Old 03-27-2005, 05:27 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 6,464
Passover and Easter?

Anyone that wants to look into these two holy days is welcomed.
I was looking it up and from I know they are the same.
Easter is another name for Passover.
My question is y is Easter this weekend and Passover April 22nd?
Old 03-28-2005, 12:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 25,263
Originally Posted by saveoursoca
Anyone that wants to look into these two holy days is welcomed.
I was looking it up and from I know they are the same.
Easter is another name for Passover.
My question is y is Easter this weekend and Passover April 22nd?
Well from what I know they are NOT the same.
Easter celebrates Christ resurrection from the dead
Passover commemorates the period when the jews were in Egypt and as a part of the palgues that befell the Egyptians the angel of death was to kill the first born son of every household as a punishment for Pharoah disobeying God's order to free the people of Isreal. The jews were instucted that if they put the blood of a lamb on their door post that the angel of death would recognize the household as children of Isreal and "passover" the house saving the first born sons of these families.
Two different holidays to commemorate two very different events, but depending where on the calendar Easter falls they are sometimes celebrated very close to one another.
Old 03-28-2005, 12:55 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 24,372
not again
Old 03-28-2005, 09:43 AM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rinababy
Passover commemorates the period when the jews were in Egypt and as a part of the palgues that befell the Egyptians the angel of death was to kill the first born son of every household as a punishment for Pharoah disobeying God's order to free the people of Isreal. The jews were instucted that if they put the blood of a lamb on their door post that the angel of death would recognize the household as children of Isreal and "passover" the house saving the first born sons of these families.
Two different holidays to commemorate two very different events, but depending where on the calendar Easter falls they are sometimes celebrated very close to one another.
Thanks Rina
But here is the thing.
Easter is the passover. My reasons for stating so is because there was no High holy day added when Christ was crucified and the only time Easter is mention in the book is acts the 12 chap.
Now in the 12th chap the King herod wanted to kill Peter and put him in jail becasue it was the feast of unlevened bread(passover) and the jews would be against killing a jew during high holy days.
So Herod wated until after easter(passover) was finshed to try to kill him.
Now remember the Jews Didnt celebrate Easter as we know it they celebrate passover so y would herod wait until after eatser to kill him y not kill him after the passover?

Because it is the same High holy day just different words.
If u want u can look up easter In the Bible encyclopedia and tell what what u find.

Also u can look up the How the dates for easter came about and tell me what u find.

But remember no high holy day was added when Christ Was crucified.

Now the question is Y are they so far apart this year and they are the same thing?

Just something to ponder on looking forward to hearing ur response
Old 03-28-2005, 10:50 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 41,531
aI think Rina explained implicitly that Easter and Passover are NOT the same holidays. Though one wouldn't happen without the other being that Christ was tried and crucified during the time of Passover. (The Last Supper...was the last Passover meal of Christ.)

As for the timing; Easter, Orthodox Easter and Passover are all movable feasts. They all depend on the lunar placements on the Julian/Gregorian, Orthodox and Judaic calendars respectively. Hence the reason why they (Easter and Passover) seem to fall within a week or so of each other. During some years, Palm Sunday and the begining of Passover fall on the same day.

And yes, we know that Easter wasn't celebrated in the bible, stating that is as relevant as trying to find where in the Bible did they have the World Series, and wondering why didn't they have a national holiday for Dr. King while he was still alive. Most holidays happen after the fact, simple as that.

