Old 08-30-2005, 09:44 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 287
organ donation

just curious, if something were to happen to you and there was nothing else they could do to save your life, would you like your organs to be donated???
Old 08-30-2005, 09:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
L O S T

Credits: 43,491
I dont care what is done with my dead body
Old 08-30-2005, 09:59 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 757
I have it set up in my living will to donate my organs if needed.
I don't have this info on my drivers license b/c I don't want anyone bumping me off for my organs.
If I were to ever be in need of an organ, I would be grateful to the person that donated their organs to help those that may need it.
Old 08-30-2005, 10:07 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 822
I am an organ donor...its on my ID..
Old 08-30-2005, 10:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Blu
Doux Comme Sucre

Credits: 4,815
Originally Posted by socadiva05
I don't have this info on my drivers license b/c I don't want anyone bumping me off for my organs.

If I were to ever be in need of an organ, I would be grateful to the person that donated their organs to help those that may need it.
Right, that's what I need to do.....relatives or close friends receive top priority should they be in need.
Old 08-30-2005, 10:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
L O S T

Credits: 43,491
Originally Posted by socadiva05
This is incorrect
Old 08-30-2005, 11:48 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 14,236
Originally Posted by bluestar
Right, that's what I need to do.....relatives or close friends receive top priority should they be in need.
yuh cyah say yuh want to give it yuh tantie or yuh uncle if dey need a new kidney. organs go to the person at the top of the list who needs it the most because it's fair.

socadiva, it's a myth when dey say that doctors treat you differently if you are an organ donor. it is against the law, when in an emergency, doctors are thinking of the best way to save yuh life, not how to kill yuh cuz yuh liver pretty.

the info is on my driver's license, cuz i really want to help someone out. i'm not going to need my organs so why de hell i keepin dem? i want it known to my family that they could use the most organs possible.
Old 08-30-2005, 05:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Bahia Grown

Credits: 174
Originally Posted by orielshay
I am an organ donor...its on my ID..
same here, my family already knows that I want my organ donated.
Old 08-31-2005, 01:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
Nitenurse on call!

Credits: 138
When doing my living will , i plan to address organ donation.
I think that giving an organ is one of the most selfless gifts you could ever give and a lot of people feel that if there organs go to other people then it's like they themselves live on!
Old 08-31-2005, 08:53 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 287
i'm glad to see i'm not the only one that feels this way. i work in the operating room in a hospital and we do organ donations all the time and it's nice to see someone or in many cases many people benifitting from an unfortunate event. one person could save as much as five lives.
Old 08-31-2005, 12:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Nitenurse on call!

Originally Posted by DE DARKIE
i'm glad to see i'm not the only one that feels this way. i work in the operating room in a hospital and we do organ donations all the time and it's nice to see someone or in many cases many people benifitting from an unfortunate event. one person could save as much as five lives.
And that is a beautiful thing!
Old 08-31-2005, 12:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Tall Legg

Credits: 173
Organ donator here!!!! it is very important to have family know that this is your desire if something detrimenta is to happen to you and you are unable to live. I want to help and then be cremated. My mother had a hard time with this but she got it eventually.
Old 08-31-2005, 12:47 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 152
It's on my ID........I always tell my family, if something happen to me and the only way that they can keep me alive is with a feeding tube...................FLIP DE BLASTED SWITCH!!!!
Old 08-31-2005, 12:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Nitenurse on call!

Originally Posted by JuicyTriniJJ
It's on my ID........I always tell my family, if something happen to me and the only way that they can keep me alive is with a feeding tube...................FLIP DE BLASTED SWITCH!!!!
That is my choice as well , being a nurse i see things like that all the time and i know i don't want that for myself! Life on machines and with tubes is no real quality of life!