Old 11-06-2003, 12:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
MLO, CTA 4 LIFE

Credits: 2,250
Public Schools Vs Catholic/Pvt Schools..

Apart from the tutions for the pvt and catholic schools is the education system much better. Are children who attend these schools supposedly be better students or more well rounded? If you had a choice where would you send your child to school?
Old 11-06-2003, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ragga007

Re: Public Schools Vs Catholic/Pvt Schools..

Originally posted by Kamasutra
Apart from the tutions for the pvt and catholic schools is the education system much better. Are children who attend these schools supposedly be better students or more well rounded? If you had a choice where would you send your child to school?
Unless it is Stuyvesant, Bronx Science or probably Brooklyn Tech High School, private/catholic schools are better.
Old 11-06-2003, 12:37 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 4,459
Catholic or other Religious based Schools and it has nothing to do with the actually classes or resources of either, but the discipline that is taught in religious schools. But to, only because that is all i know...

St. Gabriels Girls, R.C.
Holy Faith Convent
Bishop Kearney

only thing missing was to go to a Jesuit college
Old 11-06-2003, 12:45 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 198
I went to a private Catholic high school back home and then did my last 2 years in public high school in the U.S. and my Catholic high school experience was better by far. When I migrated I was asked to take a test so they could place me..the results placed me at a 12 grade level; when I left home I was in form 3. I would personally prefer to send my children to a private school.
Old 11-06-2003, 07:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
daweh

Credits: 427
well not that private schools students are any smarter than public schools but my experience in public schools in america an knowin people that went to private schools i say a private school gives u a head start ,in some public schools s a t programs do not exist for students but it is mandatory in private schools an that plays a big role in college an they prep u from freshman year ,

something as simple as a uniform is a big thing i think cause not everyone can afford the big brands an for a less fortunate student a uniform can take alot of the peer pressure stress to go out an do something dumb to afford nice clothes an maybe make the student concentrate on school more instead ah wah brands i wearing tommorrow

but here in jersey alot of things changed in public high schools they have 4 classes a day 80 minutes each which i think is good instead of 9 classes 45 minutes a piece u get more done an they made it mandatory to pass the hspt before u can graduate cause alot of students just go tru the motion an the teachers know that but some of them sad to say dont care and s a t programs are getting more popular i think they give free classes at some college now so parents dont have to come out the pocket withno 3 beans to pay for s a t classes
Old 11-06-2003, 07:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
dbadlad

Have been in private/catholic schools all my life except for college. These schools focus on discipline and can enforce it better than public schools. They prepare students for the next step far better than the majority of public schools. Also the big advantage they have is the ability to get funding necessary to get things done. By the way, I went to Bishop Ford.
Old 11-06-2003, 07:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
F.G.I de cupcake criminal

Location: if yuh want 2 lock meh up ill be by de kiss cake truck!
Credits: 835
I went to private school up until highschool...and i think it gave me a better headstart and instilled discipline that you hardly get in public schools.
I went:
1- Mt Carmel Christian School
2-St. Teresa of Avila
Old 11-06-2003, 08:24 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 1,281
I attended Holy Cross and St. Augustine in TnT, but hard to compare the two on a Catholic/Public level, since Holy Cross was a "five-year" school, where as 'Gustine was a Senior Comp. On top of that H.C.C was for O's and 'Gustine was for A's. I actually finished H.S. here (Boys and Girls) and went on to a Catholic University (the oldest in the US, and Jesuit at that).

I loved my Catholic school education because of the discipline and academically rigorous environment. My experiences in both 'Gustine and Boys and Girls was that they were a breeze relative to Holy Cross...I'm definitely biased in favor of Catholic, and that failing, private education.
Old 11-06-2003, 08:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
SAME SH!T DIFFERNT TOILET

Credits: 781
My experience with private schools are totally different than the rest of yours..
When saying Private School you have to be carefull... many use that term to categorize all schools that are not run by the city but that is not the case... You have your True private schools... Schools such as Pollly Prep, St. Anns, Berkley Carrol, Brooklyn Friends School and such where tuition is $14,000 a year... Then you have your Parocial Schools or schools affiliated with a church such as St Marks... Unfortunately, these church schools are not in the same league as the true private schools or prep schools. They do stress discipline however they fall short of offering children a wide range of subjects as well as allowing thechild to excel in areas where they are above their grade level.. This is because they rely on the funds that the church can give them as well as the tuition which is far below the amount of money public schools get from the state for each student. When i was in parocial school and switched to a public school, Philippa Schuyler (IS 383) the school i went to was far ahead in education and enrichment. you had children doing highschool math and other subjects.. Children being introduced to Alvin Ailley Dance classes, drama, music, and such things.... Small private schools even though they do stress discipline do not have the funds or the resources to do this unless they can get another 10,000 from each parent for Tuition.. As far as the Catholic Highschools, they are better than the small private Parocial schools cause they get more money from the catholic church. However if you get a good public highschool, (Midwood, Styvesant, Bronx Science, Hunter College HighSchool, and many others) i still say its better than a school affilliated with the church or Catholic Schools.... However, if you can afford $14,000 for a prep school, then go ahead, they are the best education and enrichment wise

Prep schools are the best
Public Schools second best
Catholic highschools third best
Small private parocial schools, not worth it

Last edited by HornaMan4Hire; 11-06-2003 at 11:28 PM..
Old 11-06-2003, 11:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
MLO, CTA 4 LIFE

Credits: 2,250
Question?

Since it appears from the responses catholic or private schools offer a better education or discipline, does one who attend such schools look at public schoold with disdain and somehow they are more equipped or better off than someone with a public school education.
Old 11-11-2003, 04:41 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 1,281
Originally posted by Kamasutra
Question?

Since it appears from the responses catholic or private schools offer a better education or discipline, does one who attend such schools look at public schoold with disdain and somehow they are more equipped or better off than someone with a public school education.
I don't...but I do know that back in TnT kids who went to a "Junior Sec." were thought of as not being smart, compared to kids who 'passed' for a 5-year school. I think this was borne out by ones scores on the Common Entrants Exam...not the "smart" part, but the academics and prowess (on standardized tests).