Old 03-28-2005, 10:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Whining Criminal

Credits: 933
this is correct.
Old 03-28-2005, 10:57 AM   #7 (permalink)

Here's an interesting article on how Easter and Passover are calculated. :)

Origin and Significance of Easter Observance
Prior to the fourth century, Christians observed Pascha, Christian Passover, in the Spring of the year. Adapted from Jewish Passover, Pascha was a festival of redemption and commemorated both the crucifixion and resurrection of Jesus as the vehicle for God’s grace. While historical records are not clear, it is likely that early Jewish Christians observed both Passover (Pesach) and Pascha. However, many Gentile converts were hesitant to adopt the Jewish festival, especially since the Jerusalem Council had decided that Gentile converts to Christianity did not have to observe Jewish religious practices (Acts 15). Gradually by the fourth century, with an increasing emphasis on Holy Week and Good Friday, Easter moved into a distinctively Christian celebration of the Resurrection, with Good Friday commemorating Jesus’ crucifixion and death.

Easter, like Passover, is a movable feast. That is, the date of Easter (and Passover) is not fixed but is determined by a system based on a lunar calendar adapted from a formula decided by the Council of Nicaea in AD 325. In this system, Easter is celebrated on the first Sunday following the first full moon after the Spring equinox (the day when the sun’s ecliptic or apparent path in the sky crosses the equator, thus making days and nights of equal length). This usually occurs on March 21, which means the date of Easter can range between March 22 and April 25 depending on the lunar cycle. Since Jewish Passover is calculated differently, the dates for Passover and Easter do not correspond, although often the first Day of Passover falls during Holy Week. Much of the calendar of the Church year is determined by the date of Easter (see The Hebrew Calendar of the Old Testament).

Source

Old 03-28-2005, 12:40 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by shandy
aI think Rina explained implicitly that Easter and Passover are NOT the same holidays. Though one wouldn't happen without the other being that Christ was tried and crucified during the time of Passover. (The Last Supper...was the last Passover meal of Christ.)

As for the timing; Easter, Orthodox Easter and Passover are all movable feasts. They all depend on the lunar placements on the Julian/Gregorian, Orthodox and Judaic calendars respectively. Hence the reason why they (Easter and Passover) seem to fall within a week or so of each other. During some years, Palm Sunday and the begining of Passover fall on the same day.

And yes, we know that Easter wasn't celebrated in the bible, stating that is as relevant as trying to find where in the Bible did they have the World Series, and wondering why didn't they have a national holiday for Dr. King while he was still alive. Most holidays happen after the fact, simple as that.
Here is the differnce it was celebrated in the Bible Acts the 12 chap shows easter and feast of unlevened bread being celebrated by the Jews. The reason y Herod didnt kill Peter is because this feast was going on
My thing is that after a time the meanig of the word changes
Old 03-28-2005, 12:47 PM   #9 (permalink)

Here's an interesting article on how Easter and Passover are calculated. :)

Origin and Significance of Easter Observance
Prior to the fourth century, Christians observed Pascha, Christian Passover, in the Spring of the year. Adapted from Jewish Passover, Pascha was a festival of redemption and commemorated both the crucifixion and resurrection of Jesus as the vehicle for God’s grace. While historical records are not clear, it is likely that early Jewish Christians observed both Passover (Pesach) and Pascha. However, many Gentile converts were hesitant to adopt the Jewish festival, especially since the Jerusalem Council had decided that Gentile converts to Christianity did not have to observe Jewish religious practices (Acts 15). Gradually by the fourth century, with an increasing emphasis on Holy Week and Good Friday, Easter moved into a distinctively Christian celebration of the Resurrection, with Good Friday commemorating Jesus’ crucifixion and death.

Easter, like Passover, is a movable feast. That is, the date of Easter (and Passover) is not fixed but is determined by a system based on a lunar calendar adapted from a formula decided by the Council of Nicaea in AD 325. In this system, Easter is celebrated on the first Sunday following the first full moon after the Spring equinox (the day when the sun’s ecliptic or apparent path in the sky crosses the equator, thus making days and nights of equal length). This usually occurs on March 21, which means the date of Easter can range between March 22 and April 25 depending on the lunar cycle. Since Jewish Passover is calculated differently, the dates for Passover and Easter do not correspond, although often the first Day of Passover falls during Holy Week. Much of the calendar of the Church year is determined by the date of Easter (see The Hebrew Calendar of the Old Testament).

