Old 03-01-2006, 03:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Here to help

Credits: 4,540
Exclamation NYC's Dirtiest Spas?!!

WTF???!?!!!. . . . Some Places May Look Nice But Often A Nasty Secret Lurks
Kirstin Cole,Reporting

(CBS) NEW YORK At Avanti Nails and Spa on West 57th Street in Manhattan, you have a choice of relaxing massages. But you might tense up after you hear what we found.

“Why is it that you're not changing the sheets in between massages as mandated by state law?” CBS 2's Kirstin Cole asked an Avanti employee.

http://wcbstv.com/topstories/local_story_059214702.html
Old 03-16-2006, 02:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
CanTiguan

Credits: 166
Old 03-16-2006, 02:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Unregistered User

Credits: 601
nasty
Old 03-16-2006, 02:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Blu
Doux Comme Sucre

Credits: 4,788
My goodness....you just can't trust anything anymore. Its like you have to buy your tools and walk with them. Even at those nail salons...they sell those rubber slippers to you, like its never been used...please!
Old 03-16-2006, 02:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Here to help

Credits: 4,540
Exclamation achew!!!!

*nowadays (when going to the spas) walks with "DETTOL" in back pocket*

Old 03-16-2006, 02:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Blu
Doux Comme Sucre

Credits: 4,788
Originally Posted by graficman
*nowadays (when going to the spas) walks with "DETTOL" in back pocket*

yeah man...
Old 03-16-2006, 02:52 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 7,222
around 3 or 4 yrs. ago i went to one in Harlem called Cynergy...there were period stains on the sheets
Old 03-16-2006, 02:54 PM   #8 (permalink)

that's ah shame....
Old 03-16-2006, 03:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
i'm watchin' u

Credits: 232
Originally Posted by luvlee
around 3 or 4 yrs. ago i went to one in Harlem called Cynergy...there were period stains on the sheets
wtf grosss
Old 03-16-2006, 03:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Spitfire

Credits: 224
I saw this on the news a couple weeks ago...absolutely disgusting, they not changing sheets and they doan launder the bathrobes they give u to wear either. That's why I only frequent spas that use disposable paper cover sheeting like in a doctors office, that way it's obvious if someone's body was already on it.
Old 03-16-2006, 03:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Spitfire

yuh lie... and I knoh sumbady dat duz swear by that place
Old 03-16-2006, 03:40 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by LolaMs
yuh lie... and I knoh sumbady dat duz swear by that place
I am SERIOUS!!!!! every year for my bday, i go to a day spa. so one year i decided to go there b/c it's blackowned and HAD a good reputation...

de receptionist was rude as hell when i got there...i was 10 minutes late b/c i couldn't find a parking, so they deducted that 10 minutes from my 60 minute massage (it's by appt. only)...then when i went to get my facial done, de sheets had little brownish red period stains.

i never ever ever set foot back in dat place and i never ever will
Old 03-16-2006, 04:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Spitfire

I am SERIOUS!!!!! every year for my bday, i go to a day spa. so one year i decided to go there b/c it's blackowned and HAD a good reputation...

de receptionist was rude as hell when i got there...i was 10 minutes late b/c i couldn't find a parking, so they deducted that 10 minutes from my 60 minute massage (it's by appt. only)...then when i went to get my facial done, de sheets had little brownish red period stains.

i never ever ever set foot back in dat place and i never ever will

U should've call BBB on dem and NYC Board of Health cuz I'm sure is other nastiness goin' on too
Old 03-16-2006, 04:41 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by LolaMs
U should've call BBB on dem and NYC Board of Health cuz I'm sure is other nastiness goin' on too
Ur right, I should have…and the crazy thing is, they want u to leave a 20% gratuity in an envelope for each person that did either yuh facial and/or massage…

I just pretend like ah was goin’ fuh change and never went back. Gratuity meh backside