Nigger or Nigga
Nigger...Nigga...Nigger...Nigga. I am so confused!
Help me!!! I recently viewed an episode of the series 'Platinum'. My first, actually, and in the episode, a white individual used the word in addressing a black individual. Personally, I think usage of this connotation, in any form, is incorrect! Yet we continue to use it in daily conversation. I once heard black person say that the term can be used 'black to black' but not 'white to black' Is there a difference? Why? As I see it, the term 'Nigger' was used to negatively describe blacks. It was dispensed openly in both written and verbal form. Now here we are using the term but changing the spelling, addressing each other with it and saying it is ok. I say no! It is wrong! Tell me...when a person addresses you using that word, how do you know they are using 'a' versus 'er'? That word, however spelled, is demeaning! Ask MLK..Ask Medgar. Ask all the others that fought to give us equality. Your thoughts..... D Bad Lad |
we on de case areddi
http://64.191.13.160/backchat/showth...5&pagenumber=1
It'd be great if if u can get the book and join the discussion. |
Ok...my bad. To be truthful, I never looked at the book club link. Therefore, I have not read the book and may not be able to participate in the discussion, since it may be focused directly on the book. Regarding the subject, I do have strong opinions. I will reserve them should interest rise. Anyway thanks, once again.
D Bad Lad |
Credits: 1,708
hey guys,
here is a topic we talked about on the mix a year ago. lot's of people's thoughts on the matter. my thoughts r still the same from that thread. ...........Nigger __________________________________________________ thatz kinda strange. i think the kids point came across bcuz at least 2 me, no matter how itz spelled (nigga, nigger, nig; with maybe the exception of Niger the country), its still the same degrading term. had this been a hispanic teacher and the kid spelled it 'spik' instead of 'spick' the intention of using a racial slur is still present. but i'd like 2 know how this 'expert' was able 2 describe the differences in spelling and meaning of the word 'nigga'. i 4got this song's name but if u guy's rememba a hip-hop group called X-Clan, it had a verse Brother J was rhyming. whole song was wicked, but what caught me was this one line. it was contradictory, but profound to me. he said.... " 'cuz i'm dat 'nigga' that they can't stand ta teach an african how ta say black man' " and speakin of farrakhan, he moved me years ago when he said these words from a speech, but i 4got where it was. it can be heard at the beginning of another hip-hop group, Public Enemy's song entitled 'Night Of the Living Baseheads' "Have you forgotten that once we were brought here we were robbed of our name, robbed of culture, we lost our religion, our culture, our God and many of us by the way we act...we even lost our minds" deep chilling words ent?! salt ________________________________________________ |
salt: thanks fuh dat link, didn't know it was on here...will check it out.
badlad: it'd still be good if u could join the discussion starting monday. if u can't/won't get the book, here's a link where u can at least get a sampling. http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...ow#reader-link with this, plus the link salt put up and your own opinions, i'm sure u would still bring something useful to the discussion. |
Thanks to all for the welcome. I will be heading to Barnes and Noble tomorrow. Hopefully I will the book and begin reading. Looking forward to joining an entertaining and educational discussion. Have a great weekend everyone.
D Bad Lad |
Mrs. Cimo 2
Credits: 1,296
Oh gosh! Solidarity boy yuh saved me from sinning my soul!!! This topic gets my blood sooooooooo blasted heated.
Anyway badlad I hope you will be joining us in the book club, it's always nice to hear more and different perspectives. |