling at a time when Bloomberg, who has had a somewhat strained relationship with the Orthodox community, is looking to repair things before the November election.

Originally published on August 12, 2005
Old 08-16-2005, 06:23 PM   #2 (permalink)

I don't know what kind of sick ritual they practice where they allow a rabbi to put his mouth on an infants penis. They all need to go to jail!
Old 08-16-2005, 06:49 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 2,907
Wasn't this a topic some time ago?
Old 08-16-2005, 07:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
elq
Cleophus aka pupah lashie

Credits: 1,049
Originally Posted by Rummacita
Wasn't this a topic some time ago?

yep
it was an elq exclusive
Old 08-16-2005, 07:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
领导失

Credits: 1,998
oh please ....

Rabbi Infects Babies With Herpes (Inves. Pend)
Old 08-18-2005, 12:16 PM   #6 (permalink)

didn't know that you covered already b/c it was recently in the news AGAIN I see!
Old 08-18-2005, 01:20 PM   #7 (permalink)

I may think that that whole thing is kinds wierd...

But thats the peoples religion, you can't mess with peoples faith.
Old 08-18-2005, 01:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 6,415
Cool

Originally Posted by AXAwhiteboi

Yuh can when it starts to endanger people's lives!
Old 08-18-2005, 01:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Sweeter Sauce

Credits: 915

I'd certainly mess with it when I c da man's mouth on my son's penis...WTF...yet again:

Old 08-18-2005, 07:43 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Floflo
I'd certainly mess with it when I c da man's mouth on my son's penis...WTF...yet again:

Well, I do think it's wierd, but thats the Jewish faith, it's not that p art that people mind. It's the Rabbi passing herpes to children by doing that thats wrong.

Soca Taliban: I should have brought my point across better, it's probably a good idea from stopping that one Rabbi. But the entire practice should'nt be stopped because of this.
Old 08-18-2005, 08:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Sweeter Sauce

Credits: 915
I en realise they normally put their mouth over the bleeding....?

Still f*cked up tho...
Old 08-18-2005, 09:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
LGN
Phuck arf nuh man!!

Credits: 1,669
Originally Posted by socadiva05
Mike caught in row over rabbi's herpes

http://www.nydailynews.com/08-12-200...p-287485c.html

By MAGGIE HABERMAN
DAILY NEWS CITY HALL BUREAU

City officials have moved to ban a rabbi suspected of infecting infants with herpes from performing an ancient circumcision rite, prompting religious Jewish leaders to plead with Mayor Bloomberg to intervene.
Bloomberg sat down at City Hall yesterday with dozens of ultra-Orthodox rabbis, who said they are concerned that such a ban would set a bad precedent, according to several people at the meeting.

The mayor "basically accepted a suggestion that the time should be given for both sides to sit down and iron this thing out," said Rabbi David Niederman, who praised Bloomberg.

But several sources said the mayor promised that the city would never ban a religious practice outright - but also held firm that he "has an obligation" to uphold laws.

The Daily News first reported in February that the city Health Department was investigating whether Rockland County-based Rabbi Yitzchok Fischer gave herpes to a baby through the practice of metzizah b'peh - in which the rabbi uses his mouth to suck blood from the circumcision wound. The baby later died.

On Aug. 1, the Health Department sent Fischer's lawyer a draft of an order banning the rabbi from performing metzizah b'peh in the city, officials said. Fischer has until next week to respond.

But the threat of such an order alarmed the ultrareligious community.

The controversy is still roiling at a time when Bloomberg, who has had a somewhat strained relationship with the Orthodox community, is looking to repair things before the November election.

Originally published on August 12, 2005
Old 08-19-2005, 10:42 AM   #13 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 6,415
Cool

Soca Taliban: I should have brought my point across better, it's probably a good idea from stopping that one Rabbi. But the entire practice should'nt be stopped because of this.
Boss something needs to be done. Either all de rabbi and dem go hah tuh get screen for STDs or something cause dat eh go work. I going to research this practice cause I never here of this baby blowjob/vampire thing yet.
Old 08-19-2005, 10:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,101
Well, I do think it's wierd, but thats the Jewish faith, it's not that p art that people mind. It's the Rabbi passing herpes to children by doing that thats wrong.

Jewish faith my ass....i agree that some faith's have some weird practices eh....but you see putting your mouth on my child penis that is where i cross the line....what kinda sick thing is that...totally disgusted....and i reading that article and i just seeing Bloomberg kissing them Jews ass just like i thought he would....i cant believe they tryin to "sit and iron this out"....if it was another faith i bet you they woulda have hell to pay....i tell you the Great U S of A
Old 08-19-2005, 11:04 AM   #15 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 884
funny

Seems like they get to do whatever they please in NYC

I remember back in the 90's one of there leaders died and he was buried in Sout East Queens. These people came and set up tents and thing in the nieghborhood of the burial ground and had a total and blatant disregard for the citizens in the community. The Police wasn't even allowed to deal with people who would find Jews Urinating in there back yard, throwing garbage into already overflowing garbage cans and pray vigils going into the wee hours of the morning.

Nice to see that things haven't changed since I left NY