Old 03-17-2005, 10:26 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 140,835
Our Independent Still Under Threat

Gonsalves: Our Independence still under threat
Web Posted - Thu Mar 17 2005
By Janelle Husbands
PRIME MINISTER of St. Vincent and the Grenadines Dr. Ralph Gonsalves recently outlined the uniqueness that defines the Caribbean civilisation, which historically has survived and thrived over the past 500 years.

He lamented however, that while the Caribbean has risen above slavery, colonialism and imperialism, our independence today is still under threat.

Addressing a packed LT4 at the Cave Hill campus on Tuesday night, Dr. Gonsalves made reference to the situations in Haiti and Cuba and the ongoing discussions on the possible repercussions that would be felt by his country and the Caribbean on a whole, if we were to lend assistance or form allies with countries that do not meet the approval of some larger countries.

I will develop close relations with Cuba, because Cuba is a Caribbean country. I do not have the presidential politics of South Florida to encumber me, I am not looking for votes from Cubans in Miami from the right-wing, I am not going to allow presidential politics from South Florida to set the foreign policy for St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

I see it on the Net they say that I am a stupid man, what America can do to me...What America can do to me? Take me away like how they take away Aristide? he queried.

Dr. Gonsalves, while strongly advocating regional unity, told the students that one should make decisions that one considers to be right. You dont be foolish-you dont invite unnecessary difficulties because you have to be practical, but at the same time there are certain things which to do otherwise would mean that you not being a human being.

The Vincentian leader also made reference to the situation in Haiti, which he said is connected to the issue of United Action. He reminded the students that the Security Council of the United Nations was approached by CARICOM with a Plan of Action that would address the senseless killings in Haiti. However, three days later, Aristide left Haiti.

They summoned a meeting of the Security Council and said, let us now use the CARICOM plan and restore Haiti, but minus Aristide, the man who is duly elected president of Haiti. And you want me to support that? he queried.

If I support that, I am saying that the eight million people in Haiti that they have no dignity, no right because they voted for somebody, I have to respect that. And nobody however powerful must contrive the situation where that person who is duly elected can be removed from his office.

And I say I will not sit with La Tortue in any councils in CARICOM, and if they bring him in the front door, I leave in the same front door. But I know the people in the Caribbean will not allow that to happen, he stated

SOURCE: http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/NewV...m?Record=20774
Old 03-17-2005, 10:37 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 24,372
quite a few people think the same way

He lamented however, that while the Caribbean has risen above slavery, colonialism and imperialism, our independence today is still under threat.
Old 03-17-2005, 07:58 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 21,829
De Vincy bwoy at de Yankee Embassy in T&T already sen a copy ah dat speech to he good fren in D.C.
Old 03-18-2005, 01:55 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 140,835
Originally Posted by marabunta
De Vincy bwoy at de Yankee Embassy in T&T already sen a copy ah dat speech to he good fren in D.C.
I guess Roy Austin is simply doing his job.