Source
This is y I see it as intersting that they fall so far apart this year. BUt they shouldnt fall this far apart the reason being is what u put above and also u can check what I just dug up

How is the date for Resurrection Sunday determined?

See this page in: Spanish

You have probably noticed that the date for Resurrection Sunday ("Easter") varies considerably from one year to the next. This chosen date comes from a formula established by Roman Emperor Constantine the Great and the Council of Nicaea in A.D. 325. You can use the formula to verify the date for Resurrection Sunday each year.
First, find the vernal equinox, or first day of spring (about March 21-22), on a calendar that lists basic astronomical data. Then look for the next full moon, usually indicated in a corner box of the calendar. Resurrection Sunday will then fall on the following Sunday.

According to this rule, the latest possible date for Resurrection Sunday is April 25, next occurring in 2038. The earliest is March 22, in 2285. Most often, Resurrection Sunday comes during the first week of April.

For merchants, the changing date of Easter is inconvenient for their annual planning of sales and inventory. However, it is pleasing to realize that this special day is not determined by commerce but by the movements of the sun and moon. This agrees with the divinely ordained purpose of heavenly lights as markers for times and seasons (Gen. 1:14).

Find the date of Resurrection Sunday for any year (1900-2299)

Enter year:

Learn more about...
Astronomy and the Bible - On-line / Book
Bible - The Resurrection / Jesus Christ

Author: Dr. Donald

The reason I think there is confusion is because they made the Holiday different when it was one in the same and both celebrated in the scriptures. And the interesting point u brought up was chap 15 of acts that the gentiles dindt have to follow The jews high days. So if it wasnt the gentiles celebrating Easter Who was Herod waiting for easter to be completed by so he can Kill Peter? It was the jews celebrating the feast of unlevened bread which is easter

Here is an example christmas and newyears fall together all the time and then they fall a month apart we would question and try to find out y. same thing here If Easter was celebrated in the scripture by the jews who determined the time it came about and y wasnt that determination kept?

We may not see eye to eye but Im alwasy for a good bible discussion thanks.

Last edited by saveoursoca; 03-28-2005 at 12:59 PM..
Old 03-28-2005, 01:18 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 700
Good discussion...well done Shandy and Rina
Old 03-28-2005, 03:03 PM   #11 (permalink)

Thanks Bakes, I try.

SOS, you are taking that bible translation literally. I'm guessing your taking from the Kind James Version. But other translations I read state, Feast of Unleavened Bread and Passover in that passage.
Check the sources here>Translations BTW the KJV Translation was created relatively recently so I guess he (they?) used Easter and Passover interchanglibly (sp?) in that passage.

Christmas and New Years are both fixed holidays so I was bit thrown off by that comparison.

To me the timing of Passover and Easter is off this year (and will be in some other years) has to do with the different calendars. eg. the Jewish year is 5765-5766 the Gregorian/Julian calendar is 2005. There are in-depth explanations of the different calendars which I won't get into but can be easily googled. But I get this jist...they are all organized by the lunar phases of the moon.

It's ok not to see eye to eye, as long as the discussion is on a respectable vibe, I'm fine with that.

Old 03-28-2005, 03:52 PM   #12 (permalink)

Thanks Bakes, I try.

SOS, you are taking that bible translation literally. I'm guessing your taking from the Kind James Version. But other translations I read state, Feast of Unleavened Bread and Passover in that passage.
Check the sources here>Translations BTW the KJV Translation was created relatively recently so I guess he (they?) used Easter and Passover interchanglibly (sp?) in that passage.
Christmas and New Years are both fixed holidays so I was bit thrown off by that comparison.

To me the timing of Passover and Easter is off this year (and will be in some other years) has to do with the different calendars. eg. the Jewish year is 5765-5766 the Gregorian/Julian calendar is 2005. There are in-depth explanations of the different calendars which I won't get into but can be easily googled. But I get this jist...they are all organized by the lunar phases of the moon.

It's ok not to see eye to eye, as long as the discussion is on a respectable vibe, I'm fine with that.

I checked the references.all of them
Some fault me for this but i tend to stay away from the editions that say revised. reason being is that i feel revised is different from translation. So that is y I stay away from them.
One thing though u said that the KJV was new the other versions are even newer. all of them as a matter of fact. Let me ask u since we are not 100% clear do u think there is anyway that the two are the same?

The reason I am thrown off by the timing is becasue the moons tell teh dates of these events and if they (crusifixion passover) fall in the same time frame i just think it is important for them to stay that way and not change it. The moons dictate the dates but at the council they made it a date and from that date then u count the moon. But as u said it is a little much to get into here so I wont either. I also think that the timing of Christdeath has alot to do with the passover. But that is a different topic.

Nothing meant by the christmas thing just showing the way we would react to those being moved should be the way we react to these being moved. I was really confused by the move never relly paid attention before but now i do. U know what i mean
Old 03-28-2005, 04:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 25,263
Not completely sure if this is on topic but I believe that Easter is generally timed in and around the same time as the spring Equinox. From what I was always taught many Christian holidays coincide or were made to replace holidays or Feasts celebrated by the pagan worshippers. Since Easter ( Christs crucifixtion and resurrection) is symbolic of death and rebirth I believe it was timed to replace the feast of the Spring Equinox ( spring also being symbolic of death of winter and the rebirth of nature). If you notice Easter is ALWAYS either at the same time as Spring on the calendar or very close. Passover symbolically does not have the same meaning therefore the date which it is celebrated is not as fixed as Easter. This is an EDUCATED guess not really based on anything I've looked up, just bit and pieces of things I've learned over the years.
Old 03-28-2005, 04:06 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by saveoursoca
I checked the references.all of them
Some fault me for this but i tend to stay away from the editions that say revised. reason being is that i feel revised is different from translation. So that is y I stay away from them.
One thing though u said that the KJV was new the other versions are even newer. all of them as a matter of fact. Let me ask u since we are not 100% clear do u think there is anyway that the two are the same?You mean the 2 holidays? Nope, One is commemorating the flight of the Hebrew slaves out of Egypt. The other Commemorates Christ's death and ressurection. And the bible is an ancient document, I can't just go by one translation alone.
The reason I am thrown off by the timing is becasue the moons tell teh dates of these events and if they (crusifixion passover) fall in the same time frame i just think it is important for them to stay that way and not change it. The moons dictate the dates but at the council they made it a date and from that date then u count the moon. But as u said it is a little much to get into here so I wont either. I also think that the timing of Christdeath has alot to do with the passover. But that is a different topic. totally different topic. That moon thing is best left alone. They had no clocks back then so everything was dependent on the moon, sun and stars. Give me my clock and Gregorian calendar thank you, I can better plan for the next carnival that way. lol

Nothing meant by the christmas thing just showing the way we would react to those being moved should be the way we react to these being moved. I was really confused by the move never relly paid attention before but now i do. U know what i mean Ok, I get it.

Old 03-28-2005, 04:08 PM   #15 (permalink)

Not completely sure if this is on topic but I believe that Easter is generally timed in and around the same time as the spring Equinox. From what I was always taught many Christian holidays coincide or were made to replace holidays or Feasts celebrated by the pagan worshippers. Since Easter ( Christs crucifixtion and resurrection) is symbolic of death and rebirth I believe it was timed to replace the feast of the Spring Equinox ( spring also being symbolic of death of winter and the rebirth of nature). If you notice Easter is ALWAYS either at the same time as Spring on the calendar or very close. Passover symbolically does not have the same meaning therefore the date which it is celebrated is not as fixed as Easter. This is an EDUCATED guess not really based on anything I've looked up, just bit and pieces of things I've learned over the years.
And you're still on point.

I wondered what took you so long to get back.